EASTER IN THE CITY

OK….so these were taken one week before Easter in the my favorite city, but since Easter is sooo late this year, I think it still counts. I grabbed these along the waterfront, not far from the famed Ferry Building. It is hard to believe an ugly freeway used to block this area, you can get an idea of what it was like if you ever watch a rerun of ‘The Streets of San Francisco’, or even the digital recreation in the latest Zodiac movie from a couple of years ago.

In any Case…HAPPY EASTER everyone and may the coming spring/summer/fall be amazing.

32 Responses to “EASTER IN THE CITY”

  1. Haven’t been to San Fran and Napa in many years. Beautiful area. I remember the great seafood, Chinese food (in China Town), and Boudine’s sourdough bread. We did wine tasting in Napa. That was so long ago.

  2. I have not been in years either. First time there was as a 14 year old and fell in love with it. Some of the people are strange, but the city is beautiful. That area is one that I want to revisit in the future, and drive from there to Seattle or even Vancouver. Steve has never been outside of the city and I would love to go back.

  3. Barb, Vancouver is beautiful. While there you can take a cruise to Alaska!! We did the outside passage one way to the port near Anchorage and flew back. Saw glaciers as well as a few small towns.

  4. It is particularly nice around the SF Bay Area right now, weather-wise cool but not cold, and it’s not considered to be the high season for tourists… something to consider if you are planning to visit, Folks. It is, however, like pretty much any of the West Coast big cities… *expensive*. I’m used to Japan prices and things here are expensive enough to catch my attention this trip.

    Hope you All are doing well and had a happy holiday weekend. Yes, KC, the cordial hunt went very well… ((grin)).

    p.s. I’m with Sylvia on the trips to the Pac NorthWest… see VanCan or Seattle and then go cruising up the coast. Great time to be had doing that.

  5. re: Sylvia Says:
    April 22, 2011 at 12:24 am

    Thank you kindly, Ma’am. It would be a pleasure, but who knows when it might come to pass.

  6. LDG,
    Never say never…anything is possible!

  7. Adam Housley Says:

    I love the northwest and got to see Vancouver back during Expo 86 and also Victoria which is stunning!

    The weather has been fantastic all over the Golden State….unfortunately I haven’t been able to get north while LDG is there, been stuck working stories down south. πŸ™‚

    Adam

  8. @Adam Housley

    It was really nice weather. Too bad about not crossing over, but that’s how it goes… not unexpected. We’ll get to it next time, here or there.

    @All

    G’morning!

    Home again, home again. Had a very fine trip, and got pounced by the Fearsome Feline Foursome when I got home. ‘Course, now I’ve got a week-plus of reading and work matters to catch up on… yes, clients knew I was to be away; no, that doesn’t mean they didn’t just save things up for when I got home. Ah well, a few busy days never hurt.

  9. LDG,
    It’s never fun to get back to work. Returning from a trip means catch up time.

    BTW…I loved watching the royal wedding. It was nice to see “happy” news.

  10. @Sylvia

    re: “BTW…”

    ‘Twas quite the pagent, wasn’t it? Good to see Wills HRH The Duke of Cambridge marrying so well, too. (strike any excessive familiarity on my part)

    I’m simply astounded that the whole event was so widely watched, around the world. Pleased, but quite surprised. Anyone have an estimate of how many people around the world watched? I’ve heard some numbers so large they defy plausibility.

  11. LDG,
    I’ve heard “billions”. Don’t know if that is accurate. I can’t imagine how anyone stays calm with that many people watching.

  12. Adam Housley Says:

    LDG- Guess what….I just got to NorCal. We need to meet next time away from a nuclear crisis. πŸ™‚

    Sylvia and everyone…we had planned on watching it, but tivoed instead…it has been a busy/crazy few weeks.

    Hope everyone is well. Just got in from working 5 hours in the yard!

    Adam

  13. Adam,
    I think your wedding should be televised so we can watch!

  14. @Adam Housley

    re: “Guess what…” ~ of course you did; my sense of timing remains bloody well perfect. OK, next time, *you* pick the place.

    @Sylvia

    ((mock serious look))

    You are talking two appearance talent getting married, there. Do you have any idea what the legal ramifications of trying to televise either of them outside of contract terms would cost, just in renegotiations, much less the incentives one would have to pay to their respective agents and producers… *even if* you donated the proceeds to the San Fernando Home for Abandoned Character Actors to keep it all not-for-profit…

    Wait.

    You mean you weren’t planning a Coast-to-Coast pay-per-view special?

    Darn.

    nevermind.

  15. Sylvia Says:

    LDG,

    Very funny! Actually, I think Bullpen should get a video of the wedding!

  16. I agree with Sylvia, that the Bullpen should get a live streaming video.

  17. Sylvia Says:

    God bless our military and especially the Special Forces…the bravest of the brave. They got the SOB who caused so much destruction. May the mastermind of 9/11 rot in hell.

  18. It is a very good day, isn’t it, Sylvia?

  19. Sylvia Says:

    Yes LDG, a very good day for the “home team”.

  20. Adam Housley Says:

    I sure hope the guy who shot him said…..”Go ahead Terror Trash…make my day” or “yipee ki A mother @#*&%$”

    πŸ™‚

    Adam

  21. Adam Housley Says:

    Sylvia, Barb & LDG….no no no no no no no no no
    but i will post pics? πŸ™‚

  22. Adam,
    Are you getting “wedding nerves” yet? I was actually more nervous at my daughter’s wedding (almost 9 years ago) than at my own (almost 39 years ago). I was the “wedding planner” for Michelle and wanted it to be perfect. My own wedding was not quite as detailed (elaborate). The good news is both weddings turned out well.

  23. Adam Housley Says:

    SYLVIA-

    Nervous and a tad stressed….yes. πŸ™‚ But we are excited! Thanks for asking.

    Adam

  24. @Adam Housley

    re: shot ~ Yeah well, it’s a nice thought. Best one from other places and times was a rather undertated “tag.” *BANGBANG* “you’re it.” but that’s not exactly the way the lads tend to things these days. Not much with the chatter because everyone is on comms.

    re: marriage ~ You’ll do great, I’m certain. Even if it is going to be the hardest thing to do right most people ever attempt. It is worth it, I think… (but I’m feeling uncommonly idealistic this week so maybe you’d best take anything I say with a grain of salt).

    also…

    You got “the Infomercial Convention” as a job call? What, you made your boss angry or something?

    @Sylvia

    I can see you being one who delights in the details of a wedding. Glad they both turned out right. Any cautionary tales to share?

  25. Adam… Did I miss the date of the wedding or are you not saying?

  26. Sylvia Says:

    LDG,
    Yes, I am a “detail” person. The only advice I have is don’t sweat the small stuff that can go wrong with a wedding and just try to enjoy every minute of it. In addition to the live music we also had a fun DJ at Michelle’s wedding. He kept things “moving” and everyone had a blast. Also, my hubby gave a very funny father of the bride speech that set the tone of the event.

  27. @Barb

    I don’t remember for certain, but the date of 15.May comes to mind… if that weak contribution helps.

    @Adam Housley

    You might be interested in this article, compadre:

    http://mdn.mainichi.jp/mdnnews/news/20110506p2a00m0na019000c.html

    …matches up areas of the worst inland shaking damage in the 11.March ‘quake with an area that was once a prehistoric lake bed. Good research work on the part of the grad student cited.

  28. doggiesallover Says:

    Oh, I’ve enjoyed reading all of your comments!
    I just came here to share a little good news of the baseball realm…a total change of topic, but still a lot of fun!
    From Fox (of course):
    Minor League Baseball Teams Make Push to Lure Fans in With Major League Deals
    β€œNine of our last 10 highest attendance figures have been in the last 10 years,” said Minor League Baseball representative Steve Densa.
    β€œTwenty percent come to watch baseball. The other 80% come to do something fun with family or friends,” said Minor League Baseball President Pat O’Conner. “It’s something to do!”
    ***
    And a whole lot cheaper!

  29. doggiesallover Says:

    And LDG, I’m sure you were thinking of my oldest grandson’s 21st birthday on May 15. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  30. Adam Housley Says:

    Barb…..LDG is right! One week until the big day. Thanks for asking/caring and LDG thanks for the support!

    Doggies…I think the two words of….ABOUT TIME…comes to mind. πŸ™‚ That should be fun. I have already been to a Giants game, Padres game, 3 spring training games and plan on a Sacramento Rivercats game for Mothers Day later this summer.

    Also…..HAPPY MOTHERS DAY EVERYONE!

  31. Sylvia Says:

    And the countdown begins for Adam’s big day!!!!!

  32. Adam Housley Says:

    Sylvia……Sylvia…..

    HEY

    Where is everyone. Just cause I haven’t a new post doesn’t mean I am not checking in! Jeeze people. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

