Military Sniffers

OK…enough of the time off everyone. Tomorrow I am live at Camp Pendleton for a fantastic military dog story. These guys are headed to Afghanistan and can sniff out roadside bombs and protect our troops….along with of course…being one heck of a morale booster as man’s best friend. How is everyone?

31 Responses to “Military Sniffers”

  1. Susan Corral Says:

    yes sir- man’s best friend! give them lots of pets from me!
    this is a story I would love to cover if i were in the journalism business~

  2. Adam, I’ll look forward to seeing your report.

    In the meantime, here’s an article that circulated around the web sometime back. It’s actually related to the subject at hand………..which is rare for me to post such a thing, LOL.

    http://blog.al.com/live/2010/08/fodder_yes_dogs_can_get_post-t.html

  3. Looks good. Will watch as I can when the feed is posted.

    Good to see folks here.

  4. I’m here and in mourning over the Reds game. They were pathetic and painful to watch. Took 15 years for them to get this far and they “didn’t show up to play”.

  5. doggies all over Says:

    Hey! A doggies story! YAY! God love ’em.
    I know here they are considered police officers. They have their own badges, and the killing of a K-9 officer brings the same penalties as the killing of a human officer. In fact, our Citizen’s Police Association director says that sometimes a criminal will go to ground im mediately when the dogs are released, and shoot at a human before they will a dog.
    Can’t wait to see this! Thanks, Adam. But don’t make it where any get killed, OK?

  6. doggies all over Says:

    Synmpathiies, Sylvia. It happens to all of us at one time or another. I remember one time the Astros were in the last inning of the last game when they lost it. It may have even been overtime.
    Wait ’til next year! 🙂

  7. Sylvia……….At least the Reds are in the show ( well, at least to the rehearsal for the big show) . The fat lady sung her last song for the Nats some time ago.

    If not the Reds, then I would like to see the Phillies make it to the Series………..Phillies vs Yankees would be worth watching.

  8. @doggies, and All

    Military working dogs come in several classifications. The closest things to Police Dogs are the military’s own law enforcement dogs. Out in the war zone, the traditional war dog was a “Scout Dog” (jokingly named K-9 as a homonym of “canine”) and support Infantry operations. These explosives-hunting dogs are “EOD dogs”, from explosives ordinance disposal/detection, are usually part of combat engineering or ordinance formations. They weren’t very effective traditionally at finding mines, but with all the scentmarking on an IED dogs are fairly effective at locating them.

    Modern military working dogs wear body armor in combat, by the way.

    You might find some of this interesting:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dogs_in_warfare

    There are several memorials to military working dogs. I know the one at Ft. Benning is particularly thoughtful.

  9. ((more))

    http://www.war-dogs.com/

    The memorial is on the grounds of National Infantry Museum at Benning and is open to the public.

  10. LDG

    Interesting articles about war dogs. As a military supporter and dog lover I hate to see either get injured/killed.

  11. John.
    I think the fat lady sang last night for the Reds. What a pathetic game of errors. Bronson deserved better as he pitched well.

    Tomorrow I get the pain of watching the Bengals in the afternoon and the Reds in the evening. Both on local TV since games are sellouts. Maybe today will be painfree since Buckeyes could/should win. And my Bearcats are having a lousy year (revenge is Brian Kelly having a tough time at ND).

    Wish I weren’t a sports fan. It would spare me some frustration! LOL

  12. Sylvia…………Think positive, the Fat Lady was just clearing her throat. LOL

    BTW, here’s my favorite “war dog”…………

    http://www.bing.com/videos/watch/video/snoopy-vs-the-red-baron/e4ee975c828ac97b82fce4ee975c828ac97b82fc-243822035975?q=snoopy%20and%20the%20red%20baron&FROM=LKVR5&GT1=LKVR5&FORM=LKVR10

  13. Off Topic:

    With our good host down in Chile to cover the mine rescue story, here’s a little bit more on that story for you all:

    http://michellemalkin.com/2010/10/12/celebrating-american-greatness-in-chile/

  14. LDG,
    Great article. Thank you.

  15. John,
    The fat lady sang and now it’s the old “wait until next year” mantra.

    Also, I agree with your choice of war dog.

  16. doggies all over Says:

    Adam. excellent cpverage! Thank you so much for taking us there. Right there. We’re with you!

  17. doggies all over Says:

    A tsunami of kudos to Fox.com for their continuing live coverage!

  18. It has been wonderful to watch this rescue event and to see Adam covering it.

  19. doggies all over Says:

    Fine. In English and in Chilean.

  20. And the last rescuer is out. All accounted for:

    Magnificent.

  21. @doggies

    small assist: castellano de Chile

  22. doggies all over Says:

    To LDG
    Fine.
    LOL! 😀

  23. @doggies

    ((grins back))

  24. Adam Housley Says:

    Hey guys!!!! I have been in Chile! I have pics coming just for you guys. 🙂

  25. second try, a day later:

    welcome back!

  26. doggies all over Says:

    OH, Adcam, I can’t wait! Thank you so much for thinking of us! I’m glad you’re back, too!!

  27. Adam, I figured you were giving us the cold shoulder…………..having been Chile, and all.

    Speaking of cold shoulders, have you seen what happened to our ‘beloved’ President?

    Barack Obama was seated next to a little girl on an airplane trip back to Washington. He turned to her and said, “Let’s talk. I’ve heard that flights go quicker if you strike up a conversation with your fellow passenger.”

    The little girl, who had just opened her book, closed it slowly and said to The Obama, “What would you like to talk about?”

    “Oh, I don’t know,” said the Obama. “How about What Changes I Should Make To America?” and he smiles.

    “OK,” she says. “That could be an interesting topic. But let me ask you a question first. A horse, a cow, and a deer all eat the same stuff – grass. Yet a deer excretes little pellets, while a cow turns out a flat patty, and a horse produces clumps of dried grass. Why do you suppose that is?”

    Obama, visibly surprised by the little girl’s intelligence, thinks about it for a second and finally says, “Hmmm, I have no idea.”

    To which the little girl replies, “Do you really feel qualified to change America when you don’t know shit?”

  28. hehhehheh.

    Way to go, John.

    (OK, guess that also proved any language moderation filters are disabled…)

  29. doggies all over Says:

    Last I heard that, it was a lecherous old man of 75 and a beautiful young blonde.
    LOL-guess that proves a few noun changes here and there still don’t change the punch line. (Snarky, aren’t I?) ;D

    OH! BTW-just want to let all of you know that I spent 3 absolutely delighful hours Friday night at the presence of 2 VErY conservative women, and we zll had a ball. I know no minds were changed, but it was definitely akin to the wolf lying down with the lamb.
    One of the women was from Alaska, but alas, she cannot see Russia from her back deck. I know because I asked her.
    I really really want tto see those Chile pictures!

  30. Cheryl,
    I can see November from my house!

    Since we are blogging friends which of us is the lamb? LOL

  31. doggies all over Says:

    And Sylvia, Christmas is staring me in the face!
    I’ll let you be the lamb this time, since I’ve been so rotten on here lately. Next time it’s my tirun! LOL

Leave a Reply

