WiFi in Public School Buses

Sorry for taking a week off, but needed a mini vacation. Back at it now and here is our latest story. Take a look. What do you think?

WiFi in Public School Buses.

20 Responses to “WiFi in Public School Buses”

  1. This is for the kids on the bus………….

    Before the driver takes his/her seat, hook up a UBS transceiver at the CEM outlet. This can be found underneath the steering column and looks like a standard 12 prong female cable connector, usually colored light blue. Then, while you’re on your way to school and the bus is on a safe and quiet stretch of highway, type the following command: CEM/dl#999444/end/eng/fmc ( for General Motors engines type the same command but end it in /gmc) and hit enter.

    This command will disable the ETM and will cause the engine to go into idle. All other functions will still work, so the bus driver will not lose control of the bus and the bus will come to a safe stop. And guess what? No school today.

    For you elementary and junior high school kids, may I suggest doing it near a playground or movie theatre. For the high school kids, I suggest doing it in front of the local Do-Drop-In and go in and have a cold one…………tell them Adam sent you.

  2. John,
    How do you come up with these ideas? LOL.

  3. cheryljones Says:

    John, you’re a school bus driver, aren’t you? 😉 LOL

  4. Adam Housley Says:

    John-

    Man I wish I had this info when I was in school. Seeing that I rode the bus for 7 years or so. I was the the first one on and the last one off…..maybe that explains a lot about me. Too many bus fumes!

    Adam

  5. Adam Housley Says:

    And Hey Cheryl and Sylvia.

  6. cheryljones Says:

    Hey back atcha, Adam!
    You know, I don’t think I ever rode a school bus to and from. My Jr High was the only one far enough for that, but I either rode a city bus or my mom took me-probably because I dawdled too much! I’ve never been at my best early in the AM.

    What I’d like to see in school buses first and foremost is SEAT BELTS. We had a horrible accident a few years ago here that killed 2 girls and resulted in another having to have her arm amputated. Mangled so many kids.

    And before we need seat belts, we need buses and common sense. Little Somer Thompson, 7 years old, was killed in Orange Park, FL walking home from school because she lived w/in the 2-mile limit set by the school board.

  7. cheryljones Says:

    From Fox:
    A magnitude 6.9 earthquake hit off Japan’s southern coast early Saturday, shaking Okinawa and nearby islands, where a tsunami warning was issued, Japan’s Meteorological Agency said.
    LDG, LDG! You OK?

  8. Good to have you back here on your own blog, Adam. LOL…………

    I hear you about those long school bus rides. As soon as I got my driver’s license I started saving real hard for my first car. I finally got it at the beginning of my senior year in high school and I never rode the bus again. It was hard enough to impress the young ladies at our high school and picking them up in a school bus was out of the question. Seems like they hated those hard vinyl back seats.

    BTW, If you believe my above post to be true , may I suggest you call Susan…………..she’s got some beach front property she wants to sell you in Phoenix.

  9. Cheryl, I think LDG should be OK ( earthquake wise anyway ). I think he mentioned he resides in the nothern part of Japan. These quakes were in the Ryukyu Islands……..which are well to the south of the main Japanese Islands.

    http://earthquake.usgs.gov/earthquakes/recenteqsww/Quakes/us2010teb2.php

  10. Hey John,
    I’ll check out that beach front property the next time I go to Phoenix.

  11. Hi Sylvia…………..if you and Adam can’t make a deal with Susan, I’m trying to unload my share of a piece of property in Washington DC that I acquired on my 18th birthday. It’s an asylum for the mentaly challenged and I have no real use for it anymore and you’re welcome to place a bid on it. Here’s a picture of the property…………

  12. John,

    I love the “building” but I wouldn’t give you 2 cents for the people occupying it! I’ve decided you have to be nuts and/or mentally challenged to be sent there.

  13. @cheryljones

    All fine here. Thank you for the concern. As John correctly remembered, I’m over in the northeast part of the country. The folks down on Okinawa got a bit of a shake though, and that includes the big USMC and USAF bases on the main island of that region.

    @All

    On the other hand, central Chile just got hammered with a magnitude 8+ quake:

    http://www.foxnews.com/story/0,2933,587565,00.html

    Tsunami warnings out all across the Pacific from that.

  14. LDG,
    We have friends visiting Maui now. Are they in danger of tsunami?

  15. @Sylvia

    I can’t say specifically about Maui. It might be masked behind the “Big Island”. I can say that the Hawaiian Islands are in the ~15-hours-after-the-quake area of risk for a tsunami.

  16. (more)

    Here’s the AlertNet citation on risk to Hawaii:

    http://www.alertnet.org/thenews/newsdesk/N27143561.htm

  17. Thanks LDG.

  18. cheryljones Says:

    Watching the news now on hi-def. We were updating our cable, so everything’s been out all morning. No TV, no computer. I’m just now catching up
    OMG, this is terrible. Prayers for these poor people.
    Sylvia, I hope your friends are safe and unafraid.
    LDG, thank you so much for checking in w/us. I think I came in here too late to know your geography.
    Tsunami conditions to hit Hawaii about 4pm Eastern.
    I hope the surfers have enough sense to heed the warnings. Now why do I doubt that?
    And John, ahem re:Washington property…remember the 1968 Hemisfair? Remember the US exhibition. It ticked off almost everybody in every country, some of US (my mother, for one)-
    I remember-I was there. I loved it. (Naturally). LOL
    When you walked in, there was a big mirror. When you saw yourself, the caption read, “If you’re not part of the solution, you’re part of the problem.”
    Just sayin’…:D

  19. cheryljones Says:

    That should be 🙂

  20. Adam Housley Says:

    John-

    AS much as I like Susan…and Arizona…I am not inclined to accept your ocean front offer. Thanks for the thought tho!!
    LDG…glad you are OK

    If you guys watched the Twitter feed on page one of this blg you knew that I spent much of the weekend on the Chile story and possible Hawaii tsunami.

    I almost went to both locales, but ended up on the couch on the computer instead.

    I also was glued to the USA-Canada hockey game.

    Hope everyone is well. New post also!

    Adam

Leave a Reply

