The Tsunami Slideshow

Here are some of the pictures that still stick in my mind from our coverage of the tsunami. I cannot believe it has been 5 years. It truly does seem just like yesterday.

64 Responses to “”

  1. I can’t believe it’s been 5 years. Where did the time go?

    Adam, has that area been rebuilt?

  2. doggies all over Says:

    I’ve been seeing some of the anniversary stories. I bet to some of them it feels like yesterday, but to others it feels like forever-a way of life they’ve always had to live with.

  3. *waving*

    Hi everyone!

    Hope all is well, and even with you doggies 🙂

  4. I also saw some of the anniversary pics. *shaking head*, i hope i never know such misfortune.

  5. Welcome back, Patty!

  6. Thank you…i really missed you all.
    Not sure how I get so wrapped up in other stuff, its not worth it!
    atleast i know where “home” is 🙂

  7. LDG…i’m curious, what do you think of this? and why was it kept so quiet?

    http://corner.nationalreview.com/post/?q=MGY3MTI4YTRjZmYwMGU1ZjZhOGJmNmQ0NmJiZDNmMDY=

  8. KC - Fresno, Ca. Says:

    Good morning everyone – Hope all are doing well and keeping warm.

    WAVING BIG TIME to Patty – welcome back – missed ya bunches

  9. Hi All,

    Am making spicy tomato soup. It’s cold and icy in Cincinnati. Waiting for spring!!!

  10. Hiya KC…missed you too!

    Hope you all had a great holiday.
    Another year about to wrap up….wow, where did it go?

    Im not so sure I can survive another of this admin. without doubling my bp meds!

  11. @Patty

    I think it is just the sort of thing that the “one-world-er” types in the Obama administration consider a good idea… until one of them ends up with a Red Notice dropped on them because some crusading prosecutor in another country files a universal jurisdiction charge… imagine, just to pick an example, someone declaring CIA drone missile strikes in the GWOT as “extrajudicial killing”. Could get rather un-diplomatic in a hurry.

    The Reagan-era recognition of INTERPOL as a legitimate international (supranational, actually) entity was fair and sufficient. This latest move by the Obama administration is just asking for trouble.

  12. @KC

    G’morning, and thank you so for the lovely Christmas card. Izabella’s photo-essay was also most appreciated.

  13. @All

    …and a cheery good morning to All.

    It’s getting close to New Year’s time (Yay!) which means it is major celebration time around these parts. Hope you all have fun planned for the holiday as well.

  14. KC..it was 5 degrees here this morning, wanna visit? haha

    plus the 15 inches of wind blown snow from Christmas eve/day…man the drifts are huge!

  15. LDG…well, how about that. I wasnt far off in my thinking of that signature. It looked to me like sticking a juicy worm on the end of the hook just waiting for someone to take the bait.

  16. @Patty

    ((nod nod))

  17. Going to be a quiet New Years Eve here. Early dinner out and home before all the drinkers are on the roads. Our days of going to big hotel parties are history. Fun when younger but not now. Too noisy, lousy food, very expensive, and tired of paying for everyone else to get blitzed. We never were big drinkers and “one price for all” was a waste of money.

  18. @Sylvia

    I, and my housemates at the time, were big on hosting a party at our place when I was living in the ‘States. I still think it is better than the “going out to party” there. As you said, between public drunks and dangerous drivers, it isn’t worth it.

    Here, though, with places to meet friends within walking distance and with the big deal being the after-midnight “first shrine visit” of the new year (and there is a fine enough shrine within walking distance as well), the only issue is making plans with friends. So many folks are home for the holidays (Jan. 1st~3rd this year) to do the quiet-family-togetherness thing that some miss out on New Year’s Eve with friends. Ah well.

  19. KC - Fresno, Ca. Says:

    Patty
    5 degrees??? No way-not in my lifetime-never. I would turn into a statue and never thaw (big grin). We are in the high 40’s and low 50’s which is cool enough for us. Finally turned on the heater last week, but keep in on about 58 degrees which is just right for our comfort.

    I agree – where did the year go. I started going thru everything yesterday, getting my files purged and getting ready to file taxes so all will be ready when hubby gets his w-2. Like to get that done and put to bed as early as possible.

    Sylvia
    Spicy tomato soup – yum – send me the recipe when you have a chance. Hubby loves tomato soup and that is one thing I have never made for him. Always revert back to campbell’s – lol

    Think you have a ways to go before spring so stay bundled up and warm. I am with you on New Years Eve celebrations away from home. We outgrew it also- to dangerous out on the roads and we always have dense fog that night.
    We stay home and do our own celebrating – but we do that every night – so won’t be much different.

    LDG
    You are most welcome – I guess you can now figure out why we go to the beach so many times throughout the year. Our little slice of paradise. Gonna live there forever someday in the future. At least that is our goal.

    Soooooooooooo what are you going to do for your New Years Eve Celebration????????

    Susan
    “Waving” good morning to you

  20. @KC

    “Soooooooooooo what are you going to do for your New Years Eve Celebration????????”

    see mine, above, for the general plan… with the caveat that Foxy has to be well for us to be out doing social things. Here’s hoping for good.

    @All

    be well and safe. I’m to rest for the night.

    TTFN

  21. KC,
    I e-mailed the soup recipe. Hope you like it.

  22. I want to wish all of you and your families a very happy, healthy , and safe New Year.

  23. doggies all over Says:

    Good morning, all.
    All is well…Now see here, KC-LOL D)
    Prayers for your Foxy, LDG.
    Sylvia, I can’t email…again!
    GRRR! 3 computers in this house, and they’re all doing the same thing, and our server says it’s not their fault.
    Patty, I think I’ll keep to our 48ë here. You can keep the 5!
    Till later, all. Hugs. Even to KC. (Gotcha back!) 🙂

  24. *giggle* unless I missed something, I think KC is getting blamed for me being a smart @ss 🙂

    Thank you Sylvia, and back to you!

  25. KC - Fresno, Ca. Says:

    Patty
    See – I can get into trouble even when I don’t do anything wrong !!!!! I had a feeling Doggies got us mixed up cause I couldn’t figure out what she was referring to, but then I remembered your comment to her up above, so I think maybe she meant youuuu – hee hee hee hee

    Sylvia
    got the recipe – thanks – gonna try it over the weekend

    LDG
    Rest well my friend – lots of positive thoughts go to Foxy and your New Years Eve celebration

    Doggies
    I am with you regarding our weather. Way better than what Patty and Sylvia have to put up with. BRRRRRRR

  26. Doggies and KC…here’s some awesome pics if you want to see what 15 inches of snow does with 4 days of winds speeds anywhere from 30-45mph.
    http://wibw.mycapture.com/mycapture/photos/Album.aspx?EventID=731566&CategoryID=48719&

  27. Glad to know some things dont change KC!!! hehehehe

  28. btw, on that pic link above. IF you click on a pic, it will make it larger, then you can go through them one at a time.

  29. Glad that snow didn’t get to Cincinnati.

  30. KC - Fresno, Ca. Says:

    Patty
    OMG – I had to put on a coat and mittens just to look at those pictures. There is no way on God’s green earth that I could ever ever ever be in that environment. I gotta go and fix me some hot chocolate and warm up.

  31. KC,
    Those pictures were God’s white earth…..and I feel cold looking at the pics too.

  32. doggies all over Says:

    KC, my utmost apologies to you. But, maybe like my mom always says? “Just consider this one that you deserved and didn’t get.” LMAO! Nah-I’m really sorry.
    And to Patty, I’m fine, neener neener nee-ner. 🙂
    KC, we would be totally shut down here and begging for airlifts. Even a threat of snow or ice and we’re sliding all over the road, businesses closing down, schools being let out. I LOVED those pictures, but sorry you had to put up w/that. I hope that’s the worst you have this winter!

  33. Adam Housley Says:

    Well Well Well….got up to 64 here in LA. A bit chilly i guess. LOL

    Not sure about New Years yet. Still thinking about options. No matter what they are, it wont involve driving. 🙂

    Adam

    Live on Wednesday on cyber security

  34. Adam,
    Please take pictures of your New Year’s celebration so we can see you wearing one of those silly party hats. Don’t forget to include the noismaker and 2010 glasses!

  35. doggies…i missed you!!!

    Adam, if i’m not mistaken, you spent the last 2 news years covering in new york!
    Do you know how to ring it in in California? haha

    65? what a smart@ss!
    🙂

  36. LDG,
    Since you ring in the New Year ahead of us let me know if it’s worthwhile staying awake to midnight to watch it! I’m an early riser, not a night person.

    In case you’re wondering…I am not a blonde! Although I have been asked by some (many) if I was one originally.

  37. But Sylvia, isn’t this your car????????

    http://anyad.rulez.org/main.php/v/alb_rofl/blond-license-plate.jpg.html

    HAPPY NEW YEAR EVERYONE

  38. @Sylvia

    will do.

  39. here I am again–

    the tsuanmi killed thousands!
    I watched a bit of these covered and I could not even envision how when one is in this major disaster and having to go look for lost families…
    I don’t care if these people are in not in my world, but as soon as I hear of this tragedy of these magnitude, I always think, but if this were me~

  40. OK–Here all!

    You know how these New Year Resolutions always come about–
    NEW YEAR RESOLUTIONS:

    Here are mine:

    1: I will stop being critical of others, since I am not perfect myself-
    Bible says don’t look at the speck in your neighbor’s eye but look at the log in you eye

    2: I am going so hard try to not use so much profanity coming from my mouth– tough one for me to change

    3: I will try to respect everyone from every walk of life and I will never think I am better

    4: I will try to practice humility as Socrates did as well as Jesus

    HAPPY NEW YEAR!

  41. DANG–

    I left out key words-

    1– you eye, should be your eye

    2- – going so hard to try not use

    Anyhow, give or take, mistakes, may you all have a good year coming up!

    And to make a good year, remember, to always help someone or an animal …

    Make a difference- extend your hand!

    God bless you all!

  42. John…..LOL. You always seem to come up with the funniest things.

  43. Wishing all a very Happy, Healthy, Safe New Year. I hope 2010 is memorable in GOOD ways for you, your families, our country, and of course LDG’s adopted country.

    I so enjoy this place that Adam has created for us. Each of you provide insight, wisdom, and humor that is so unique and enjoyable. So a big Thank You to Adam for enabling us to meet up and share our thoughts.

  44. @Sylvia, and All

    reporting from 2010… looking to be an exciting year…

    …here’s hoping it is a good one.

    oh, and just because many here like the various music “idol” contests, here’s one for you:

    http://www.breitbart.com/article.php?id=D9CU9K000&show_article=1

    akemashite omedetou (“Happy New Year”)

  45. Thank you LDG. I love Susan Boyle’s voice. I am so happy she is getting the acclaim so well deserved.

    akemashite omedetou…..but don’t ask me to pronounce it!

  46. Adam Housley Says:

    LDG!!

    HOW IS 2010?! I SURE HOPE IT IS BETTER THAN 2009!

    SERIOUSLY….SO GRATEFUL FOR ALL OF YOUR SUPPORT AND I WILL DO MY BEST TO GET A PICTURE WITH A HAT ON TONIGHT! I DO WISH I WAS IN NEW YORK THIS YEAR, BUT THEY NEEDED ME OUT HERE INSTEAD.

    I DO HAVE A NEW POST COMING.

    ADAM

  47. Happy New Year to all! and scratch #2 on my resolutions.. I have already used profanity about 1,000 times and the day is not over! LOL

    LDG– THANK YOU SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO MUCH FOR the things you sent= I just had some honey. the tochi one! And your New Year’s (all three you have sent me) cards are on my refrigerator as well as your Christmas card- much hugs to you! Chammy and Tama love you!

    A great 2010 to all!

  48. Sylvia’s post at 1:29– very nice

  49. 🙂

    Happy New years everyone.
    Its hard to believe most of us have been around here 3 years.
    I wouldnt have traded these friendships for anything 😉
    Thank you Adam for connecting all of us!

  50. doggies all over Says:

    HAP-PY NEW YEAR!
    After serious & cautious consideration… your contract of friendship has been renewed for the New Year 2010. It wasn’t a very hard decision to make, but try not to screw it up, OK?
    My wish for you in 2010:
    May peace break into your home and may thieves come to steal your debts.
    May the pockets of your jeans become a magnet for $50 bills.
    May love stick to your face like Vaseline and may laughter assault your lips!
    May happiness slap you across the face and may your tears be that of joy.
    May the problems you had forget your home address!

  51. KC - Fresno, Ca. Says:

    HAPPY NEW YEAR EVERYONE
    Wishing everyone all the best

    Doggies
    Now that is a good one. I might just have to borrow it from you and pass it along.

    Patty
    It is amazing that it has been 3 years already. I remember that I was a “peep” forever – until I got the nerve to log on and blog. We have met a lot of fun and “interesting” people during the past 3 years. Here’s to at least 3 more.

  52. Here’s the decade in a nutshell…………..Happy New Year everyone!!!!!

  53. “morning everyone.
    Hope all survived the “big night’.
    I have a 3 day weekend, and think I will just hibernate 🙂

  54. We went out to dinner (Thai) with another couple and that was our quiet New Years Eve.
    Very cold here today ……teens and high in 20’s…..hibernating sounds good to me.
    College Bowl games…..Ohio State plays Oregon in Rose Bowl; Univ of Cincinnati plays Florida in Sugar Bowl. We will be cheering on our alma maters and probably get frustrated since both are underdogs.

  55. Oh the bowl games. If you watch the one from SanAntonio, our high school band is there. Look for purple and white and probably the smallest group!
    A great trip for those kids!!
    You know me and sports, I wont be watching! haha

  56. Yeah Patty…I know you and sports!!!LOL
    Wish I didn’t take those games so seriously.

  57. Wonder if Adam is feeling the effects of celebrating!

  58. Happy New Year everyone!!!!

    Have a special request….. I am sure you all remember Karen T.

    Well, Karen T and her daughter Christina are facing some health issues.

    Karen T is doing well, but Christina is undergoing further tests. She does not have a final diagnosis, but her health is deteriorating.

    So, if you could, please keep Karen T and Christina in your thoughts and prayers. Thank you.

  59. Happy New Year Karen 2.
    Sorry to hear about Karen T and her daughter. Hope they do well. Seems like 2010 is off to a rough start for many.

  60. ADAM…pay attention here…..
    Not sure how many remember Terri from Las Vegas, her husband Mike is the cop, and they have the son, Mathew that was born with a congential heart defect. They did a interview with CNN a couple of years ago. They also have been building the cabin at Beaver, Utah.
    Anyway, Mike has been ill all week, thought the flu, thought a migraine, after a ct scan he was diagnosed last night with a pituitary tumor.
    Terri is scared to pieces 😦
    Just want you to know.
    Espeically you Adam, knew you’d probably miss the posts at FB.

  61. Adam Housley Says:

    Patty…..OH no! Sylvia dropped me a quick note on facebook. While I may not comment here as much, I do come every day and read many of the posts. Very sad to hear that about Mike and I will keep him and Terri and their family in my thoughts and prayers. Anything we can do on this end?

    Adam

  62. Patty, thank you for the update on Terri and her family.

  63. I dont think there is anything we can do Adam, just let her know we are thinking of them.
    I just wanted to make sure you knew about it.

    As if that family hasnt had enough. ugh.

  64. Terri said that she would keep her blog updated

    http://wwwsteelmagnolia.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

