Ride to Recovery

So where have I been the last two days you ask? Check this out and you will see. Also, take a lok at the Twitter feed.

35 Responses to “”

  1. That was awesome. Hope you’ve recovered from the ride.

  2. Adam Housley Says:

    Sylvia-

    My right knee popped. No major injury, but it hurts like a son of a gun and my quads….OUCH. I think I ended up doing about 104-106 miles in two days without training. First time on a bike also. HECK….I’d rather have lunch with Susan and John at the same time and then have to explain to LDG. I know YOU would make a positive comment tho!!

    Adam

  3. Adam,
    I hope the injuries aren’t serious. Strenuous exercise without proper training is not good even at your young age. That is my “Mom” lecture for today!

  4. @Adam Housley

    Ouch on the injuries, but you did a very good thing by being out there and getting the story.

    Thanks for taking one for the team!

    ***

    p.s. You are right. Having to explain to me why you were having lunch with Susan and John at the same time would be a chore… ((grin))

  5. off-topic

    A little something of note on the Honduras situation, and the U.S. government’s role in it.

    http://competinghypotheses.blogspot.com/2009/10/weekly-n-special-edition.html

    …yeah yeah shameless self-promotion… but I really want our good host to get to see this item.

  6. LDG,
    I read your article and it really brings up an interesting time line. I am not very aware of these issues but your comments make sense. Of course there are some people who may say that if it makes sense to me it may be illogical!

  7. @Sylvia

    Thank you most kindly, Ma’am.

    Hm… I wonder if K2 still wanders in here sometimes. Might be of interest to her as well.

    (“illogical” ~ we’d never say such about you, you know)

  8. LDG,
    I haven’t seen K2 around here. Do you have her e-mail address?

  9. @Sylvia

    no, sorry. Maybe one of our Facebookers has a way to reach her.

  10. Great report Adam…..hope you are better soon. That is an awesome thing to see.

  11. Adam………….that’s why they invented the roof bike rack for cars. Next year try this…………Mount your bike on the bike rack on top of a car or van and sit on it ( the bike, that is ). Then, as the car with you on top is in motion, have your camera man follow along side from the top of the Fox satelite truck and film you with a tight shot so we can only see you and the top of the bike. If done right, the audience will think your riding your bike for real. Poor a little water on your face to make it look like you’re realy working up a sweat and don’t forget to breath heavily and grunt every now and then. The viewers will oooh and ahhh that you are once again ignoring your own health in lieu of such a great cause.
    It’s all about the smoke and mirrors technique. If you need further help ask Bill O’ how it’s done. He used the same type of technique when he “supposedly” went to Iraq. He actually went to the basement of Fox Studios NY where they put him in front of a screen that was running a war scene in the background. They threw a little sand in his face to make it look authentic and had his assistants light off some fire crackers for audio effect. But, if you look real closely at the background, you’ll see a colonel walking by that looks remarkably like John Wayne………that’s because it is.
    You never heard of Bill O’ complaining about getting tired or hurt did you? Now you know why. Fifteen minutes after “being in Iraq” he was back in Harlem having lunch with Rev. Sharpton.

  12. John,

    You have a very creative brain…..strange, funny, and completely out of the ordinary. LOL

  13. Heh, I do like the idea of seeing our good host doing the car-surfing trick with a bike.

    ((tries not to mention that a moving frontlit scrim would be easier))

  14. LDG,
    I contacted K2 and sent her the links to your post and to the Bullpen. She is out of town and using a different computer.

  15. @Sylvia

    Way to go! With the holiday weekend and the general autumn busy-time, yeah no surprise she’s out and about. Hope it suits her interests.

    Thank you, Sylvia.

  16. Adam Housley Says:

    John-

    WOW….I wouldn’t be able to show other riders alongside tho. I guess we could rent a couple of other vans and then we could like a whole herd of roof riders. Just watch out for tunnels and low overpasses, or the knee will be the least of my worries. LOL
    I am actually feeling much better thanks.

    LDG….I WILL read this tomorrow at work. Also, I am starting to look closely at Central American stories.

    Adam

  17. @Adam Housley

    Thank you kindly. This should fit right in.

    Looking forward to seeing you back on those kind of stories!

  18. LDG,
    Glad I could be of some help.

  19. Happy Birthday Barb. Enjoy the day!

  20. John and Adam–

    you two are soooooooooo funny!!!! … “tunnels and overpasses..” πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    I saw that picture of you with your knee all wrapped on FB- (with Andrew Breitbart) OUCH!!!!!!

    over 30 years ago, my roommate and I did the Elroy-Sparta bicycle trail ride in Wisconsin– what a miserable time- it was a railroad made into a bicycle trail– from Tomah to Elroy- I stopped every hour- and it was so frigging cold that night when we stopped to camp- I endend moving my gear into a public bathroom there on the site and sleeping in there! LOL

    And I am looking forward to you putting up those stories- Alfredo turned me onto to a few of his Venezolano friends- of one which is the brother of Maria Conchita Alonso– Robert- he was ousted out of Venezuela leaving behind 24 acres- Lots of talk of the political “presos” on their FB- pretty interesting….

    hey, Adam— California sure is having some bad weather and incidents… Lord…

    Happy Birthday, Barb-

    KC is out of town too until today–

  21. oh and BTW– For those who haven’t heard… Obama won the Heisman Trophy after watching a game of college football~

    and I just got tickets yesterday for the Coyotes— I am looking at U2 tickets now–

  22. Susan………….lol, on the Heisman joke. Here’s a little political humor from 35000 feet……..

    Barrack Obama, Joe Biden and Nancy Pelosi were flying on Air Force One sitting in the upper deck right behind the open cockpit door. Obama looked at Joe, chuckled and said, β€˜You know, I could throw a $1,000 bill out of the window right now and make somebody very happy.’ Joe shrugged his shoulders and replied, β€˜I could throw ten $100 bills out of the window and make ten people very happy.
    Nancy added, β€˜That being the case, I could throw one hundred $10 bills out of the window and make a hundred people very happy.’

    Hearing their exchange, the pilot rolled his eyes and said to his co-pilot, β€˜Such big-shots back there. Sh*t, I could throw all of their @sses out of the window and make 56 million people very happy.’

  23. Adam……..I agree, low overpasses could pose a problem and I never thought about the other riders. Solution…………..you need one of these:

  24. John-

    oh gawd- πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    both your posts are so frigging funny– I love the joke! LOL all the way!

  25. copying it and sending the joke-

  26. John,
    Seeing that joke this morning got my day off with a laugh.

  27. John needs to see your Taliban joke, Sylvia– I got so many responses back about how funny it is! LOL

  28. Susan requested I post this. Blame her if you don’t like it! LOL

    A fleeing Taliban, desperate for water, was plodding through the
    Afghanistan desert when he saw something far off in the distance. Hoping to find water, he hurried toward the object, only to find a little old Jewish man at a small stand selling ties. The Taliban asked, ‘Do you have water?’ The Jewish man replied, ‘I have no water. Would you like to buy a tie? They are only $5.’ The Taliban shouted, ‘Idiot! I do not need an over-priced tie. I need water! I should kill you, but I must find water first! ‘OK,’ said the old Jewish man, ‘it does not matter that you do not want to buy a tie and that you hate me. I will show you that I am bigger than that. If you continue over that hill to the east for about two miles,you will find a lovely restaurant. It has all the ice cold water you
    need. Shalom.’ Muttering, the Taliban staggered away over the hill. Several hours later he staggered back, almost dead. ‘Your *** brother won’t let me in without a tie!’

    Stand firm against tyranny. Refuse to fear!

  29. John…that would solve the problem of no other riders and also the camera would not have to get in an unusual position for the right angle.

    Sylvia….. LOL πŸ™‚ that is hilarious.

    thanks for the Birthday wishes…. I had a nice day.. did not do anything special, just enjoyed the day.

  30. Happy belated BarbDay!

    Gee, it must be nice to be 29… ((grin))

  31. LDG thanks for the greeting. Oh to be 29 again…. actually not! that was one of the worse years of my life.

    This is the 29th anniversary of my 29th, though. LOL

  32. Barb,
    I’d be happy with any number 30-45. It gets tougher after that. My Mom who is 93 and still sharp says 60’s are young! I guess it’s all relative.

  33. KC - Fresno, Ca. Says:

    Howdy all and happy Friday

    Happy belated Birthday Barb

    Hope all of you have been doing well

  34. KC - Fresno, Ca. Says:

    Adam

    You sure do look comfy in that first class chair – cool picture of the lounge too!!!!

    I see you are in or headed to London – first class no less (grinning)

    Is this a business or pleasure trip????????????

  35. Hi KC. Welcome back. Adam posted on Facebook that he went for a friend’s wedding. I finally got on Facebook after much urging from Montana. She said it was time for me to get into the tech stuff!

Leave a Reply

