Should He Get Chemo?

We have been covering this story for a couple of days now out of the Los Angeles office because authorities believe he and his mother may in fact be here in Southern California. 13-year-old Daniel Hauser is suffering from cancer and is on the run with his mother Colleen. Most ethicists say children and young teens don’t have the mental capacity to understand the severity of something like Hodgkin’s lymphoma, which doctors say will kill Daniel if he doesn’t undergo chemotherapy treatment. They may be en route at some point to Mexico to a “natural treatment type of facility.” We will continue to follow this ethical and legal debate. What do you think?

56 Responses to “Should He Get Chemo?”

  1. This is a tough one because I hate to see the government controlling parental decisions. I honestly would hope that the mother would get the child the medical treatment necessary, but I don’t know her reasons or religious beliefs.

  2. Sylvia is right it is a very tough case. I do not want anyone telling me what I can and can not do with my children.

  3. Its really not for any of us to say.
    Like i said on facebook. They need to take the warrant off, she wont come back if she cant be with her son if they do come back.
    AS far as i know, no one has said mom isn’t stable, she’s protecting her young, nothing more than the rest of us would do.
    Chemo kills from inside out….I would have a hard time poisoning my child. Hope to God I never have to make such a decision.
    Peter’s plea was so heart felt, made me cry when I saw it this morning. But becuase it works for one, doesn’t mean it works for another. Many have died from the effects of chemo/radiation.

    Im still curious tho, Adam you would know. Has that judge ever ruled a 13 yr old an adult for an adult crime?
    If he has, then this child deserves the same,…he knows his risks, he knows his body more than any one else. Let him choose his treatment. The gov’t needs to get thehell out of the situation.

    Its tough, thank God its not my family! (as selfish as that sounds)

  4. Barb,
    There are some religions that forbid transfusions and transplants. I don’t know if any forbid chemo. It is really getting into dangerous territory when the government can order medical treatment.

  5. Patty,
    I’m with you all the way on that comment.

  6. Looks like Barb, Patty, and I agree on the topic.
    Anyone disagree?

  7. Sylvia, does your hubby have a opinoin one way or another with this case? Curious what a MD from the outside would think.
    I can only see it as a “mother”.

  8. There are many many people that go past the border for treatments, Why hunt this one down?

  9. Patty,
    Hubby says it depends on the competency of the mother. He won’t make a decision without knowing more about the mother.

  10. Patty,
    Right now Cleveland Cavs basketball is all he is concentrating on.

  11. As Sylvia said there are religions that forbid some medical treatments, I think this can be a slippery slope in the future where the government says we don’t care about your beliefs, we know best for you. To take it to an extreme, the government says circumcision is unhealthy and causing problems in adult men and now it is unlawful. How does the Jewish community respond to that. As a Christian are they going to say that, because I want my child to not participate in certain activities in a public school, that they have too.

    I know that these are pretty extreme scenario’s but where do we draw the proverbial line in the sand and say no more.

    Sorry to post such a downer, maybe someone else can lighten the mood.

  12. It sort of falls back to John’s story on the other thread. It is a slope,,,long one.
    If the gov’t is going to force some to get treated, then they are also going to forgo someone treatment. Trying to make the perfect race?

    sylvia, that is funny about the basketball!

  13. maybe i just watch too much scifi….:-(

  14. Barb,
    That is not a downer…it’s a reality that has to be faced and confronted. This thread is a serious topic. Perhaps we need a more light hearted topic for a weekend.
    Patty,
    Larry has his priorities…..sports take priority over wife’s blog questions!!

  15. πŸ™‚ I would guess with the kind of days that Larry has, he deserves his bball!

  16. As for creating the perfect human…I thought that was taken care of with Botox and plastic surgery.

  17. Adam, Im REALLY curious on your opinion. I know you wont give it to us, but im still curious! You know more of the details than anyone here.

  18. Sylvia….ahhhhhhh but those don’t breed through.

  19. Maybe the government should order us all to have botox and plastic work so we all never age…kind of like Pelosi.

  20. *gag*

  21. I have got to run the sweeper in the bedroom to get rid of the painter’s mess. Hope my vaccuuming doesn’t drown out the basketball on TV.

  22. Sylvia………..if the government ordered us all to use Botox we’d all look the same………….kind of a ‘ Share the Look ‘ program. Then again, it seems they want us all to behave the same, don’t they? As long as we behave to their content.

    My opinion to the Hauser story is……….Governments should stick to ‘raising’ taxes and let parents ‘raise’ their kids.

  23. John,
    Please don’t say those scary words…..”raising taxes.” The government may think that’s there job…..as if they haven’t done enough damage already.

  24. Ooops…should have said “their” job. I shouldn’t be typing and doing laundry at the same time. I can’t multitask.

  25. doggies all over Says:

    I’m going to play devil’s advocate, here, but with compassion and by placing myself in Colleen’s position.
    Let’s not forget there’s a father involved in this, too, and that he seems to have mixed feelings on this. He admits to being disappointed w/the decision his wife made to go on the lam, and has said they had come up w/a “plan” when his wife evidently decided to run away with Daniel. He seems to have a cooler head.
    I, for one, cannot imagine not giving my child every opportunity to live his life. I can’t help but believe that Daniel’s ferocious animosity against treatment comes from ‘brainwashing’ by his mom (and dad?)
    I thought the same thing, though, Patty, about 13-year olds being charged as adults. But-we know that it depends so much on their mental/emotional maturity. Has this child ever been evaluated, sans parents? And has the mother (or father) ever named their religion?
    And I think, more than the gov’t dictating medical treatment, that if Daniel’s doctors could force him into chemo, they would. Using the courts is simply the means to the end.
    Would I have run? No. Do I support this mother’s decision? No.
    Do I respect your all’s opinions? Absolutely.

  26. Christian Scientists don’t believe in ANY medicine and hence, a few deaths- A few years ago I watched a segment on a boy who had diabetes and his family decided to quit the insulin and pray– the boy died.

    yes- he should get chemo– His chances for survival are a lot higher– I believe in doctors.

  27. @John–

    LOL– (looking all alike comment) Stepford Wives πŸ˜€

  28. Pelosi looks like wax– πŸ˜€

  29. At least we aren’t the Stepford Bullpen. Various opinions make it more interesting.

  30. Looks like this conversation ended hours ago~

    so what is it chemo or mom on the lam?

    @LDG– wherefore art thou?

    Here is some good news for you as I know you totally read all the news and it is not good— I am now officially working for http://www.blisteredwhiskers.blogspot.com/

    No pay as this is not an issue~

    My time will be full time and I am going to try to get donations by putting the word out as I have spent my last week with Maggi and I KNOW what she is doing~ She is truly a wonderful person- about as selfless as one can get!

    And it not only about animals, Maggi’s two children were adopted.

    I posted the link so if anyone can send five dollars or even one dollar, it is much appreciated as the funds are way low and the vet bills and meds are costly.

    I so thank you!!!!

  31. Looks like this conversation ended hours ago~

    so what is it chemo or mom on the lam?

    @LDG– wherefore art thou?

    Here is some good news for you as I know you totally read all the news and it is not good— I am now officially working for http://www.blisteredwhiskers.blogspot.com/

    No pay as this is not an issue~

    My time will be full time and I am going to try to get donations by putting the word out as I have spent my last week with Maggi and I KNOW what she is doing~ She is truly a wonderful person- about as selfless as one can get!

    And it not only about animals, Maggi’s two children were adopted.

    I posted the link so if anyone can send five dollars or even one dollar, it is much appreciated as the funds are way low and the vet bills and meds are costly.

    I so thank you!!!!

  32. Looks like this conversation ended hours ago~

    so what is it chemo or mom on the lam?

    @LDG– wherefore art thou?

    Here is some good news for you as I know you totally read all the news and it is not good— I am now officially working for http://www.blisteredwhiskers.blogspot.com/

    No pay as this is not an issue~

    My time will be full time and I am going to try to get donations by putting the word out as I have spent my last week with Maggi and I KNOW what she is doing~ She is truly a wonderful person- about as selfless as one can get!

    And it not only about animals, Maggi’s two children were adopted.

    I posted the link so if anyone can send five dollars or even one dollar, it is much appreciated as the funds are way low and the vet bills and meds are costly.

    I so thank you!!!!

  33. Looks like this conversation ended hours ago~

    so what is it chemo or mom on the lam?

    @LDG– wherefore art thou?

    Here is some good news for you as I know you totally read all the news and it is not good— I am now officially working for http://www.blisteredwhiskers.blogspot.com/

    No pay as this is not an issue~

    My time will be full time and I am going to try to get donations by putting the word out as I have spent my last week with Maggi and I KNOW what she is doing~ She is truly a wonderful person- about as selfless as one can get!

    And it not only about animals, Maggi’s two children were adopted.

    I posted the link so if anyone can send five dollars or even one dollar, it is much appreciated as the funds are way low and the vet bills and meds are costly.

    I so thank you!!!!

  34. Looks like this conversation ended hours ago~

    so what is it chemo or mom on the lam?

    @LDG– wherefore art thou?

    Here is some good news for you as I know you totally read all the news and it is not good— I am now officially working for http://www.blisteredwhiskers.blogspot.com/

    No pay as this is not an issue~

    My time will be full time and I am going to try to get donations by putting the word out as I have spent my last week with Maggi and I KNOW what she is doing~ She is truly a wonderful person- about as selfless as one can get!

    And it not only about animals, Maggi’s two children were adopted.

    I posted the link so if anyone can send five dollars or even one dollar, it is much appreciated as the funds are way low and the vet bills and meds are costly.

    I so thank you!!!!

  35. Looks like this conversation ended hours ago~

    so what is it chemo or mom on the lam?

    @LDG– wherefore art thou?

    Here is some good news for you as I know you totally read all the news and it is not good— I am now officially working for

    http://www.blisteredwhiskers.blogspot.com/

    No pay as this is not an issue~

    My time will be full time and I am going to try to get donations by putting the word out as I have spent my last week with Maggi and I KNOW what she is doing~ She is truly a wonderful person- about as selfless as one can get!

    And it not only about animals, Maggi’s two children were adopted.

    I posted the link so if anyone can send five dollars or even one dollar, it is much appreciated as the funds are way low and the vet bills and meds are costly.

    I so thank you!!!!

  36. Looks like this conversation ended hours ago~

    so what is it chemo or mom on the lam?

    @LDG– wherefore art thou?

    Here is some good news for you as I know you totally read all the news and it is not good— I am now officially working for

    http://www.blisteredwhiskers.blogspot.com/

    No pay as this is not an issue~

    My time will be full time and I am going to try to get donations by putting the word out as I have spent my last week with Maggi and I KNOW what she is doing~ She is truly a wonderful person- about as selfless as one can get!

    And it not only about animals, Maggi’s two children were adopted.

    I posted the link so if anyone can send five dollars or even one dollar, it is much appreciated as the funds are way low and the vet bills and meds are costly.

    I so thank you!!!!

  37. Looks like this conversation ended hours ago~

    so what is it chemo or mom on the lam?

    @LDG– wherefore art thou?

    Here is some good news for you as I know you totally read all the news and it is not good— I am now officially working for

    http://www.blisteredwhiskers.blogspot.com/

    No pay as this is not an issue~

    My time will be full time and I am going to try to get donations by putting the word out as I have spent my last week with Maggi and I KNOW what she is doing~ She is truly a wonderful person- about as selfless as one can get!

    And it not only about animals, Maggi’s two children were adopted.

    I posted the link so if anyone can send five dollars or even one dollar, it is much appreciated as the funds are way low and the vet bills and meds are costly.

    I so thank you!!!!

  38. Dang—

    what happened here?

    I commented and clicked on submit comment and this came up four times?

    I did get stuck and kept clicking submit comment as nothing was posted~

    Well, I guess my post went through loud and clear~ πŸ˜€

    so sorry!

  39. @Adam—

    Will you send a couple bucks? PLZZZZZ!

    I am not asking for much– just send $5.00- it is only once I will ask-

    THANK YOU!

  40. Max Kon Says:

    It’s a tricky one, when i was younger i suffered a lot because it was difficult to refuse treatments that didn’t help. It was far easier when I was transfered to an adult hospital. And then I became a lot better.
    But this boy is 13 and cannot even read, so does he even know what he’s rejecting? I don’t know.

  41. Good Morning All.
    Have any of you heard Susan Boyle’s latest song from the British version of American Idol. It’s Memory from Cats. What a fabulous voice. I sure hope she wins that contest. That talented lady should have a new career ahead of her.

  42. LDG,
    What is the reaction in Japan to N.Korea’s latest antics?

  43. Ξ²Ι›ΚˆΚˆΙ₯ Says:

    The government is forcing the family to live separately with the arrest warrant for the mother at a time when father, mother and all the children be should be together. Daniel has tried chemo and rejected it. let the family live together in peace, with no government interference.

  44. @Susan

    I’ll help as I can. I’ll write (e-mail) to you re: Blistered Whiskers.

    ***

    @Sylvia

    re: North Korea

    Officially? The government has requested an emergency session of the UN Security Council. They have also arranged some hasty meetings with South Korean and American diplomatic contacts.

    Unofficially? There is a lot of shock in the general population, as no one in the general public really believed the North Koreans were ready to try this stunt *at this time*. It is all over the news. Remains to be seen if anyone with any authority to take action chooses to demonstrate any fortitude. One thing that may encourage a display on our part here is the utter lack of faith in the American alliance right now. Might be a *really* good time for the Obama administration to be seen standing up for an ally for once.

  45. LDG,
    Do you really think the “O” administration is going to do anything other than speak with a teleprompter? He will make veiled threats but there is no desire on his part to take action. Empty words.
    I’m afraid the world can no longer depend on the US.
    Remember when Biden said that Obama would be tested early in his administration? The public thought it was just another “Bidenism”. It is not funny…..it scares the hell out of me because I knew Obama was not ready for prime time.
    The world thinks that the Obama team is reluctant to use force to defend against terrorism. They campaigned on a anti war platform and now the dictators will have a field day testing our new group in control.

  46. @Sylvia

    “Do you think…?”

    No, frankly, I don’t.

    I said it would be a good time to change their ways. I don’t believe it will happen. I’d just love to be proven mistaken.

  47. Morning–

    A good day @ all–

    LDG– you are wonderful!!!

    Sylvia– I sure HOPE Ms. Boyle wins… I love her! I think she is awesome-

    Obama made his remarks about North Korea– he is soooooooo good at that! Nothing seems to carry much weight when he speaks~

    And where did that missile land Iran shot off last week?

    and enjoy the day!

  48. @Susan

    you’ve got mail

    oh, that Iranian missile test? It went splash roughly on target about 1,200 miles down range in the Indian Ocean.

  49. And what a lovely world we live in.
    Try to have a good day everyone…..don’t worry, be happy….Obama is protecting us. No problem as they say in Jamaica.

  50. I just read on the FNC web site that the Hauser kid is back home with his Mom. I don’t know if that means they have agreed to chemo.

  51. @LDG–

    So that is where it landed~ mistake or them trying to figure out who far it could go?

    Sylvia—

    not to be rude at all but in your world do you ever get your hands dirty?

    πŸ˜€

  52. Do you consider housework as getting my hands dirty? I scrubbed grout the other day. I clean, cook, do laundry. Does that count?

  53. @Susan

    Nope, not a mistake. Intentionally targeted out there. Based on reports, it was fairly close to on-target, too.

  54. I dont know about Sylvia world, but I dont get my hands dirty…my best friends are leather gloves! πŸ™‚

  55. Susan,
    Your comment wasn’t rude….just snide and condescending. Quite uncalled for.
    There…I got that off my chest and feel better!

  56. gaynell Says:

    a 13 year old has a say in who they want to live with when their parents separate. They should have some choice in this.

Leave a Reply

