Behind the scenes w/the MATV

Here is some video of our work behind the scenes with one of the contenders for the new MRAP vehicle. This one is called the MATV and made by Oshkosh. The crew was fantastic on all sides of this story and the high desert was dramatic as ever.

94 Responses to “Behind the scenes w/the MATV”

  1. Max Kon Says:

    Awesome, looks like you had fun.
    I love how just as you finish talking about how smooth the ride is it suddenly jumps around a little πŸ˜€

  2. doggies all over Says:

    Well, thank you for your warm welcomes, and Adam, to you for the acceptance!
    I’ll be back later, but in the meantime, need to take 2 doggies to the vet and do a myriad other things.
    Have a good day, everyone.

  3. Adam… That looks like you had a great time driving out there.

    Cheryl… Welcome… this is a friendly place, nobody yelling here. πŸ™‚

  4. Adam,
    Thanks for welcoming Cheryl onto your blog.
    Max,
    You know Cheryl from another blog….I won’t mention the name of that private blog, but you were on there too.

  5. Greta sent me.

  6. way to go, Adam!

  7. Savoy/Hou Tex Says:

    Testing

  8. Max Kon Says:

    Hi Cheryl
    Sylvia: Oh I remember. I can’t get on there now though. Guess I was busy for too long.

  9. All I could think of is yikes what if it hits one of those roadside bombs! Until they said it was Nevada. I guess they wouldn’t show that live anyway.

  10. Wow…lots of new names today. Welcome all.

  11. KC - Fresno, Ca. Says:

    Adam
    Make sure you give Greta a “big” thank you. She listed this blog on her blog and asked all of her readers to come over here to check yours out, then asked for comments.

    A lot of them did not like your black background – they said it was to hard to read, etc.

    I personally find it is easier to read than all white, and I find it restful on the eyes.

    You need to go over there and check it out

  12. Wow, a guy takes a week off to stick his toes in the sand, drink some cold adult beverages and look at bikini ladened young ladies and he’s sent from the bullpen to the minor leagues. I tried to post this last night, but I found out I could only blog on the minor league GW ‘team’. While I was out exploring the beaches of North Carolina a friend of mine sent this e-mail to me. It’s a story she found while searching for some “good news” for a change. Don’t know whether it’s true or not, but it’s a nice story just the same………….especially the last part about what a Vet is. I hope it posts

    The Sack Lunches
    I put my carry-on in the luggage compartment and sat = down in my assigned seat. It was going to be a long flight. ‘I’m glad I have a good book to read. Perhaps I will get a short nap,’ I thought.
    Just before take-off, a line of soldiers came down the aisle and filled all the vacant seats, totally surrounding me. = I decided to start a conversation. ‘Where are you headed?’ I asked the soldier seated nearest to me. =
    ‘ Chicago – to Great Lakes Base. We’ll be there for two weeks for special training, and then we’re being deployed to Iraq ‘
    After flying for about an hour, an announcement was made that sack lunches were available for five dollars. It would be a couple of hours before we reached Chicago , and I quickly decided a lunch would help pass the time.
    As I reached for my wallet, I overheard soldier ask his buddy if he planned to buy lunch. ‘No, that seems like a lot of money for just a sack lunch. Probably wouldn’t be worth five bucks. I’ll wait till we get to Chicago ‘
    His friend agreed.
    I looked around at the other soldiers. None were buying lunch. I walked to the back of the plane and handed the flight attendant a fifty dollar bill. ‘Take a lunch to all those soldiers.’ She grabbed my arms and squeezed tightly. Her eyes wet with tears, she thanked me. ‘My son was a soldier in Iraq ; it’s almost like you are doing it for him.’
    Picking up ten sacks, she headed up the aisle to = where the soldiers were seated. She stopped at my seat and asked, = ‘Which do you like best – beef or chicken?’
    ‘Chicken,’ I replied, wondering why she = asked. She turned and went to the front of plane, returning a minute later with a dinner plate from first class. ‘This is your thanks.’
    After we finished eating, I went again to the back of the plane, heading for the rest room. A man stopped me. ‘I saw what you did. I want to be part of it. Here, take this.’ He handed me twenty-five dollars.
    Soon after I returned to my seat, I saw the Flight Captain coming down the aisle, looking at the aisle numbers as he walked, I hoped he was not looking for me, but noticed he was looking at the numbers only on my side of the plane. When he got to my row he stopped, smiled, held out his hand, and said, ‘I want to shake your hand.’
    Quickly unfastening my seatbelt I stood and took the Captain’s hand. With a booming voice he said, ‘I was a soldier and I was a military pilot. Once, someone bought me a lunch. It was an act of kindness I never forgot.’ I was embarrassed when applause was heard from all of the passengers.
    Later I walked to the front of the plane so I could stretch my legs. A man who was seated about six rows in front of me reached out his hand, wanting to shake mine. He left another twenty-five dollars in my palm.
    When we landed in Chicago I gathered my belongings and started to deplane. Waiting just inside the airplane door was a man who stopped me, put something in my shirt pocket, turned, and walked away without saying a word. Another twenty-five dollars!
    Upon entering the terminal, I saw the soldiers gathering for their trip to the base. I walked over to them and handed them seventy-five dollars. ‘It will take you some time to reach the base. It will be about time for a sandwich. God Bless You.’
    Ten young men left that flight feeling the love and respect of their fellow travelers. As I walked briskly to my car, I whispered a prayer for their safe return. These soldiers were giving their all for our country. I could only give them a sandwich.
    It seemed so little…
    A veteran is someone who, at one point in his life wrote a blank check made payable to

    ‘The United States of America ‘

    for an amount of

    ‘Up to and including my life.’

    That is Honor, and there are way too many people in This country who no longer understand it.’

  13. KC - Fresno, Ca. Says:

    John
    That is totally awesome. I have a printed copy of that and it still brings tears to my eyes every time I read it.

    Thanks for sharing it with the others

    Glad to hear you had a good vacation

  14. Thats fun . i saw it on your facebook profile am like wao really you got a chance to drive it u must luv your job .

  15. Patty…oh Patty…where are you?
    John…..welcome back from vacation. Great article you posted.
    KC….was it any cooler today?

  16. John… I am with KC, my husband was in the Air Force, and although he never was sent into a war zone, that story always gets to me.

  17. Barb,
    Our military is so brave and self-sacrificing they deserve our respect. They don’t choose our wars….they just go where they are sent. I know people who were in Nam or off the coast of it. They deserve honor, not the crap they took when they returned stateside. I also know someone who has served in Afghanistan (which I probably misspelled) and will be heading to Iraq soon.
    God bless our military.

  18. Adam Housley Says:

    John- I love the story! No worries tho, you have not been demoted to the minor leagues. To mid relief maybe, but no demotion.

    KC- I like the black background, i think it is easier to read also!

    Adam

  19. @John

    Thank you for posting that story.

    @KC

    I’m back. Just had an extra couple of busy days; didn’t get in here to see your well-wishes until today.

    ***

    @All

    Welcome, new faces, and g’morning all around!

  20. Hi LDG,
    Good to see you again.

  21. Hi everyone! yes, I was mia.
    *cough cough*
    been sicky. 😦 technically, probably still am.
    Dr threatened hospital stay, i refused…no one gets better there!! I had to promise to behave. So I missed a whole week of work, you can imagine the backlog I’ve come back to, especially in one of our busiest seasons!
    Sorry I didnt stop long enough to let you know where I was, really havent done much of anything, didnt mean to make ya worry.

    Hi everyone new!!! Welcome!

    Adam, I appreciate the black background also. who needs bells and whistles???

    Oshgosh (MATV)???…I thought that was kids clothes!!!

  22. Patty…hope you feel better. Missed seeing you here.
    I thought Oshkosh was kids’ clothes too.

  23. @Sylvia

    Hi, and thanks for the welcome back!

    @Patty

    Get well soon!

  24. Thanks Ldg and Sylvia, I missed the giggles! πŸ™‚

    Yikes, I see “we’ve” gone public (greta’s mention)!!! Oh booyyy! *LOL*

  25. Max Kon Says:

    Patty & Sylvia: OshKosh B’Gosh is different from Oshkosh Corporation. Though both are named after they are based in: Oshkosh, Wisconsin.

  26. that was way cooooooooooooooool John!!!!!! take it from a mom whose daughter was in the Air Force and spends much time doing volunteer work for the veterans!!! (raising money or going to the veteran’s hospital and attending to their needs) I am very proud of her!!! She does this because she wants to as she is not obligated~ and she is a veteran…

    @LDG– when Danielle came over, I asked her to bring me one of those bracelets (rubber, camoflauge- Support Our Veterans) she was handing out for donations at the Swap Meet, to send to you when I send out your package…. so you will have one~

    I haven’t been to Greta’s in months and months– Adam must have given her the blog’s address– so I guess welcome to the Greta newcomers~

  27. Patty… welcome back, hope that you were able to catch up on all the work waiting on your desk.

  28. Max Kon Says:

    Patty: Yup, I wonder if Adam approved it or not.

  29. Patty,
    Since we’ve gone public I guess we have to behaveourselves!!!

    Max,
    Thanks for the Oshkosh info. It’s amazing what you learn on this blog.

    Susan,
    You have a right to be proud of your daughter.

  30. Adam Housley Says:

    aaaaaaaah we are fine. A few will never come back, a few will check in, but only the cool will become regulars. πŸ™‚

    This California election thing is crazy. Covering it all day.

    Adam

  31. Adam,
    Does that mean I’m cool?

  32. Max Kon Says:

    Sylvia: Like a cucumber! πŸ™‚

  33. ahhhhhhhhh we ARE cool!!!
    πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ˜‰

    Im tell’in ya Adam…. Arnie wants your first borns!!!

  34. Thanks Max.
    Patty…cool is fun.

  35. Sylvia—

    thank you! And did you come to Arizona here recently? If so, I hope you were able to catch a day of nice weather– we are breaking records~ My grass is now turning brown and my retainer wall with all the plants I planted is now Plant Cemetery!!!!!!!

    @LDG– I was on the local channel here for El Mirage to get emails to the council men and I saw on the headlines Sri Lankan President declares victory over the rebels….

    I did get those letters delivered and I see here on this channel animal patrols will be now conducted randomly here in El Mirage. But now I am going to email these guys and insist…. πŸ˜€

    Also saw an aftershock hit the LA area– made a few buiidings rattle… glad it was not bad.

    @Patty– hope you are feeling better– it sucks to be sick!!!

    @Adam– you haven’t had a vacation in over a year– are you going to take one?

    and a good night @ all!

  36. Susan,
    We did get to Phoenix for a few days and the weather was in the 80’s-90’s. I didn’t have time to meet up with you or Montana because it was a shorter trip than usual. Our daughter and son-in-law kept us busy! We will be back for a longer trip in the fall.
    BTW….I can barely handle 90’s let alone triple digits.

  37. doggies all over Says:

    Good morning, everyone! I hate being the only new kid on the blog, so it’s nice to have other new faces arrive.
    Adam, you sound busy as always-love those updates!
    Everyone have a good one, and I look forward to getting back to see you all a little later.

  38. KC - Fresno, Ca. Says:

    Good morning all
    Still very hot here but at least we are not in the triple digits this week. We are in the high 90’s everyday, but very very humid. Hard to breathe.

    Patty
    Glad to hear you are back on your feet. Just don’t overdue and get a relapse.

    Susan
    Miss ya – know you are having miserable weather also. We are now running the sprinklers twice a day on our watering days because everything is sooooo dry.

    My vegetable and herb garden is going crazy. I have about 20 tomatoes already, not red yet, and I have already picked a bunch of our hot peppers. My goodness, the peppers we picked were larger than the plant they were on. Has got to be because of the hot weather.

  39. KC - Fresno, Ca. Says:

    Adam
    Followed most of your live reports yesterday on our special election. WOW, I guess the voters had their own tea party at the polling booths. It seems everything was defeated by a 2 to 1 vote. I for one am very happy with the results. Enough is enough. They started taking more state tax out of hubby’s paycheck last month, so I guess they are going to be doing a lot more taxing. Maybe it is time to move to Brazil – lol

    Well, did you feel the aftershock yesterday, or were you at another party “screwing around” (your words) and didn’t feel it. (big grin)

  40. @KC

    Bravo to you (all) in CA for giving the tax-and-spend crowd in Sacramento the right treatment.

    re: Brazil? — you sure about that, given the weather and the government down there? ((grin)) I might have some other suggestions, you know…

  41. KC - Fresno, Ca. Says:

    Adam
    WOW – Now you are in Van Nuys at the #1 Ford Dealership !!!

    DON’T YOU EVER GET A DAY OFF???

  42. KC - Fresno, Ca. Says:

    LDG
    Brazil was the only place I could think of while typing (laughing). Since we don’t fly or go on boats – me thinks we would have a hard time getting there anyway.

    We want a place where you can drive to, they don’t have state or federal income taxes and it is 75 degrees year around. Now that would be paradise (grinning)

  43. KC,
    When you find that place let me know. I will fly and go on ships… I don’t like driving trips.

  44. @KC

    The “drive to” part of that makes it a challenge… hm. This will take some pondering as to if it is even possible.

  45. @Sylvia

    Since you will go on boats, how about… ?

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bermuda

  46. LDG,
    The shortage of water and the great chance of hurricanes makes it a negative. I was told by someone who had been there that you aren’t suppose to shower regularly because of water shortage.
    Got any other ideas? LOL

  47. I have to agree with KC, no taxes and 75 degrees, also it would only rain after midnight and stop by 7am. (That is from when I worked outside and hated working in the rain.) Maybe we should go and buy ourselves an island somewhere. I realize that you have to fly or take a boat, but if you get a large enough boat it would not be a problem…. or we could just find something that would make you sleep the whole trip and you would just wake up when we get there. πŸ™‚

  48. Barb,
    I think that something to make you sleep would be a lot of Mai Tais or Margaritas.

  49. Sylvia…That would probably work. πŸ™‚

  50. So we’re all moving out’ta here, huh? I like Bob Seger’s idea……..

    ‘ I think I’m going to Kathmandu…….’

    Or I may take Eddie Money’s up on his offer………

    ‘ I’ve got two tickets to paradise…….’

    Or for the real adventerous, why not try Jimmy Hendrix’s ‘Electric Lady Land’…………….Voodoo Child, man. Just watch that Crosstown Traffic……

    Now we’ll see how many Rock’n Rollers we have on this blog.

  51. John,
    How about Margaritaville? Jimmy Buffet has done well there!
    Speaking of that…Trivia Question…
    Where did the term “parrot head” get started?

  52. Max Kon Says:

    Sylvia: Started near you; the term “Parrot Head” began at a Jimmy Buffett concert at the Timberwolf Amphitheater outside Cincinnati, Ohio. Since everyone was wearing parrot heads.

  53. Max….correct. The Timberwolf Amphitheater is part of King’s Island amusement park just north of Cincinnati.
    Margaritaville and Parrot Heads actually began in my home town. Buffet comes here every summer and his concerts are sold out within minutes. He now performs at Coney Island Riverbend Amphitheater which is in eastern Cincinnati.

  54. *waving*….a lil bad ass rocker here!!!! πŸ™‚

    funny about the showers….eeeewwww!!! Sorry, I just can’t be human until ive had a morning shower. Besides that, I dont leave the house without taking a new face out of the drawer every morning! *L*…therfore, i request low humidity in this paradise!!

    Bah, we can get sylvia anywhere as long as her hubby comes along….he’s got the DRUGS! teehehe (I wont be far from her, after all, someones gotta hold her hand!)

    Yesterday, I could finally say, I was going to live! yeah! I do feel better, finally. Still doing breathing treatments 2xs a day, but the wheeze/whistle is much better! When the office would get quiet, my boss, being the smartass he is…would sit over there and hum, that silly little song from snow white …. “whistle while you work” or whatever its called. Never a dull moment here!

    Im in the middle of switching to a new computer, again. Such fun to move all the files and redo the whole network. Not! But so far so good. Lets hope my sign cutting software and machine go as easily! (I’m saving it for last)

    Susan, sure have thought of you with that weather. ugh. Makes me ill just to think of it. Everyone here says “but its a dry heat”….I dont care how dry it is, its too dang hot!

    oh, and Pats (pride and joy) truck is a FORD! πŸ™‚

  55. Can’t forget a Idol comment!!!
    Adam Lambert got screwed!
    IMO
    although he will probably come out much better in the long run.

  56. KC - Fresno, Ca. Says:

    Good morning everyone
    Patty
    Glad to hear you are feeling better. Take it easy so you don’t get it back

    Still hot, hot, hot, here and very humid – YUK

  57. KC - Fresno, Ca. Says:

    Adam

    I see you are now covering the Hauser story. I have mixed opinions on that one and can see both sides of the issue.

    When do you sleep????????????????

  58. Patty…I go by plane and ship…without drugs. It’s KC who only goes by car.
    If I go by car the other people need drugs….Are we there yet?..are we there yet? I drive hubby crazy. Hate car trips.

    As for American Idol…I was stunned but happy for Kris. I thought Adam Lambert was a little over the top. Yes, I like some rock…saw the play Tommy (the Who’s music) twice.

  59. oops, thats what i get for reading too fast.
    KC needs drugs
    Sylvia’s people need drugs.
    Got it! *L*
    I better hold KC’s hand then.

    KC…Im trying to behave. I still have some painting to do in the house, almost afraid to. Makes ya wonder if this stuff kicked me so bad cause of all the paint fumes the last month. 😦
    All I have is the window casings in the bedroom. They were still not finished from the new windows last year. Wont take long to do, just gotta do it. Maybe i can take a gas mask from emergency management home! They look similiar to Adams!

  60. Hauser story?
    Im so out of the loop on news. Might be a good thing hu?

  61. oh, forget it. Hauser…I got it!

  62. Alright all you ‘old time rockers’……………remember the “good ol’e days”?……………….

    HIGH SCHOOL IN 1959 vs. 2009

    Scenario 1:
    Jack goes quail hunting before school and then pulls into the school parking lot with his shotgun in his truck’s gun rack.
    1959 – Vice Principal comes over, looks at Jack’s shotgun, goes to his car and gets his shotgun to show Jack.
    2009 – School goes into lock down, FBI called, Jack hauled off to jail and never sees his truck or gun again. Counselors called in for traumatized students and teachers.

    Scenario 2:
    Johnny and Mark get into a fist fight after school.
    1959 – Crowd gathers. Mark wins. Johnny and Mark shake hands and end up buddies.
    2009 – Police called and SWAT team arrives — they arrest both Johnny and Mark. They are both charged them with assault and both expelled even though Johnny started it.

    Scenario 3:
    Jeffrey will not be still in class, he disrupts other students.
    1959 – Jeffrey sent to the Principal’s office and given a good paddling by the Principal He then returns to class, sits still and does not disrupt class again.
    2009 – Jeffrey is given huge doses of Ritalin. He becomes a zombie. He is then tested for ADD. The school gets extra money from the state because Jeffrey has a disability.

    Scenario 4:
    Billy breaks a window in his neighbor’s car and his Dad gives him a whipping with his belt..
    1959 – Billy is more careful next time, grows up normal, goes to college and becomes a successful businessman.
    2009 – Billy’s dad is arrested for child abuse. Billy is removed to foster care and joins a gang. The state psychologist is told by Billy’s sister that she remembers being abused herself and their dad goes to prison. Billy’s mom has an affair with the psychologist.

    Scenario 5:
    Mark gets a headache and takes some aspirin to school.
    1959 – Mark shares his aspirin with the Principal out on the smoking dock.
    2009 – The police are called and Mark is expelled from school for drug violations. His car is then searched for drugs and weapons.

    Scenario 6:
    Pedro fails high school English.
    1959 – Pedro goes to summer school, passes English and goes to college.
    2009 – Pedro’s cause is taken up by state. Newspaper articles appear nationally explaining that teaching English as a requirement for graduation is racist. ACLU files class action lawsuit against the state school system and Pedro ‘s English teacher. English is then banned from core curric ulum. Pedro is given his diploma anyway but ends up mowing lawns for a living because he cannot speak English.

    Scenario 7:
    Johnny takes apart leftover firecrackers from the Fourth of July, puts them in a model airplane paint bottle and blows up a red ant bed.
    1959 – Ants die..
    2009 – ATF, Homeland Security and the FBI are all called. Johnny is charged with domestic terrorism. The FBI investigates his parents — and all siblings are removed from their home and all computers are confiscated. Johnny’s dad is placed on a terror watch list and is never allowed to fly again.

    Scenario 8:
    Johnny falls while running during recess and scrapes his knee. He is found crying by his teacher, Mary. Mary hugs him to comfort him.
    1959 – In a short time, Johnny feels better and goes on playing.
    2009 – Mary is accused of being a sexual predator and loses her job. She faces 3 years in State Prison. Johnny undergoes 5 years of therapy.

    This should hit every email inbox to show how stupid we have become in the last 50 yrs!!

  63. WOW John.

  64. John… That is so true. What happen to common sense?

    On the Hauser story, my problem with the situation is the courts are telling parents what they can and can not do with their children. Just re-read John’s post for possible scenario’s. Very sad, I hope that they do get him the treatment that he needs.

  65. The more the government gets involved the less common sense will play a role. Political correctness, parents’ rights, and common sense don’t always go together.
    However, there is more violence and terrorism in this world than 50 years ago, so that explains some of the crack down on arms and drugs in schools. But it has gone overboard. No common sense.

  66. John…i so resemble many of them, espeically the woop’in by the teacher! (even if 59 is a little early for me)

    That is so true that it is totally sad!

    Sylvia, do you really think there is more? or is there more 24/7 news on 50 channels to make it seem like more???
    Before we only had news at 7 am, 6 pm and 10 pm. If we were lucky to get the right channel. Now its everywhere we turn.

  67. Patty,
    50 years ago we didn’t have Oklahoma City, Virginia Tech, or the numerous shopping mall shootings. We didn’t have the severe drug problems….or the date rape drugs. We didn’t have terrorists (home grown or foreign). We didn’t have the internet showing people how to create bombs or recruit terrorists.
    Yes, the 24/7 news media throws more light on the problems, but I just don’t think the severity of the violence or the extent of the problems can compare.
    Furthermore, kids today have more money and more access to arms and drugs. There are also more latchkey kids. Moms rarely worked outside the home 50 years ago. Kids had more parental supervision. I’m all in favor of women having careers, but I am just telling you how things were back then. I am old enough to remember those days.

  68. I’ll go along with that Sylvia.
    Especially the parent thing.
    What happened to women being “happy” being a mom?
    I was thrilled with the job!!!!
    Sure the pay s*cked and but the benefits were great πŸ˜‰

    Then there is the respect thing. Kids just arent taught it anymore. Well not all of them. I hear them say things that i would have been slammed for even thinking!

    Its just a mess.

  69. Patty, Sylvia and Barb………….first, I can’t take credit for writing all of the above. My brother sent this to me and I just edited some of the language. I have no idea where he found it.

    I think one of the big differences ,as some of you eluded to, is that today all of us are made much more aware of what is going on outside our own little safe neighborhoods by the 24/7 medias and the Internet. These give us instantaneous reports as the events are unfolding. Blogs also contribute a lot to how we react to certain events that years ago we may never have given a second thought. All that news exposure makes us want to become involved in the story…………and when that happens we tend to lose common sense, since we are most likely just making ” educated ” guesses as to what is , or should be happening.

    The news makers ( media hosts, politicians, activists, terrorists etc ) also play on our thirst for the news and I believe that some, not all, of these groups only act the way they do because they know they are getting the coverage 24/7 to all corners of the globe. If the coverage wasn’t there I think they would behave differently………..like a little kid that screams for attention. If you keep coming to him, he’ll keep screaming. Ignore him, and eventually he’ll give up.
    When I was at the beach last week, I watched no TV, used no Internet and my cell phone stayed in the car…………and guess what? There were no problems in my life or the rest of the world. Well, other than we almost ran out of beer one night, but a quick walk to the convenience store solved that. A simpler life may not be as exciting, but it sure is easier.

  70. Interesting conversation–

    I will agree the family unit has declined but the violence was always around== the Klan were having a good old time in the South doing murders left and right– the mob was quite visible and don’t forget the Texas Tower incident in 1966 at the University of Texas– Charles Whitman aka The Texas Tower Sniper–

    Gangs existed but were referred to as clubs…

    Divorce was not an option given the attitudes from back then but domestic violence existed– but hiding it was the way to be… and women were designated to be either a teacher, nurse, or housewife– not encouraged to do more and if they did, they were known as feminists.

    Drugs have always been around– it really surfaced in the 60’s and this is when it all started to fall apart.

    The population has increased and so has the violence– and I do think the break down of the traditional family has had much to do with the displaced kids…..

    John– LOL– I had seen that one before and it is still funny… (or sad?)

    KC– miss you too– I haven’t checked my emails in the last two days– I have been busy– today I had Perio surgery on the upper right where I had all that pain and trouble– I am walking around with some gizmo covering that area– feels weird!!!! I have also been helping my friend out with her rescue shelter– I am going back tomorrow to help her– the volunteers are all taking vacations and she is hurting for help right now-
    Maggi, who runs the rescue shelter, found out I speak Spanish and she wants to do a Puerto PeΓ±asco run to get the meds for the animals as they are cheaper there, so we are trying to coordinate a time to go as I have to find someone to stay here for the day and night when we are gone to take care of my pets– which will probably be my daughter but she is going to Seattle this Saturday..

    She is having a hard time finding someone to go with her as everyone is still concerned about swine flu and the drug cartels.

    Maggi is a truly incredible person– she is sooooooo dedicated to helping animals out– (cats) She was a teacher and then a Principal and left it all to start this rescue shelter in 2005. I am so blessed to have met her~ what an inspiration~~

    Adam– ouch your State is really hurting!!!!!

  71. Susan,
    The 60’s opened the door to many things, not just drugs. Domestic terrorism….JFK was assassinated…, gang violence escalated, latch key kids became more common as women were given more chance to enter med and law school ( and even Rabbinic College…the first female to be ordained was in the 60’s). Day care centers started replacing stay at home Moms. Handing older kids money and car keys and hoping for the best became the way of life. Psychologists started saying that sassiness was a stage and parents should let their kids be natural.
    Yes, the spot light on domestic violance was a good thing. It was long overdue. Yes, women should be afforded the same opportunities as men.
    So along with the bad there was some good. I just wish parents would try to teach their kids the values that are important. That would help.

  72. Morning everyone!

    Susan…sorry you are still mssing with that tooth 😦 Thats gotta get old, fast!

    I’ve told our kids many times, when you coddle your kids, you will have problems. There is a difference between babying…and teaching. Parents are supposed to teach thier children, not be their best friends. Thats why they go to school!
    Being the best friend instead of a parent, is the worst thing you can do for a child, IMO. You see so much of that today.
    Parents are supposed to piss the kid off, set limits, slap them down when they step out of line, etc. It just the natural order. You dont see the momma cat or dog lick her kitten or pup to death when she’s pissed at them! She snaps…to teach the kid a lesson. Hard knocks dont ruin anyone as long as they were given the values to set the stage to bing with. They build better people!

  73. John..i so agree! We live so “removed” here in our little corner of the world. That until I turn on the news or computer, there really are no problems. I prefer it that way. I’ll take my life in the slow lane and enjoy it that much more.

  74. Sorry for the typo’s. The new keyboard is a little touchy!

  75. Patty,
    I check the news occasionally throughout the day but no longer have the TV on continuously. It’s too depressing!

  76. Patty,
    Typo is my middle name.

  77. KC - Fresno, Ca. Says:

    Good morning everyone and happy Friday

    Must agree with all of the above posts. So many kids these days have no respect or value of life. Really sad to think they will be running our country some day.

    Patty
    Glad to hear you are better and you might seriously think of wearing a mask during your next projects around the house. Protect those lungs. Make sure you do before and after pictures like last time. Wow, what a difference those were. Outstanding job

    Susan
    Hopefully with the procedure you had your tooth problem will go bye bye. I see you are earning another “gold star” helping the animals. Keep up the good work.

    Sylvia
    I must admit we are FOX NEWS junkies around here. We keep the TV on 24-7. Actually, it is on right now in the other room. When I leave to run errands, it is still on. Keeps Izabella entertained. Maybe that is why I catch so many of Adam’s Live reports.
    The only time we turn off the news is when Hubby comes home from work, then we turn on the juke box and listen to music while we prepare dinner. Enables us to have a couple of dances in the kitchen too (smiling). Then when we go to bed, the TV goes back on – Fox News of course and it stays on all night.

    It is funny sometimes because we will be having our coffee in the morning and we are always asking – did you hear something about whatever during the night, or did you hear what so and so said during the night.

    Down side – Bill O comes on 3 times during the night. Once is enough for us – so we sleep really good during his repeat programs. (big grin). We do try to listen in our sleep to Glen Beck when he is on.

    We know when Bill and Megyn come on – it is time to get up and start all over again.

  78. Dancing around the kitchen πŸ™‚
    What a great memory that stirs. Saturday suppers…mom cooking, Lawrence Welk on the tv…and every once in a while dad would steal a spin around the floor!
    “Tiny bubbles….”

  79. Patty,
    Tiny Bubbles was Don Ho…not Lawrence Welk. LOL
    BTW…my Mom still watches Lawrence Welk reruns on TV. She and my late Dad loved that show. I’m sure she has memories of the two of them watching that show.

  80. KC - Fresno, Ca. Says:

    Patty
    Yep, we always have a good time every evening. Love dancing. Sometimes I can get him to sit behind his drum set and play along with a song. I have him turn on the PA, microphone, and I will sign along while he plays. That part is pretty sad, since I cannot carry a tune in a bucket, but we do have fun
    Ahhh, Lawrence Welk – those were the days – the cork popping and the bubble sounds. As a kid, that was the only time all of us were not allowed to talk, fight, or move. Mom’s time to just sit, relax, and enjoy.

  81. KC,
    It looks like our parents were watching the same show.

  82. Max Kon Says:

    KC: I had to assume most people using fox news blogs are Fox News Junkies. I can only watch what is put online though 😦

  83. well, bubbles were involved! *L*

    KC…now you need a xbox and rockband….oh i can see the fun now!! Drums, vocal, bass guitar and lead……you need another couple!!!

  84. btw…all the xbox playing i do, Pat wont play 😦
    He’s just a stick in the mud. So I always enjoy with Gavin comes for the weekend. He’s my playin partner.

  85. If I dont make it back KC…and everyone else.
    Have a wonderful extended weekend!
    Stay safe!

    I hope to have pics for you of the Veterans Memorial Wall that was just built here. They are just finishing putting up the plaques. Im going to copy the article that was in the local paper too.
    Its really a nice addition to the town entrance.

  86. Adam…do you get to enjoy your weekend for you???

  87. Patty,
    What is xbox?

  88. Sylvia–

    so with you on not watching the tele– I maybe, maybe, maybe watch an hour of it now– I see Hawaiian Gardens in South LA had a big bust– 100 of the big fish for drug cartels were busted! YAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I saw that on Lou Dobbs last night– and I hope the body found in Illinois puts that arrogant Drew away for life–

    I have become an ostrich when it comes to watching the news– our local news is just as bad– we had swine flu here just recently– a school was shut down in central Phoenix.

    And I sure hope CA got our rain– it sure was needed.. the weather is beautiful at the moment–

    KC– THANK YOU!!!!! I don’t know about gold stars but it makes me feel good…. I had to put a cat down last week– a stray which was in my backyard wounded to the point where it could not be saved- I cried all day!

    LOL to Lawrence Welk– remember Chubby Checker? I use to do a fierce twist back in my younger years- even got first prize for doing the twist– the only thing I can twist now are my old joints!!!

    and Patty– this tooth has been a nightmare– I had to have major tissue repair and because of my clamping down on my teeth, I had a pocket which read 7… I wish I had the money to just get implants!

    Hope you are feeling better–

    and a good day to all– off to Maggi’s-

    Enjoy the week-end!!! xxxxx

  89. Sylvia…xbox is a video game console. (new version of the old atari’s, nintendo’s, its all the same, just a different company. “Rockband” or “guitar hero” are games that go with it. You actually have guitars instead of a regular game controller. The rockband games allows for actual set of drums, a microphone and 2 guitars. Its a riot to play. Especially after the lil ones go to bed. Amazing what adults will do to fill their time! worth alot of laughs! Thats how our older kids spend their weekends in the winter. Converge in one house and have a blast. Keeps them off the streets πŸ™‚

  90. ostrich…*LOL*
    ya, thats me too!
    For our little community, seems like we have enough grief, dont need to compound it daily.
    I watch F&F’s in the morning while getting ready for work. Pat watches Bill O in the evening, if its his turn to have the control! hehe
    I many time also have it on during the night, but rarely actualy “watch” anything. Usually the tv sits on TCM channel. I dont like the house totally quiet, so its just background noise most of the time. Couldnt tell ya what was actually on probably.
    Kansas now has 69 cases of N1…majority are close to Fort Riley, the army base.
    The Dr actually asked if i wanted to be tested, she thought it was probably not a bad idea. I asked, if it would change how she treated me, she said no. I refused the test! Didnt like the idea of being a statistique (sp?).
    Hum…wonder where my spell check went? Gotta love new stuff!

  91. Patty,
    I saw that guitar hero in a store. I know what nintendo is. Just didn’t keep up with the new stuff like xbox.

  92. Patty,
    I don’t know how to use spell check so that’s why my posts all have mistakes. And I think my typing has gotten worse.

  93. Adam Housley Says:

    John-

    WOW…and I love the debate and comments that followed. We have been on this boy running from chemo story with his mother. I have just posted a new thread where you can give your 2 cents. I will check in over the weekend and I hope everyone has a fantastic time and also takes a moment to remember those who served for our country.

    Adam

  94. Military Trucks…

    […]Behind the scenes w/the MATV « Adam's Bullpen[…]…

Leave a Reply

