Avoid the Flu

This story has been simmering for a few weeks. We all watched and hoped it would become nothing and go away with winter, instead, it continues to fester and grow and I was told this afternoon in a conference call that more infections are expected (many due to test results) and the swine flu could hang around for another 6-8 weeks…only to return again in the fall. Following the definition, have compiled some stuff you can do to protect yourself.

Remember, the swine flu is a combination of human flu, bird flu and swine flu…it can be treated if caught.
1_28_a450

ACCORDING TO THE WORLD HEALTH ORGANIZATION
Swine influenza, or “swine flu”, is a highly contagious acute respiratory disease of pigs, caused by one of several swine influenza A viruses. Morbidity tends to be high and mortality low (1-4%). The virus is spread among pigs by aerosols and direct and indirect contact, and asymptomatic carrier pigs exist. Outbreaks in pigs occur year round, with an increased incidence in the fall and winter in temperate zones. Many countries routinely vaccinate swine populations against swine influenza. Swine influenza viruses are most commonly of the H1N1 subtype, but other subtypes are also circulating in pigs (e.g., H1N2, H3N1, H3N2). Pigs can also be infected with avian influenza viruses and human seasonal influenza viruses as well as swine influenza viruses. The H3N2 swine virus was thought to have been originally introduced into pigs by humans. Sometimes pigs can be infected with more than one virus type at a time, which can allow the genes from these viruses to mix. This can result in an influenza virus containing genes from a number of sources, called a “reassortant” virus. Although swine influenza viruses are normally species specific and only infect pigs, they do sometimes cross the species barrier to cause disease in humans.

What are the implications for human health?
Outbreaks and sporadic human infection with swine influenza have been occasionally reported. Generally clinical symptoms are similar to seasonal influenza but reported clinical presentation ranges broadly from asymptomatic infection to severe pneumonia resulting in death. Since typical clinical presentation of swine influenza infection in humans resembles seasonal influenza and other acute upper respiratory tract infections, most of the cases have been detected by chance through seasonal influenza surveillance. Mild or asymptomatic cases may have escaped from recognition, therefore the true extent of this disease among humans is unknown.

Is it safe to eat pork and pork products?
Yes. Swine influenza has not been shown to be transmissible to people through eating properly handled and prepared pork (pig meat) or other products derived from pigs. The swine influenza virus is killed by cooking temperatures of 160¡F/70¡C, corresponding to the general guidance for the preparation of pork and other meat.

Is there a human vaccine to protect from swine influenza?
No. Influenza viruses change very quickly and the match between the vaccine and the circulating virus is very important to give adequate protective immunity to vaccinated people. This is why WHO needs to select vaccine viruses twice a year for seasonal influenza protection, once for the northern hemisphere winter and another for the southern hemisphere. Current seasonal influenza vaccine produced based on WHO recommendation does not contain swine influenza virus. It is unknown whether the seasonal vaccines can provide any cross protection to ongoing swine influenza virus infection in the United States and Mexico. WHO is working closely with its partner institutions for further advise on the use of seasonal influenza vaccine in preventing the swine influenza infection.

What drugs are available for treatment?
Antiviral drugs for seasonal influenza are available in some countries and effectively prevent and treat the illness. There are two classes of such medicines, 1) adamantanes (amantadine and remantadine),and 2) inhibitors of influenza neuraminidase (oseltamivir and zanamivir).Most of the previously reported swine influenza cases recovered fully from the disease without requiring medical attention and without antiviral medicines. Some influenza viruses develop resistance to the antiviral medicines, limiting the effectiveness of chemoprophylaxis and treatment. The viruses obtained from the recent human cases with swine influenza in the United States were sensitive to oselatmivir and zanamivir but resistant to amantadine and remantadine. Information is insufficient to make recommendation on the use of the antivirals in prevention and treatment of swine influenza virus infection. Clinicians have to make decisions based on the clinical and epidemiological assessment and harms and benefit of the prophylaxis/treatment of the patient2.For the ongoing outbreak of the swine influenza infection in the United States and Mexico, the national and the local authorities are recommending to use oseltamivir or zanamivir for treatment and prevention of the disease based on the virus’s susceptibility profile.

Here are some things you can do to protect yourself, I got this advice from a couple of doctor websites/blogs:

1. Wash your hands, wash your hands, wash your hands. (Say it three times over. This is your new Pink mantra, and it’s the number one way to avoid getting swine flu).

2. Give your immune system a boost by taking Echinacea.

3. Eat immune boosting foods, and steer clear of sugar. Here are five that can help you.

Citrus
Loaded with Vitamin C, citrus fruits are a yummy, easy way to support your immune system. Grab a glass of OJ, or make some lemonade. Even better, mix lots of lemons into clean water with stevia (a natural sweetener) and cayenne pepper. Not only is it a zingy tasty treat filled with Vitamin C, it also alkalinizes your body, which helps it fight infection.

Red chili peppers (cayenne)
Cayenne pepper has long been appreciated for its medicinal properties and can help your body during states of emergency. So chili it up for good health!

Garlic
Filled with immune-boosting mojo, garlic has been used to treat everything from the common cold to the Plague. So load up on garlic and give your body a fighting chance.

Carrots
Bursting with beta-carotene, carrots give your body a leg up when you’re fighting infection. Drink a few carrot juices to get enough in your body. Sweet potatoes and spinach also contain lots of beta carotene, so eat up.

Fish
Fish like salmon, mackeral, and tuna are filled with omega-3 fats, which support white blood cells in fighting infection. Sushi anyone?

4. Sleep. When you’re well rested, your body fights infection more effectively.

5. Give up alcohol and caffeine for a while. Staying sober and decaffeinated helps your body mount immune responses.

6. Guzzle green juice instead. If you have a juicer stashed under your counter, now is the time to pull it out and load it with kale, celery, cucumber, swiss chard, lemon, spinach, ginger, garlic- whatever you’ve got around that can support your good health. Also, avoid processed foods and eat a whole foods diet.

7. Try not to drink after others, especially those who have recently traveled to Mexico. And avoid sick people, if you can.

8. Hydrate. Drink, drink, drink pure clean water.

9. Try not to touch your nose, eyes, and mouth.

10. Take Vitamin C supplements. If you take extra, it gets excreted in your urine, so it won’t hurt you to load up.

11. Supplement with probiotic bacteria, which alters the intestinal flora and helps your body resist infection.

12. Take Elderberry syrup: 1 tsp 3 times daily

13. Rethink your Mexico trip. The CDC has recommended that people avoid non essential trips/vacations to Mexico and some airlines are allowing people to postpone their trips.

69 Responses to “Avoid the Flu”

  1. One thing to keep in mind is what Dr Baden said on On the Record: regualr flue kills an average of 100 people a day in America, and so far this one has killed 0 in the US.

  2. Hope this flu scare goes away quickly.

  3. eee gawds.
    I dont even know where to start a comment “on subject”.
    I’ll be nice and just leave it with…

    ‘morning all.
    🙂

  4. Ok, so now there is 1 death. Which is around 1% of confirmed cases. Though we know that most people who are infected would never be confirmed, only those who have their blood cultured.
    The people who get cultured would only be those who were most ill from it, which is between 1-10% acording to a NY Doctor who was in charge of the swine flu related of all those who are infected. Which means only 0.01-0.001% leathality. 0.01% is an average leathality, and 0.001% is increadibly low, like a regular swine flu.

  5. avoid swindlers too–

    Here is my latest— and this tops all my stories!!!!!

    My car which was bashed into three weeks ago has been at MAACO by me since the 9th of April– I had a rental by the insured’s insurance– well time started to lag as the rental was calling me to ask me about when was my car was going to be done because State Farm could only pay for so much longer.

    I called Ara, the manager to MAACO Friday morning and I told him I needed my car– he told me all that was left to do was the paint job so it was settled I would pick up the car Monday.

    BTW– the claims adjustor wrote him a check for $2,500.00– my name was on the check and MACCO called me on the 10th to tell me the adjustor had been there and paid for the damages and for me to come and sign the check so the parts could be ordered– YUP– I did….

    Come this past Monday, I called a couple of times and left messages– after Ken’s lunch, we drove over there– and when I showed up I saw notices on the front door and glass windows– a lien had been posted for failure to pay rent. I was now dizzy… because I just knew what was ahead-

    I walked to the secured lot and there was my car– untouched– and even worse as the claim adjustor had pulled out the fender to access the damage— there were several other cars as well sitting there–

    I started to laugh– I felt like this was just me crossing over to the Twilight Zone until someone else showed up to get his vehicle which had been there for about two months– same story– paid the guy–

    I wrote the phone number down which was posted– came home and started doing the phone thing– I was told many calls were coming in as to the same issue– and this person was contacting the corporation which is in Pittsburgh- given the time difference, she would call me back in the morning as the offices were closed– and she did– and gave me a number and name to call in Pittsburgh– well, I had to turn the rental in yesterday as I was not going to lie to them and State Farm already paid and they were not going to pay again– so now it was my issue.

    I had asked the employees how many employees worked there– about ten– I also asked if business was slow and he told me last week they had over 20,000 in invoices for repairs–

    I also found out when this man ordered parts for the car, he would order from Taiwan–

    So I had one more day with the rental and I drove back over to MAACO to check up on my car– while there, four more people showed up– one guy got ripped off for $800.00- another for $2,700.00– and one of the employees who was there, told us they had not been paid… they were to have been paid over a week ago. (We al exchanged phone numbers just in case we would have to approach this legally)

    I came back home and did the phone thing again with Pittsburgh– I think Bruce Clark figured out I was not going away….

    Well, this morning my car was towed to a MAACO in Glendale– (it is being towed as of right now–) and I was told they are going to look into a rental for me– as I AM NOT PAYING ONE DIME OUT OF MY POCKET!!!

    I am still having dizzy spells thinking about it– so getting on to Adam’s thread and connecting the dots here– if dizzy spells are one of the symptons of swine flu, I have swine flu as I had contact with a swine….

    And now I know how Madoff’s victims feel— You initially do become stunned and dizzy–

    Adam’s list on what to eat– I am good there– my biggest green comes from avacado and jalapeño peppers-cilantro- tomatillo– but I am doing caffeine– no alcohol– haven’t done that one for awhile–

    Elderberry syrup? That is a new one to me– what is it?

    The other day I bought glucose gel to carry around with me when I have Ken in case his sugar drops as it did again at Fry’s aka Kroger a few days ago– I saw they had these boxes of SUPER C, sugar free, 100mg of Vitamin C, five packets in each box, on sale, so I bought several of these– glad I did!!!

    and to LDG–

    The gray cat was rescued yesterday– Remember how I had put my name on the wait list, 4 Paws, several weeks ago– I gave them a call on Monday because I could not take this poor cat being out there anymore- She had moved in to my front entrance and the backyard when the dog is not out there– and I could not take it anymore as the weather is going to get so hot here and I can’t bring her in because of Tama and the dog– so I begged 4

  6. oops– speaking of cats- there went my unfinished post–

    I begged 4 Paws to please take her in– and they told me to bring her in yesterday– there were still 8 people ahead of me but they were kind enough to do this as I pleaded… I gave them a nice donation–

    I had put my name down with two cats– so I am still on the wait list and when my name comes up, I will bring in the other tame cat–

    It is a very nice shelter– and these are definitely cat people— Gray is going to see the vet this morning as I was told yesterday as I am checking up on her–

    Anyhow– one good thing did happen yesterday— yay!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    and a good day @ all as I go do the phone thing…..

  7. @Susan

    egad… The Perils of Pauline Susan!

    Hope it all gets better.

    BRAVO on getting Grey Cat in! That is a superb success. Please do send me the information on 4Paws when you have time (by e-mail). I’ll add them to my little directory of places to try and help support.

  8. On-Topic

    @Adam Housley

    Excellent Summary of the situation and good advice as well!
    Thanks!

  9. @All

    anyone wishing to know about medicinal uses of Elderberries and Elderberry Syrup…

    http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/druginfo/natural/patient-elder.html

  10. Susan…sounds like you have had lots of drama lately. At least they are not giving you the run around. That doesn’t mean that you have not been running around though. 🙂 Hope you have the rental today.

    Swine Flu… best advice is to eat good and wash your hands, or use hand gel often when out in public.

  11. KC - Fresno, Ca. Says:

    Good morning all

    Susan
    Hope all gets better for you with your car problems. What a mess!!!!

    LDG
    Welcome back – really did miss you the last couple of days. Hope all was well.
    Elderberries – nope – to many alergies on my end – orange blossoms, honeysuckle, etc. etc. etc., but I understand that it does help others.

    I am a firm believer in Echinacea however. We take Echinacea with goldenseal every day. First sign of a cold, we double the dose and symptoms are gone in 24 hours. So far have not had to do that. We do stop taking it however in the late spring and summer so we do not become immune to it – then start back up again in the fall.

    Adam
    You must be exhausted – have seen you live just about every hour, for the last couple of days.
    Get some rest when you can

  12. @KC

    Thanks, all did go as well as it could. Still a bit busy for a few more days, but mostly that’s just dealing with things that had to be put aside during the interruption.

  13. Susan: Wow, how long did it take you to type out all of that? 😀
    I hope it’s all sorted out before too long.

  14. Max–

    it only took me a few minutes to type it out as it was easy too just relate the facts-

    Barb– no rental– I am duking this one out too right now– My car is in Glendale– will be ready at the end of next week–

    KC– it is a big huge mess because when I talked to Mike, Glendale Maaco about the rental, he told me this situation has gotten very big– (the whole Maaco thing) and I told him I could probably figure out how bad this is but I am still a victim and not the bad guy here so “get me a rental.” I was cool enough to say I could go the next two days without a car but Saturday is a must!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    LDG– will send you a link 4 Paws— grey cat…. they are a small rescue with a thrift store next door and the monies from the store goes back into the shelter… I plan on bringing in some old blankets, etc, to donate as they can always use supplies– And thank you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! (I am still in touch with Maggi— Blistered Whiskers)

    and I know now I have swine flu– for these are the symptons for adults and I experienced these Monday when I saw my bashed up car–

    Difficulty breathing
    Dizziness
    Confusion
    Severe or persistent vomiting ~this one I did not have~
    Pain or pressure in the chest or stomach

    😀 😀 😀

  15. I wonder where Adam got that about Eldeberry Syrup? That does not sound like something which would be put out on the news as for side effects

    thanks for the link, LDG– now I know–

  16. @LDG—

    I HOPE you are well!!! xxx

  17. KC–

    I have missed Adam’s reporting– dang–

    go Adam go!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  18. Adam Housley Says:

    KC….I am beat. Live again all day tomorrow.
    Susan…I would have paid to see your face when you saw the car and notice! Also….aren’t you normally dizzy?

    Adam

  19. Adam: I’m not sure if she’s normally dizzy. But Susan, you can’t list confused as a symptom, nothing you normally feel could be a symptom of the swine flu. 😛

    Susan, also have you tried writing a book? You could write it pretty quick.

  20. KC - Fresno, Ca. Says:

    Adam
    Caught your live this morning and I cannot believe the employees that work the border are NOT allowed to wear masks to protect themselves. Of all places to be denied protection. They raise the alert level and then deny protection.

    Also, do you think it will be possible to keep everyone home in Mexico until after the holiday. You mentioned only grocery stores and hospitals will remain open. Will be really interesting to hear your other reports today on this.

    You wore one of my favorite ties this morning – thanks (grinning)

    GET SOME REST WHEN YOU CAN!!!!

  21. KC - Fresno, Ca. Says:

    Good morning everyone

    Susan
    Yep, Adam has had a lot of live coverage the last 3 days. He is looking tired because he is getting those “shadows” under his eyes, but he is doing a great job. You would be mighty proud of him.

    Max
    I agree with you about Susan writing a book – She leads such a colorful life. It would be fun to read a book about it. She never has a dull moment does she??

  22. KC - Fresno, Ca. Says:

    Adam
    Forgot to mention in my post to you above. The swine flu (oops, I forgot, we are not suspose to call it that anymore according to DHS). Of course I filed that in file 13 along with we cannot say war on terror anymore.

    Anyway, the flu has hit in Visalia and they have closed one elementary school as of yesterday. Mentioning this because I know you are familiar with Visalia and the San Joaquin Valley. Sure hope it does not spread any further.

  23. knock knock

  24. RE: “knock knock”

    who is there?

    Salmon

    Salmon who?

    ((sings))
    Salmon Chanted Evening…

    http://features.csmonitor.com/politics/2009/04/29/enchanted-really-enchanted-twitter-reacts/

    ***
    Have a good one, folks. I’m out for the day
    ((departs))

  25. KC - Fresno, Ca. Says:

    LDG

    You are hilarious – love it!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Have a good evening

  26. hello–

    the wheel that squeaks the loudest does get more oil….. I was told more than likely my car will be ready tomorrow and if not, I have a rental…. I have been on the phone taunting them for the last two hours…

    Adam– LOL— I even walked over to the lot next door where a golf cart was and told the kid I needed to sit down because I was having a big huge dizzy spell…. and I was laughing the whole time because I just knew a Mad”e”off had just been pulled! Mother Forker is probably in Tahiti sipping on a drink… laughing at us all!!!

    KC– I think I would love to live a black and white life as in Pleasantville– leave the color out… 😀 But then I would have nothing to write about-

    It gets even better here– I got into an argument with my German neighbor– she is taking off again at the end of May to Germany– as you know, I have taken care of her home and pets when they as a family have taken off on vacations– not a one day thing– weeks at a time– I have walked over to her house at the end of the block in the rain, hot weather, sick and blah and blah— four times a day– I even brought her one dog home when they went on a vacation and they took the other dog with them and left Anka– Anka was here two weeks–

    I have also baby sat her children on various occassions.

    So she asked me, since her husband is staying, while she heads off to Germany, if on the four days he goes to work, if I would feed and let the dogs out… I said I would.

    Well Saturday my dog has an appointment with the vet and I asked Maren, the first time in three years, for a favor… only if I did not have a rental or my car back… if Frank could take me to the vets- (my dog has allergies and I need some meds) And I even offered gas money…

    OMG– She asked me to change the time as this was cutting into her time because she wanted Frank to finish their chicken coop on Saturday.

    I said to her– Cutting into your time? Do you know how much time of mine you asked of me for the last three years? You are one selfish person and I will figure this out on my own. (I even refrained from using expletives! LOL)

    So– I have a rental or my car– and as for me ever doing anything for her again– scratch that one!!!! So I say…. I would do anything to help her husband out.. he is a really nice guy… and miserably unhappy with her– (and she did call me back to tell me I could borrow their car– yeah right– my luck, I would get into another accident with a borrowed car. I told her I would find my own way even if I took a cab but thank you anyway.)

    So I wil do what the Bible says– practice this forgiveness– but the Bible also says not to be a fool either– LOL

    Adam– I have the tele on and where are you? You are much more cuter than Gibbs!!!!

    Your list to boost the immune system– I have one more– stress is a biggie when coming to lowering the immune system and fear is a stress factor– so everyone has to be aware of the swine flu and the symptons but not panic…

    Botox linked to botulism? Good thing I can’t afford that–

    where are you Adam? I am watching LIVE Desk–

    LDG– YOU ARE SO FUNNY!!!!!

    @ a good day @ all–

    (Max– xxxx)

  27. @LDG–

    and clever– your last post is great!

  28. Susan: See, if you wrote like this you could churn out a book every month!

    You must forgive, but not apease. People often conflate the two, but apeasement always leads to trouble.

    and xoxox

  29. Frank Horne Says:

    Ever since this viris has started I’ve been cautious with everthing, washing my hands like it was going out of style. I’ve seen people with gloves on as well. I really hope this emds soon. I’m scared.

  30. Max– (You are so right!!!)

    and you have 8 people confirmed with swine flu?

    LDG– 1 suspeceted one in Japan?

    And I looked for Adam on and off all day— waaaaa!!!

  31. oops–

    “suspected”

  32. Frank Horne? my and my….

    or should I say is Frank Horne?

  33. Gloria Steinem sure looks good for being 75~ final thought for the night-

    nite

  34. With all the hysteria about Swine Flu, this will get give you a laugh. I subscribe to ReverendFun cartoons and this one came for this week. Click on my name for the link.

    Susan…. glad that you should have your car back on Friday.

    Sylvia… do you plant one or two tomato plants in the topsy turvy? I told the kids that was what I wanted for mothers day, and the plants. I got the one that has one hole in the bottom, and it said that you can put 2 plants in it. I would think that that would crowd the roots.

  35. Sylvia Says:

    Barb,
    One plant per each topsy turvy is enough. Hubby plants 1 tomato plant in each pot. He has 2 pots. Plant with good potting soil NOT dirt because dirt is too heavy and potting soil more porous. Plant in Full all day sun. Water every day, may need up to 1 gallon of water per day in hot weather. Fertilize every 3 weeks or so. If using shepherd’s pole brace the top because plant gets very heavy.

  36. FL Sunshine Says:

    Susan – I just can’t get over all the bleep you have gone through with your car! Unreal! Hang though my sista!

    LDG – the knock knock – funny!!!

  37. FL Sunshine Says:

    Susan – were you “IN” the car when it was bashed into?

  38. KC - Fresno, Ca. Says:

    Good morning everyone and HAPPY MAY DAY
    Another Friday has arrived – YIPEEEEEEE

    Frank
    Welcome to our blog – hope you visit often
    Keep some hand sanitizer handy – I always have some in my purse – even before this virus came up. Comes in very handy when you are out and about.

    I did notice when I went grocery shopping Wednesday that all checkers were wearing gloves. No masks, just gloves which I thought was really considerate. They have always had the handy wipes by the grocery carts so you can wipe off the handles which I also thought was a good idea. Never know what germs are on those things.

    Patty
    You OK????????????????

    Barb – that was cute (grinning). Good luck with your tomatoes

  39. Sunshine–

    No, I was in the store buying milk and the store manger caught the whole thing– (convenient store)

    My car will be ready Tuesday and @ 2:30 today the rental is picking us up to go do the paper work and I have a rental as of later today– yay!!!!!!!!

    I called Bruce up in Pittsburgh to thank him for what he did as he had to ok all of this and I told him if he needed a statement from me to give me a buzz and if he ever comes this way to give me a buzz and I will buy him dinner– He thought this was cool– and he told me this guy absconded with thousands and thousands–

    Mike, the owner at the Glendale MAACO, is way cool too and I asked him what I could do for him and he told me to bring chocolate chip cookies when I pick up the car so I am bringing chocolate chip cookies for 20 people (as I asked how many people worked there–) I am going to make up a huge basket of treats for these guys as they were not obligated to get me a rental– just to fix the car– so they went beyond… bless them!

    tomatoes– Lord- I have two cases of tomatoes here– I always talk about my crappy neighbors but I have some great neighbors as well– my neighbor two doors down came over yesterday with two cases of tomatoes– apparently his Church gives his group all this food for them to take to the food banks and also food for him to distribute personally– He got over 25 cases of tomatoes to distribute and gave me two– I have already given away almost the one case– I am going to take a couple bags to the vets tomorrow– and I handed some out to my neighbors as well as I can only eat so many of these– 😀

    And my neighbors to my one side who use to give me chara about the cats, no longer…. asked me about why I was walking when I came back from the store with a bag of groceries, so of course, I told them my drama story– and lo behold, Cindy told me if I needed a ride to please come and get her…. she even offered to take me to the vets if anything happened where I don’t have a car… and her husband could watch Ken for me since it would be a tight squeeze–(they own a truck)

    I always say there are lessons to be learned– the bash story– I WILL NEVER LEAVE Ken alone in a car for even one minute– sometimes when I get gas, Ken will ask me for a diet pop and I have quickly run into the store to get him a pop— Well-not anymore– since things happen in one split second and what if Ken had been in the car waiting for me as I ran into the store to get the milk?

    This message for this issue– me being without a car- is there are good people everywhere and these come out in the most of unexpected moments– my neighbor, Cindy and her husband, I had them as unfriendly and snotty— WRONG— She told me she had cancer a few years ago and she gets fatigue easily so when she comes home and does not greet anyone it is because she is soooo tired….. (She brought this up while we were talking…) So the lesson here is ~you never know what is going on in someone’s life and never read into it as I had– unfriendly-

    I am not a religious person– I am more of a spiritual person and I firmly believe there is a bigger force which sends us messages but in ways one never would anticipate– and we have the choice of finding the message or ignoring it…

    There is a “dicho” or saying en español—

    No hay mal que por bien no venga-

    (there is no bad in which good does not come)

    very apropos for this situation I just experienced–

    And talk about coincidences– I just saw on my home page a picture of Madoff with a caption~How to survive prison~ LOL

    I ought to save it and when Ara Derboghossian aka swindler gets caught, I can send it to him… 😀 (I asked him where he was from because of his name– He said Armenia)

    A good day at all– time to get back into the mundane world I live in and go clean up the shredded bathroom rug– Someone was very busy early this morning because he wanted to eat @ 6:00 am like every morning and this time I decided to sleep another hour– 😀 (I didn’t like the color anyway– I have been thinking about changing that bathroom)

    I will say he had a good old time with the rug!!!! 😀

  40. I had to go check out the Mad”e”off caption– It is a course taught by ex-con and founder of Wall Street Prison Consultants Larry Levine.

    LAUGHING BIG TIME!!!

  41. Barb–

    cute cartoon!

  42. KC - Fresno, Ca. Says:

    Susan
    good morning – glad to hear you got the car issue solved. Knew you could do it!!!
    Hey – you could make catsup or tomato sauce in your spare time (big grin)

  43. Max Kon Says:

    Susan: Will we get complementary copies of the book? 😛

  44. FL Sunshine Says:

    max – too funny!

  45. Susan… horrifying story about the car thing. You have a lot more patience than I do!

    This flu issue, people are not seriously taking precautions. Not even in the one doc’s office where the first Southern Nevada child came into when his family brought him back from Mexico.

    Jennifer works in that office. One mother called up the office, they are supposed to read to the parents the advice from the cdc, but one mother didn’t care. she wanted to get an anti biotic for her kid so when she goes on vacation to mexico in a few days she can give it to the kid when and if she gets ill, to fight off the flu that she doesn’t even have

    vacation first… family’s health second

    hope you’re all doing well

  46. Adam Housley Says:

    Karen T-

    Thanks….I am doing well. VERY tired from a looooooong week of flu coverage. Up at 4:30 or so and usually home after 5pm. Saturday and Sunday brings…..sleep! 🙂
    I do have some cool desert pics to post, but gotta get them in order. You’ll see them soon.

    Adam

  47. FL Sunshine Says:

    Adam – would LOVE to see some desert pix as it is so different from what I see every day! Glad you are getting some rest! Be sure you remember to turn the alarm clock off. lol
    (we were all looking forward to sleeping in today but one of our boys forgot to turn his alarm clock off and it was buzzing at 6:40! – UGH!)

  48. FL Sunshine Says:

    Karen – disturbing story you tell from the dr’s office. And correct me if I’m wrong but antibiotics only work on bacterial infections NOT viral, which means….it wouldn’t help anyway!

  49. Sylvia… we went with the Topsy Turvy and got the tomatoes, potting soil and got it all home and found that I had the wrong potting soil. I had gotten the kind with miracle grow and the numbers were not good for tomatoes… so back to Walmart, and then did not have any plain potting soil. Then to Home Depot and got the right kind. After planting them, I realized that I had broken the stems on both plants… Soooo back to Home Depot today to get more plants and potting soil. Ended up with 4 tomatoes and 3 peppers and one basil. Now we will see if anything grows.

    Adam… don’t work to hard.

    Susan… did you get your car back yet? And I am with Max and hope that we all get a copy of your “book”

    Fl… I am with you and would love to see Adam’s desert pics.

  50. Max Kon Says:

    FL Sunshine: You’re right! Anti-biotics don’t work on viruses, which is a big reason the super bugs have come around, since a lot of people were demanding anti-biotics for the flu, and colds, etc… which didn’t make the person any better (worse possibly), and was waisting the anti-biotics.

  51. *plopping down in chair*

    Hi all.

    The hay shed roof is finished!!!! 🙂

    Weds the carpet and tile guy should show up. No, that hallway painting isnt finished! argh!

    Flowers are planted…cept for 2 clematis (sp?). Need Pats help with where i want them.

    Gamma’s pooped and gampa is exhausted, both for diffferent reasons!
    at the moment, it is SOOO quiet…(everyone just left)
    Love our kids, but man the little ones wear me out!
    oh, and I am so sick of cooking that we are ordering take out for the next month! *L*

    Susan…wow, what a story!

    Adam….pics of the desert are so pretty….(hint hint)

    Hope all are well!!

    I”ll have a story about tamiflu and Emergency management. What a frick’in waste in state resources that are already too short. another arrrrgh!

  52. Adam, those hours….them’s milk’in hours, but add “until dark” to the end!!!
    YUK
    Why we arent “dairymen” anymore!!!

  53. ah ha Adam.
    Something to cover in Kansas!!

    http://cjonline.com/news/state/2009-05-04/sinise%E2%80%99s_lt_dan_band_plays

    Im pretty sure I remember you are friends with these guys??

    Would love to go see them, but…im not military 😦

  54. Max Kon Says:

    Latest food update: I had tripe soup yesterday.
    It takes a lot of guts to eat tripe because it’s offal. (so bad, I know)
    It was nice, I liked the tripe itself, not so much on the herbs in the soup.

  55. @Max

    “It takes a lot of guts to eat tripe…”

    ouch. the pun-ishment is painful. ((grin))

    Actually, you might like this, then:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Horumonyaki

    ***
    @Patty

    Welcome back from your days of hard labor. Hope you got some rest after all that.

    @All

    Good morning all around!

  56. Max Kon Says:

    LDG: Very punny. The offal part is a pun too, just one that works best when spoken.

  57. @Max

    indeed… an offal one.

  58. oh gawd, I think i’ll go throw up now!!!

  59. Thanks LDG…the work isnt quite over, Im playing hookie from work today. I have some more piddle painting to do and have to paint the wall where the make shift scaffolding is across the top of the stairway. We are pulling the old carpet up when Pat gets home from work. Figured we’d help the guy out and have that done for him tomorrow morn.
    Its really difficult to stay in the house and work. We’ve had terrific weather!!!! So nice to see the sun, low 70’s and just a gentle breeze. Doesnt happen in KS very often!!

  60. @Patty

    Sounds like it is going to be great when it all gets done. Enjoy your “hookie” day while it lasts!

  61. Max Kon Says:

    Patty: Lol. I’m sorry.
    I had the jar of tripe soup for months, and hadn’t been able to face it, but last week a nice girl told me she likes tripe, so I thought if she could eat it I better man up and eat it too.

  62. Hello to all–

    thanks KT–

    And KC– I had an AVEO for four days– probably the cheapest in the rentals…. I got my car back yesterday…..

    My latest now is a root canal– the damn tooth, #3, started throbbing bad last week and this week-end it was unbearable- so my dentist called in anti-biotics, Keflex, and Vicodin— Sunday– I had a reaction to these and got sicker than the Swine flu– tomorrow is DDS day– and meanwhile I am living off straws– for anyone who has had a nerve dying, my condolescences– I have had several root canals and each time it does not get better– the tooth throbbing–

    Max– are you talking about menudo? tripe soup– I hate to admit it but I like menudo– it is disgusting but I have been known to eat it on more than one occassion–

    AND WOW to Patty– get over here and help me with my chores– I can’t or don’t have the energy to do anything and this is so unlike me!!! Sounds like your house is going to look real nice–

    and a good day at all– glad to see you are getting rest Adam–

  63. Max Kon Says:

    Susan: No, a Polish version, it’s called ‘Flaki’. The Chinese butcher sells prepared but raw tripe, so I might have to get some that I could play around with.

  64. Susan…that s*cks about your tooth 😦
    Feel for ya, have had one, said i would never do another…they can pull it!
    Pat has almost all of his teeth done with root canals.
    In high school he had a bycicle wreck and they told him then, that in about 7 – 10 years he would have trouble with his teeth.
    They were right 😦

    The house…really not my ambition. Its driven by Pat. It was “his” project to start with…then the hay shed got in the middle. I have to have this stuff down before tomorrow, soooooooooo i guess its up to me.

  65. Patty—

    ahhhh for Pat– I totally feel for him– this totally sucks!!!!! I would rather give birth to a rhino than have this incessant throb– (I was looking or the pliers!!)

    Your house– take pictures– you guys just painted the outside last year and put in that cool deck or patio–

    and don’t you have a birthday coming up like real pronto? Mañana?

    Max—

    So did you and the nice girl hook up to talk about tripe? 😉 and more winks!!! xxx

  66. oops– looking for the pliers–

  67. Max Kon Says:

    Susan: not yet, and she likes all sorts of the foods I like, so there would be plenty to talk about.

  68. Adam Housley Says:

    Hey guys….as usual I get a day to catch up and something breaks. We are covering the abducted boy and have been swamped. I have a new post!

    Adam

  69. Adam Housley Says:

    AND……now ANOTHER post. A video with Greta & Tim….check it out.

Leave a Reply

