The Border Basher



We have seen these light armored vehicles help American troops in Kuwait, Iraq and Afghanistan. Now U.S. Customs and Border Protection is deploying these important units across the southwestern border. Affectionately called the ‘Border Basher’, these 6 tons of steel and thick armored vehicles can get up to 8 agents into a threat and keep them there until the threat is eliminated. With the violent battle continuing along our southern border, these troop carriers could come in handy and save lives. They are also offered to local law enforcement around southern Arizona to help them in an emergency situation. We are live in the town of Sahuarita, about 30 miles north of the border. The chief of police here has a close relationship with CBP. We talked to both departments about their close working relationship and got this exclusive sneak peak at the Basher.

128 Responses to “The Border Basher”

  1. Adam,
    I hope this is successful. The border is a mess.

  2. I agree Sylvia, they need all the help they can get.

  3. @Adam Housley

    Interesting…

    It’s not a Mine-proof (MRAP), so it isn’t exactly the same as used in the war… Hm. A BearCat G4 or something of that ilk? I vaguely recall CBP wanting to buy some of those for use by BORTAC.

    (BTW, the second video link doesn’t allow some ISP’s to access it. I found it over on FOXNews video files though and could watch it there.)

    @All

    Yeah, I know; lots of obscure references and acronyms. Sorry for the noise.

  4. LDG…sounds like a foreign language to me!!!
    I think I need translation to English, and then I may still not understand!!!

  5. From the other thread:
    LDG, Susan, Adam: Thank you, I’d never heard that before. Glad you all agree. πŸ˜€

    Click here to watch the 2nd video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jc6hIcs9wIo

  6. @Sylvia

    I was afraid of that. Again, my regrets.

    Here’s some of the translation —

    MRAP = Mine Resistant Ambush Protected vehicle; protected against both land mines (like the famous IED bombs in Iraq) and bullet proofed against rifles and ordinary machine guns. The fastest way to spot one is to notice the underside is not flat, but has a boat-like “V” shape covering everything but the tire areas.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/MRAP_(armored_vehicle)

    BearCat = an armored truck used by law-enforcement to get into and out of areas where people are shooting. The G4 model is (if I remember right) designed for off-road use. It is not an MRAP, but an improvement on the old-fashioned armored truck.

    CBP = as mentioned in the thread posting, Customs and Border Protection; the U.S. Border Guard agency.

    BORTAC = Border Tactical team; The CBP’s Special Weapons / Tactics (SWAT) team.

    Hope that helps, if even a little.

  7. Thank you LDG. You provide an education for me. Afraid I didn’t learn that stuff in college.

  8. Patty,
    Your video on the previous thread is hilarious. Just wait until you reach my age…..you’ll relate to the video too.

  9. @Sylvia

    Happy to be of service. Yeah, it isn’t exactly taught in most curricula.

  10. Wow—

    I wish I had that Basher when that guy hit my car a couple weeks ago–

    I would think this would serve as a deterrent~~~ Pretty cool!

    and btw– my rescue dog, a blue heeler, lives with an awesome family in Suharita– small world….

    @Adam– yay for you to keep covering this story~

  11. oops=== Sahuarita

  12. Susan: That’s one advantage of having one of the older heavier cars. The new light weight cars will just bounce off, though you’ll be fine.

  13. Max,
    I always felt safer driving on freeways in the jeep Cherokee we used to own than my Maxima (which I do love….old reliable). Jeep was not reliable but it made me feel safer.

  14. FL Sunshine Says:

    Susan – πŸ™‚ You are welcome! πŸ™‚

  15. FL Sunshine Says:

    Adam – did they let you drive the basher? Looks like some of the “muddin” atv’s (aka Gators) that the rednecks around these parts have. lol
    I SAW you on FOX yesterday giving your report but I was at work and couldn’t hear the tv. At least you post reports here so I can catch up from time to time. πŸ™‚

  16. FL Sunshine Says:

    Max – RE your statement: Seeing how guns are illegal in Mexico anyway, they shouldn’t really be having any of these problems….

    that just proves why guns should never be outlawed. The honest civilians will not have them but the thugs will.

  17. Sunshine: Yes, that’s how it is here, but at least our police aren’t heavily corrupt.

    In Mexico the gangsters just have to pay the police to stay out. Many of the people arrested for owning guns (or even a bullet casing) are Americans.

    Of course the lack of corruption doesn’t really protect us that much, in South Africa they have very strict gun laws, which are enforced well, but they still manage to have been murder capitol of the world. Just very few involve guns.

  18. Adam Housley Says:

    I DID NOT get to drive the Basher, but it was cool to see and drive alongside. We also got some exclusive video for today’s report on the cartels using Ultralight aircraft to fly north into the U.S.

    Adam

  19. I was just reading about those ultralight planes— (microlight)– after I read about Susan Boyle’s makeover which pissed me off–

    How manyy of these so called, “I am the one to tell you how to look better…” has her voice? I thought the beauty to her as well as her voice was her very natural beauty– it wasn’t pretentious, ostentatious, or even offensive!!!!! She looks like a damn teacher now instead of “The hills are alive with the sound of music…” Now that she has begun to dye her natural hair, she is going to have to dye it and dye it and dye it and dye it!!! Leave well enough alone– damn it!!!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Sunshine– I had my elderly friends over yesterday and I wore the necklace– Lydia thought it was waaaaay cool and cooler when I told her how I got it– much hugs to you!!!

    Adam– since I barely watch the tele, I am looking forward to your video about the Ultralight planes– as I know it will be informative and well done as always!!! (when are you taking a vacation? Last March you were in Ireland and now it is close to May and I haven’t heard you mention vacation time~ are the border runs considered vacation time? πŸ˜€

    xxxx

  20. who was your camera crew this time?

  21. How hard is to to drive a Basher and do you need a special permit to drive in the city? I want one– how much do these cost?

    (I can drive a stick shift~ and I am left handed– does this help?)

  22. Sunshine–

    I have a problem with the “right to bear arms…” As it was written back then and to present day, this right got out of control– way too easy to own a gun!!!!!

  23. I DO NOT LIKE GUNS!!!!!

  24. It is not the gun, it is the thinking behind the gun I have a problem with–

    I have never owned one– my dad tried to teach me how to shoot a rifle, and I refused to learn– as I was never going to hunt–

    my bat here is what I have as my weapon– πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ (now I have to remember how to swing it– )

  25. and if I ever get stranded in the forest, I will look for the Mayan tree and eat the nuts… I was just reading an article about Erika Vohman– a very cool lady!!!

    In the rain forests of Central America grows the nutrient-rich Maya nut. The marble-sized seed can be prepared to taste like mashed potatoes, chocolate or coffee. To those who stumble upon the nuts on the ground, they’re free for the taking.

    Erika Vohman’s Equilibrium Fund teaches women how to reap the benefits of the Maya nut.

    The 45-year-old biologist first encountered the Maya nut while visiting rural Guatemala a decade ago for an animal rescue effort. An indigenous colleague told her of the native resource, once an essential food staple of his Mayan ancestors; the civilization had widely cultivated the large tropical rain forest tree, the Brosimum alicastrum, that produces the Maya nut.

    “People are living right there, in extreme poverty, not even eating more than one meal a day and there’s Maya nut lying all around,” Vohman said. “They don’t eat it because they don’t know.”

    Erika Vohman is trying to change that — and improve rain forest conservation and women’s status in the process.

  26. @Susan

    re: yours of 10:09

    Just a reminder:
    What you like, or do not like, has nothing to do with what inalienable rights your fellow Americans have.

    ***
    @Adam Housley

    There were questions for you up at the top of the thread, good sir.

  27. @LDG—

    mine was an opinion–nothing to do with the inalienable rights– so chill!!!

    I DO NOT LIKE GUNS!!!!! and I think it is too easy to get them– Simple as that– and nothing more and nothing less …. πŸ˜€

  28. and anyone who goes out to shoot and kill for the pleasure of it with a gun, is a frigging coward!!!!!

  29. (and you know I am laughing over here) I love hearing your tone at 10:51- grr πŸ˜‰

  30. and some think they grow more hair on their chest if they own a gun– πŸ˜€

    done with that~ πŸ˜€

  31. Susan………….and there I thought it was the beer that put all that hair on my chest.
    I met a girl with hair on her chest once………….I guess she was a gun nut.

    Adam………….if you can get Fox to foot the bill (and pay any legal fees we may incur) let’s try an ‘unscheduled’ round trip flight across the Mexican border. I ‘ll put my odds at 70% that we’ll make it………….All I ask is that I get to keep any “cargo” we may happen upon while in Mexico

    Here’s something I jacked from a GretaWire blogger named Jim in PA that’s fun , but unfortunately true……

    Tax his land, Tax his bed, Tax the table At which he’s fed.
    Tax his tractor, Tax his mule, Teach him taxes Are the rule.
    Tax his work, Tax his pay, He works for peanuts Anyway!
    Tax his cow, Tax his goat, Tax his pants, Tax his coat.
    Tax his ties, Tax his shirt, Tax his work, Tax his dirt.
    Tax his tobacco, Tax his drink, Tax him if he tries to think.
    Tax his cigars, Tax his beers, If he cries, then tax his tears.
    Tax his car, Tax his gas, Find other ways To tax his ass.
    Tax all he has Then let him know, That you won’t be done till he has no dough.

    When he screams and hollers Then tax him more,
    Tax him till he’s good and sore.
    Then tax his coffin, Tax his grave, Tax the sod in Which he’s laid.
    Put these words Upon his tomb, β€˜Taxes drove me to my doom.. . β€˜
    When he’s gone, Do not relax, Its time to apply The inheritance tax.

    Accounts Receivable Tax
    Building Permit Tax
    CDL license Tax
    Cigarette Tax
    Corporate Income Tax
    Dog License Tax
    Excise Taxes
    Federal Income Tax
    Federal Unemployment Tax (FUTA)
    Fishing License Tax
    Food License Tax
    Fuel Permit Tax
    Gasoline Tax (currently 44. 75 cents per gallon)
    Gross Receipts Tax
    Hunting License Tax
    Inheritance Tax
    Inventory Tax
    IRS Interest Charges IRS Penalties (tax on top of tax)
    Liquor Tax
    Luxury Taxes
    Marriage License Tax
    Medicare Tax
    Personal Property Tax
    Property Tax
    Real Estate Tax
    Service Charge Tax
    Social Security Tax
    Road Usage Tax
    Sales Tax
    Recreational Vehicle Tax
    School Tax
    State Income Tax
    State Unemployment Tax (SUTA)
    Telephone Federal Excise Tax
    Telephone Federal Universal Service Fee Tax
    Telephone Federal, State and Local Surcharge Taxes
    Telephone Minimum Usage Surcharge Tax
    Telephone Recurring and Non-recurring Charges Tax
    Telephone State and Local Tax
    Telephone Usage Charge Tax
    Utility Taxes
    Vehicle License Registration Tax
    Vehicle Sales Tax Watercraft Registration Tax
    Well Permit Tax
    Workers Compensation Tax

    Not one of these taxes existed 100 years ago, and our nation was the most > prosperous in the world.
    We had absolutely no national debt, had the largest middle class in the world, and Mom stayed home to raise the kids.

    What happened?

    Can you spell β€˜politicians?’
    I hope this goes around THE USA at least 100 times!!!
    YOU can help it get there!!!
    THE HIPPIES WERE RIGHT!!!!
    GO AHEAD β€” BE AN AMERICAN

  32. John…that is fabulous. I haven’t gone on Greta Wire today so I missed that one.
    Thanks for posting it.

  33. @John—

    LOL to the whole post– starting from the hair on the chest to the end~

    (just an opinion… πŸ˜€ )

  34. @Susan at 11:34 am

    please read your two posts at 10:09 am and then tell me again how that isn’t a direct challenge on your part to the Second Amendment guarantee of the means to protect an inalienable right…

    You see, I like opinions. I like them even better when the freedom to state them can be defended from the tyrannical tendency of government to try and stifle them.

    Slightly off-this-Off-Topic Trivia: By the way, Susan or anyone… In the original draft of the United States Declaration of Independence, what three inalienable rights are enumerated as amongst many? Hint: the final version of the DoI uses the trucated euphemism “Happiness” to mean the same thing as the third one.

  35. @John

    Funny, that makes you sound rather like a T.E.A.-totaller…

    Bravo!

    ((grin))
    Taxed.Enough.Already.

  36. LDG…I haven’t a clue to the question you posted…..could one of them be the right to own guns????

    Susan…I don’t like guns either but I will uphold the great document that allows the right to own them.

    LDG…I am a T.E.A. person even though I am drinking strong coffee as I type!

  37. One other thought about guns. The “bad” people will always find a way to own guns so the good people should not be denied that right.

  38. @Sylvia

    g’morning, early bird!

    re: “could one of them be…?”

    That’s the tricky part of the Trivia question. It is not merely “guns”… Want another hint?

  39. LDG…..do you mean all “arms”….including present day assult rifles?

  40. @Sylvia

    The definition of “arms” is in fact “the means with which to fight”, so that implies the whole range from handmade knifes up to artillery and bombs… although the legitimate justification for “indiscriminate” weapons has steadily eroded over the years, even for use by national armies.

  41. Sylvia: Yes, it is as difficult for a gangster to get a gun here as it is for a gangster in America.
    But for someone who doesn’t want to break the law? Almost impossible here.

  42. morning-

    PLZZZ LDG– what part of I DON’T LIKE GUNS has to do with a right–

    My issue with the right to bear arms is how millions of people have taken this right and misconstrued the original thought!!!!!!

    I have no problem with protecting your home as in self-defense– as it originally was because the soldiers would do these home invasions–

    I don’t have a problem with defending your country….

    I don’t even have a problem with people shooting for food or putting an animal out of misery– or for whatever the good reason may be–

    I do have a problem with the misuse of guns or arms– and all the legislation which goes into the intrepretation of the second amendment when all these guys wanted was to give us the right to defend ourselves–

    A GUN IS NOT A TOY AND I think the mentality of many is this– bang, bang, I shot you down– bang, bang you hit the ground….

    I also think to go shoot an animal in cold blood so you can mount the head on your wall as a trophy to prove you are a great hunter when the poor thing had no chance to even shoot back is unfair!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Now if you have 15 kids and live out in the boonies and your source of food is hunting, go for it…..

    My stupid ass neighbor, the idiot, who I wish his wife had not taken back, shot his gun off in his backyard a few weeks ago– for the fun of it!!! What did he think the bullet was going to do as he said he shot it up in the air… go to heaven and never come back down….. I reported him as I called the cops– what a frigging idiot…. took care of his whim….

    The 51 year old man who took a second job working as a speed radar guy in a mobile… some asshole drove by and shot at him and killed him and when he went to court he said he was sorry??????????????????

    The lady who lived next door to me whose dogs I found homes for– her stupid son moved out and became a major thief– in one of the break-ins, he and his buds stold a gun– and decided to play with it and one of the kids was shot and died!!! This hit the news at the time– two years ago–

    Those parents who teach the kids guns are cool and then the kids decide to find the gun and play– bang, bang– oops– I didn’t know it killed–

    You can own all the guns you want because YOU ARE RESPONSIBLE!!!! But for one of you, there are hundreds who are not!!!!! That “right” was meant for people like you but not for all those other idiots…

    I HATE GUNS!!!!

    xxxx

  43. or whatever weapon one chooses to use as toy– for that matter– a stiletto knife- a machete– et al—

  44. the right to bear arms is a privilege … recognizing and owning up to it–

    as the guys wanted it to be originally…..

  45. BTW– again…

    My son is a cop and he hunts…

  46. @Susan

    I think maybe you missed the point.

  47. FL Sunshine Says:

    Susan – I better not start growing hair on MY chest. LOL (regarding your earlier post). πŸ™‚ I have my C.W. permit and am packing….so watch out! I hope to NEVER use it but if someone tries to harm me or my family…I’m ready.

  48. @Sylvia

    re: The Trivia —

    The DoI final version used the list “Life, Liberty, and the pursuit of Happiness” to enumerate examples of inalienable rights.

    This was a rewrite from the draft form of “Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Property”, which was based on the much earlier work by John Locke on inalienable rights listing “no one ought to harm another in his life, health, liberty, or possessions.”

    What is unique about the American Bill of Rights is that the guaranture of the inalienable rights is *not* the State; it is the individual. The particular case of the Second Amendment (the “Right” to bear arms) is the guarantee that the State shall not abridge the Right of the Individual *to have the means of protecting* his life, health, liberty, or possesions from threat.

    This is a whole can-of-worms when compared to the modern concept of societal law (Susan’s rather lengthy off-the-point did illustrate some very clear reasons why Reckless Endangerment, armed or unarmed, is against the Law) but the basic Constitutional recognition of the inalienable Rights of the Individual Citizen precludes any action by the State to arrogate that Right from an Individual Citizen *who has given no cause*.

    This means that American law can criminalize misuse of arms, but it can not abridge the Right to access to arms.

    …even if reasoned observation implies a risk to the Rights of others in the society. Risk isn’t criminal. Acts can be.

    ***
    Pity Susan didn’t come back in time. She seemed so motivated.

    Be well and safe, All
    ((departs for the day))

  49. FL Sunshine Says:

    LDG – I hope you went for a walk outside and breathed in some fresh air. lol

  50. @LDG—

    my lengthy and off the point post….. I was explaining my reasons for not liking guns…. the Second Amendment has been argued over and over again because it has been viewed as being too broad…. and blah and blah~

    the term people is referred to as collectively rather than people as individuals– protecting the individual’s right for a collective purpose…

    “A well-regulated militia being necessary to the security of a free state, the right of the people to keep and bear arms shall not be infringed.”

    I believe this “right” has been abused or taken advantage of…. simple as that….

    And anyone here can pack a gun– I don’t care–

  51. oops– didn’t get to finish–

    and anyone here can pack a gun- I don’t care-

    I just don’t have to as this is my personal choice which is my right as well- πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  52. Susan: You can pack a Cat instead. A far more dangerous weapon πŸ˜€

  53. @Max–

    LOL– It was the cats who saved Ken the other day– not a gun! πŸ˜€

    and xxxxxxxxxxx to you!!!! You are so sweet!

    BTW– I also have a dog who barks– pepper spray– a bat– and a cell phone and home phone right by me to do the 911 thing– and a home alarm–

    More than once I have experienced someone trying to break in– not at this house but back in my apartment days– I had one apartment door so full of locks, starting from the bottom of the door to the top, you would have needed Basher here to break in– πŸ˜€

    And I am not going to pack a gun outside of the house to play bang bang games–

    xxxxx

  54. @Max—

    here is a great example of gun mentality–

    I just saw on the local news how the State Fair had a gun show which many attended– some in protest to Obama’s comment in February about stricter gun laws and others for the show– One guy was shown with an AK47– His reasoning was he has a son at home and he needs to protect his home– an AK47?????????????????

  55. I just heard you guys over there got some swine flu too? (Max)

    good thing Adam wasn’t in Mexico City– since they closed the city down– more or less—-

    Stay away from pig farms—

  56. I am beginning to feel sorry for Hillary– her surprise visit to Iraq shows how tired she is– she is definitely got the bags under eyes and she looks haggard— all because she likes power– WOW– Less than a 100 days into this game of hers and she looks bad~ very torn up– probably sleeps two hours a night~

    end of watching the news– now there is a manhunt for the Professor who used a gun to shoot three people– (Geraldo’s)

    Two more officers down because of a gun– and on and on and on—

  57. BTW LDG– Your post @ 9:37 is good–

    and don’t forget to mention the Bill of Rights only use to apply to the Federal government and not to the States until more than a 100 years and at that more…. where parts of the Bill of Rights was enforceable to the States via 14th— (Incorporation, so to speak)…

  58. and as a final thought–

    given the “totality of the circumstances” way back when when these Rights were first discussed and put down on paper, and given the “totality of the circumstances” presently, I believe these Rights have been misapplied as to the original thinking–

    buenas noches

  59. I don’t have swine flu, so it’s alright πŸ˜›
    I don’t know if it’s spreading here, but we get farm animal epidemics from time to time, so it’s not unlikely.

  60. On the subject of swine flu…..I don’t eat pork so I hope that is my protection. I know that may sound illogical…but it’s early and I’m waiting for the coffee to brew.

  61. One more comment on gun laws…if you start banning certain types of arms (ie ak47 assault rifles) then you have a foot in the door to continue to increase the types banned. It’s a slippery slope that eventually leads to all arms banned. The government tends to always increase control of things…never decrease.
    I DON”T like weapons but I also dislike too much government control. The government is power hungry. I am an Independent voter who does not like “Big Government”. I am strong on defense, but I don’t like too much government control of the economy or personal rights.

    And don’t get me started on Universal Health Care….the government can’t handle VA Hospitals well….I don’t want them controlling my health care.

  62. @Susan

    Two questions for you:

    Do you believe that each individual citizen is capable of the judgment necessary to use the means of defense of their Rights (any or all the means; *not* merely firearms)?

    Do you believe that you possess the means, or at least access to the means, of defense of your Rights on an individual basis?

  63. @FL Sunshine

    yours at 12:12 pm

    Yeah, something like that. I’m trying to be nice about it.

  64. Susan…………If you don’t like guns try hand grenades, my personal favorite. They’re portable, easily concealed and you don’t need to be too accurate to unleash their wrath. Just get close enough to your target and let God sort out who lives or dies……………And they serve as a very good crime deterrent. Just wear one around your neck, ala Rambo style, and even the hardiest of criminals will walk large circles around you.

  65. @LDG–

    what are you trying to be nice about? You don’t like the fact I think the Second Amendment has been exploited? It was not written for idiots to go bang bang happy when they choose to– because they had a right to bear arms?

    Who talked about banning them? There needs to be more control… so in order to keep the gov’t from having too much control, just allow more idiots to keep purchasing guns because it is a right? It was the men in GOVT who put together the Bill of Rights…

    And no I don’t think each individual citizen is capable…. because they are not mentally competent…. as I said earlier– recognizing and owing up to this is a “Right,” a privilege… not an excuse to go trigger happy or slash happy when you are having a bad day…… so no– given what I see and hear, not every individual is capable….

    What do you mean by do I possess the means etc?

    Do you mean I,moi, yo, entity Susan possess the means of rights? I don’t possess them– these are safeguards, legal principals… I have access to them…within reason~

    I don’t think the founding fathers had in mind this “proliferation” of weapons present day—

    I believe in stricter regulations and I am part of the 37% here in the US who believes in stricter gun laws– so obviously I am in the minority–

  66. John–

    LOL BIG TIME!!!!! Can I get these in different styles?

    Laughing with your post– you are so fun!!!!!!!!

  67. Adam–

    do you own a gun?

  68. actually Adam came up with a deterrent to breaking and entry awhile back-

    Just keep a bunch of snakes by the window–

  69. speaking of VA’s– Danielle went to a swap meet last Sunday to help the VA’s by getting donations for them– (for each bracelet given out, one was to donate– whatever– a dollar– no amount– just what you wanted to give)

    I had her get me two bracelets and when I talked to her later, she was so disgusted at how many and many people just walked by ignoring this good cause– (they were probably off to look at guns~ πŸ˜€ )

    It is not just about govt doing its part… people need to do their part as well…. Danielle, daughter, is VERY active with the VA’s– she donates her time twice a month at the hospital– along with working full time, taking four classes– I sure admire her determination– (and she is studying Arabic in one of her classes…) Yet she finds time to do a good thing…. yay for her!!!!

  70. OMG— I went back to John’s post to laugh again–

    this is my favorite part-

    They’re portable, easily concealed and you don’t need to be too accurate to unleash their wrath. Just get close enough to your target and let God sort out who lives or dies…

    YOU ARE SO FUNNY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! unleash their wrath– let God sort out…
    I am so laughing—-

  71. @Susan

    “what are you trying to be nice about?”

    I am trying to be nice about the extraordinary fact that you have been screaming at me since 11:34 am on the 24th of April.

    Something I would not tolerate in person.

    Prior to my two questions to you, I have made exactly two posts directed at you, and one more of any length in an attempt to draw a reasoned tangential discussion.

  72. Susan: Wouldn’t it just be better to teach the kid’s how to be responsible with guns?
    Here since guns have been made illegal no one teaches anyone how to responsibly handle a gun, and now they are a cool status symbol amongtst teenage gangsters who shoot at eachother all the time.
    Getting a gun is now considered a big deal only because it’s illegal. Just like how MS-13 gangsters in America get kudos for being deported and coming back, since they are breaking all the rules and it grows their bad boy image.

    If people respect and honor guns then it’s alright. But most people need to be taught that, and banning or stricter controls just make teaching that harder.

  73. Adam Housley Says:

    In the right corner……weighing in at 105 pounds and taking no crap…..the underdog from Zona….trying to make a comeback…..SUSAN…..and in the left corner…..once based stateside, but now in the far east…..the man with only initials for a name…..trying to take the throne away from the woman known to never be at a loss for words….LDG!

    Tonight’s referee….from England, tho he wants to be an American cowboy….MAX…..and the judges….Sylvia, Sunshine, Barb….and maybe KC….if she shows up this thread.

    The ring announcer……..man of many quips, who worships the quipmaster himself Howard Cosell…….JOHN.

    πŸ™‚

  74. Adam….. That is great…. LOL πŸ™‚

  75. Adam……….LOL

  76. Adam–

    LOL AND YOU GOT MY WEIGHT RIGHT!!!!!

    Max-

    I sooooooooooo agree with you– teach responsibility…. yes and yes and yes and yes!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Having a gun to many is just because it is cool!!!!!!!!!! Yes and yes and yes!!!!!!! I was checking out those who were at the gun show and listened to their comments… Lord help them…

    Amen and bless you!!!

    LDG– I NEVER screamed at you– I scream at those idiots who don’t understand the right to bear arms– and do you think many of these who scream “this is my right” even know as to how this right even got here in the first place? Half of America barely even knows what the Bill of Rights are much less who was behind the scenes– sooooooo sad!!!!!

    and a good night @ all–

    and Adam– you are soooooooooooooo funny!!! You and John!!! yay!

  77. @LDG–

    my comment about– what are you trying to be nice about– is in reference to your post to Sunshine @ 3:55 am– hence, this comment I made later… 8:28 am… πŸ˜€ … not said in malice… at all~

  78. Max—

    I still believe in stricter regulations–

    xxxx

  79. Adam: That’s great.

    Having watched boxing a few times:

    Susan and LDG, break it up, break it up, no hugging allowed!

    Why do boxers always hug eachother?

    The state with the least regulations for guns is Wyoming. It’s also the one with the least gun crime and murder. While Wyoming has 12 murders a year, DC which has very strict gun laws and has the same population has over 300 murders a year.

  80. Oh, and I think permissive attitudes to abortion don’t help since they devalue life.

  81. Adam,
    That was really funny.

  82. @Adam

    YHGTBFKM

  83. ‘morning all.

    Lots of severe weather around the last 2 days. Glad thats over with! (for now)
    A motorcycle rider on the interstate was actually struck by lightening and killed. What’s the odds? Crazy stuff.
    The new barn roof is about 1/2 finished. The wind really hasnt allowed as much work time as Pat would like.
    Having the house full of kids 2 weekends in a row, really wears this grandma out! Too much noise in too little of space for me! *L* But…truly do love having them there.

    IMO, weapon restrictions only take the guns from the innocents hands. Crooks, wannabies, will always have access regardless of laws.
    Our kids were taught weapon respect with many types of guns and at a very early age. Those aren’t the kids robbing and killing.
    Anyway, ‘nough of that.

    Adam, you’re funny!

    Hope all are well!!! Missed you all!

  84. FL Sunshine Says:

    Sylvia – you don’t get swine flu from eating pork. lol I enjoyed some good bacon yesterday as a matter of fact.

  85. FL Sunshine Says:

    Adam – that was funny!

    Carry on “Blog Mom” aka Susan. πŸ™‚

  86. KC - Fresno, Ca. Says:

    Adam
    Since I am the oldest person on your blog – I would be honored to be a judge whenever needed. (grinning) I am always here, BTW – I just don’t show up on the weekends – (Hubby Time)

    I see everyone had quite a good discussion over the weekend.

    Good morning everyone!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  87. KC - Fresno, Ca. Says:

    LDG
    You did it again – I had to look it up – spit my coffee all over my desk. I am soooooo laughing right now. What a way to start a Monday morning.
    Thanks for the humor

  88. Hi Everyone.

    KC…guess that makes me the second oldest.

    Fl Sunshine….are you oinking yet????

    Patty….you’re too young to get worn out by a few kids!!!

  89. I think we need a new thread….and one that isn’t going to cause hyperventing.

  90. Patty: The odds would be pretty high. He would have been sitting on top of a metal machine, which would attract the lighting. He would have also been the tallest thing in the area, asuming there wasn’t a forest he was going through, but with it being Kansas I think that’s probably a safe bet πŸ˜‰

    Cars are struck pretty often, but most are designed to easily survive any damage from a single lightening bolt.

  91. Sylvia: oink oink

  92. “Judge KC”
    that would be like judge judy?
    *L*
    You’re a Star KC! πŸ™‚

    Sylvia, my body is too old for those kids! (and my mind for a daughter-in-law that talks constantly!)

  93. KC - Fresno, Ca. Says:

    Patty
    Sounds like you have been very busy with all of your home improvements inside and out. Glad to see you had some time to pop in and let us know what you have been up to. Miss not seeing you post everyday. Always think of those dang migraines when I don’t see you.

    Our temps here have dropped 20 degrees overnight. Last Thursday we went from 98 to 78 and it has stayed that way (so far). Now the a/c is off and the windows and doors are open. Now if we can only get some rain.

    Sylvia
    You can contact swine flu just by going to the grocery store, bank, or anywhere out in public. It has nothing to do with eating pork. From my understanding it is an airborne virus and can be spread by sneezing or coughing. Sure hope it doesn’t come our way.

    Max – It is getting closer and closer to Wyoming for you. Are you ready to take the big plunge???

  94. true enough Max, not much for a “forest” around here!
    But…why would he not be “grounded” since he was on rubber.

    and I didnt see that as a lead story on fox when i typed it. Didnt realize it was national worthy.

    I was on a aluminum ladder painting inside yesterday, was by the door…could see lightning flashes outside and i guess Pat saw me “in deep thought”…he laughed and said….are you “lost?”!!! I said no….was sitting here wondering if lightening would come through that door and smack this ladder!!!!!!!!
    I moved to paint in a different place πŸ™‚

  95. Thanks KC, thats sweet.
    I did have shots once last week. So you probably werent far off in that thinking.

    We had that heat last week, friday was very hot when we got home, by saturday am, it was barely 50….and is still that way today.
    That heat stirred up all the storms across the midwest. Hopefully they calm a bit before they reach Sylvia.
    We had 2.5 inches of rain last eve.
    South an hour, had 4 inches.

  96. OK..LDG,,,this ones for you!!!! πŸ™‚

    I dont get it…whats the biggy with the swine flu.
    Hell given any day here in town, in flu season, i can find 30 people with it.
    There’s 20 people in the USA, big ass deal?
    Is this political????
    IF it were such a huge danger, then why in God’s name would our Pres go to Mexico in the middle of it???

  97. Patty,
    Sunny and 80’s here…very windy. Suppose to get rain and cooler weather tomorrow.
    As for swine flu….not showing up yet in my part of the state. Larry doesn’t seem to be worried about it. We had a very mild flu season here this year….of course flu can hit at any time.
    As for ladders…I don’t get on them anymore regardless of lightning.

  98. Sylvia, Im not allowed on them either, unless Pat is there. He’s very protective after my back surgery, well not that he wasn’t before, but you know what I mean. I wasn’t up very high, just needed to reach the bottom edge of the crown moldings. I’ll make sure and show pics when its all done! The carpet/tile guy comes the 6th….i’ll be lucky to be ready for him at the rate we are going! You will not believe the befor & afters!!!

  99. @KC

    sorry about the desk ((guilty grin))

    ***
    @Patty

    Ok, I’ll try. It’s not really a “swine flu” at all. It is an A-type Influenza of the H1N1 group; yes, Swine Flus are all either A-type or C-type, and H1N1 was historically the major type found in pigs, but…

    Influenza is weird. It both migrates across species (Avians, Swine, and Primates), but it also swaps bits of genetic code as it does so. The Flu bigs that are really deadly to one species are generally incapable of transmission in that species; the species they can live in easily is also mostly immune to the bug.

    What makes a given Flu so infectious *and* dangerous is when it swaps in enough of the genetic bits that let it easily enter the species that it is most harmful to. This particular outbreak has genetic elements from all three species on the main structure of a “swine flu”.

    What makes a flu bug dangerous is when it demonstrates a combination of traits that let it (a) move between members of the same species without an intermediary host, and (b) it has sufficient pathological strength to kill or severely injure an otherwise healthy adult host.

    This current outbreak has begun to demonstrate (a), and is reputed to have (b) based on the fatal cases in Mexico… and it may well have both, but…

    …it does respond to anti-viral treatment. That’s a good thing. Really nasty bugs progress the disease so quickly that there is no time for treatment to take effect.

    “Hell given any day here in town…” — yeah, and that is likely a fairly standard swine flu transmitted by close association (working at a pig farm) or just plain old human-pool influenza, which is pretty weak in comparison.

    “Is it political?” — hard to say. The current U.S. administration is so opportunistic that there may be an element of that. But real major flu outbreaks are a big deal, and they go from few-to-many really fast, so some precaution is clearly in order.

    “If it is such a huge danger…” — The danger with flu outbreaks is not (generally) the danger to any one person. Like I mentioned above, this one is treatable if detected. The danger of influenza is “Pandemic”, that the outbreak spreads so fast and to so many people that the healthcare system is overwhelmed and treatment becomes unavailable.

    You might well be interested in a look at this item, on the Spanish Flu of 1918~20, which is the textbook case of a horrific Pandemic:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Spanish_flu

    …which by the way is the “mother” influenza for most all the A-type influenza bugs out in circulation in the wild today.

    hope that helped

  100. Patty: that only works to his benefit if the current had somewhere to go. The rubber means that the current isn’t grounded, since it can’t pass through it, and stays in him and the bike. If he were holding an electrical wire with both hands then the current would just pass through him, or not pass through at all.

  101. LDG, yes, knew I could count on you! Thanks!
    The spanish flu, interesting, it’s attack on the immunne system taking out the most “fit”. Guess I never thought of that. We’re always taught to think of the weaker persons.
    And interesting because it even has a reference to Kansas.

    Max, that makes sense. Why I don’t like electricty! Scares me only because lack of understanding it!

  102. @Patty

    most welcome

    @All

    Obligations call. See you in a day or so.

    Be well and safe
    ((departs))

  103. KC - Fresno, Ca. Says:

    LDG

    Be well and safe – whatever your venture may be

  104. KC - Fresno, Ca. Says:

    Patty
    Can’t wait to see your before and after pictures. I can imagine how happy you are going to be when all is finally done and over.

    Our garden is getting very happy – radishes (leaves) have popped the surface – red and yellow onions are just starting to shoot up above ground level.

    Been eating garlic, onion, and regular chives just about every day and I actually picked a big bowl of strawberries this morning. Love it

  105. KC..you can come cook with all your goodies at our house!!! πŸ™‚
    You’ll have the rain you need, wont see 90’s till july and aug….rare fire danger…and i promise not to talk to you on weekends! *LOL*

  106. KC - Fresno, Ca. Says:

    Patty
    OHHHH that sounds great and thanks for the invite – but I must stay home to tend my garden (grinning)

    BTW – with your wacky weather, have you been able to tend to your flowers and play in the dirt planting??? Not that you have anything else to do – LOL

  107. KC…we’ve already eaten some of Larry’s radishes. Very good. Also have chives.

  108. I am really behind, I have to get my tomatoes into the pots and decide if I want to attempt to plant anything else. lol

  109. Patty: I love beating my fears. Getting used to overcoming fears makes it easier for me to get where I want to be.
    That’s why I practise by eatting strange things.

  110. FL Sunshine Says:

    my husband made his own “topsy turvy” sp? tomato plant buckets. We shall see if it works. Hoping for a bunch so he can make his awesome HOT fresh salsa!

  111. Patty………here’s a link that describes the dangers of lightning and what and what not to do……….notice it suggests one get off bicylces and motorcylcles when near a thunderstorm………

    http://www.wunderground.com/health/lightning.asp

  112. FL sunshine…..what did he use to make them? That is what I want to do but was not sure what to use.

  113. John: I’ve seen that website before. For some reason it always reminds me of William Aires…

  114. Having read that article the worst situation I have been in was with my mother in South Carolina. We were at or host’s house, and they have a lake by their home. We started out the while the weather was pretty nice. Well once we got to the middle of the lake it started to rain, but very gently, so we slowly started to turn around. Well the rain got harder and harder and the lightning started off in the distance and we both started peddling as fast as we could. The had a paddle, so I was using that to speed us up as well! Luckly nothing came too close.

    Once we had lightning hit the middle of our street, it caused all the power to go off and all the house alarms to go off. The police phoned to find out what was going on.

  115. Fl and Barb…Hubby uses topsy turvy tomato containers…you need to water them every day.

  116. Max……….Funny, everytime I hear of William Aires and the Weather Underground I think, ” I never knew he was a weatherman “………..He definitely has the right last name for one.

    Years ago my dad, one of my brothers and I were caught in a thunderstorm while fishing on Lake Fontana near the Great Smoky National Park In NC. We were in a small rented motor boat when the storm came out of nowhere and developed into a strong thunderstorm right on top of us. While my dad was navigating the boat to the nearest shore, I remember him trying to put my brother and I at ease by telling us something he said he used to tell his troops while he was in Indonesia in the late 1940’s and they would get caught in severe thunderstorms while on patrol in the jungles. ” Don’t worry” he said,” If you can hear the thunder you didn’t get hit by lightning. ” As crazy as that sounded, I’ve never been afraid of thunderstorm since………….as long as I keep on hearing that thunder, that is.

  117. KC - Fresno, Ca. Says:

    John
    When we were kids (well I still do it) – when we heard the thunder we would count – one, two, three, etc., until we saw the lightning. This told us how far away the lightning was. We loved it when we could count to 20 before seeing it, but when we could only reach 4 or 5 then saw lightning, we were scared to death. Usually ran and hid under the bed. (grinning).

  118. Max… As I remember, thunder storms are very few and far between. I know that we only had one tornado in 3 years and that was over 60 miles away, but was still all the news.

    Sylvia, I have heard about using 5 gallon paint buckets, where you cut a hole in the bottom and fill with potting soil and plant, I will look at the topsy turvy when I go to get the stuff this week.

  119. John: Yes, he only pretended to be a meterologist.
    While true it doesn’t really meaa anything about the upcoming bolts. Though panicing would be far worse.

    KC: I think you mean the other way around. Light is faster than sound, so you see the lightning first, and then hear the thunder. The distance can be calculated by the time difference. Each 4.6 seconds in delay is 1 mile.

    Barb: When we were in Georgia and South Carolina we had thunder storms half of the days, at least, maybe more, I’m not sure.

  120. ‘morning everyone!

    The sun is shining, yeah!
    It was 38 degress this am, burrrr

    KC, yes most of my outside flower pots are ready, sitting in the garage because of the storms. The forecast isnt very “flower friendly”.
    Those tulips….we SO worth the wait!!!
    I think the link under my name will take you to the pics…let me know if it doesnt work.

  121. oops
    was supposed to read….*WERE so worth the wait

  122. KC - Fresno, Ca. Says:

    Patty
    Your flowers, tulips are beautiful and soooo colorful. The only flowers I can grow are silk. When I walk by the flowers in the nursery, they automatically start to wilt (big grin). That is why all of my flower beds in the back yard are vegetables and herbs. Hopefully your weather will allow you to get your pots out of the garage.

  123. KC - Fresno, Ca. Says:

    Adam
    I see you are very busy reporting on the swine flu here in California. Have seen you many times today doing your live reports.

    Actually, you were on just now stating that there have been 2 deaths in Orange County and they are not sure if it was related to swine flu. Looking forward to the update on that.

    Good coverage as usual

  124. KC - Fresno, Ca. Says:

    Max
    You are most probably correct on the thunder and lightning issue. I think my folks had us do that to keep the fear away because it always scared us when that big crackle opened up the sky. It always looked like it was right on top of us. So they had us count between the thunder and lightning convincing us that is was very far away. Just a childhood memory.

  125. KC: I always love thunderstorms, sadly we don’t get too many here, normally just a light drizzle. Oh well. Wyoming has a lot more thunderstorms than here, so I’ll enjoy that.

  126. FL Sunshine Says:

    Barb – 5 gallon buckets and drilled a few holes in the side for drainage. πŸ™‚ We will see if it works

  127. Adam Housley Says:

    BEEN SWAMPED WITH FLU COVERAGE…..NEW POST!!

  128. Nice site – Like what you did. Wishing you and yours a very happy and prosperous new year !

Leave a Reply

