Will Rogers State Park

dsc_0952 dsc_0951

With all the craziness going on in the world, it’s always amazing to get out. To explore this great earth and even though I long for home and the outdoors of my youth in Northern California, you can still find a slice or two a stones throw from the cement jungle of Los Angeles. I grabbed my camera, backpack, some water and supplies, and headed for Will Rogers State Park. The hike can be as easy or tough as you make it. I went about the middle on that scale to start.

dsc_0968dsc_0955

The clouds had enveloped most of the western sky, intermixed with the marine layer, a slight breeze blew as the temps dropped to around 60 degrees. Below a few pick up 6 on 6 soccer games and picnics on the only polo field left in Los Angeles. The ranch house still looks fantastic after all of these years and the stables were being rebuilt. I only hiked for an hour and the sunlight wasn’t great, but these are a few of the sights that caught my eye. Below, I give you a bit about the man who built this place.

dsc_0969dsc_0963

Actually now that I think of it….you guys might do better to look him up yourselves. He is an amazing character.

94 Responses to “Will Rogers State Park”

  1. Adam,
    Great pix. Is the park crowded?
    As for deer, we have them visiting our yard all the time. They have already eaten the tulip leaves. Larry’s hard work planting the bulbs will probably not result in flowers this year. But the deer are beautiful creatures.

  2. What a pleasant way to start a Monday Adam! Terrific pics as usual.

    ‘morning all. I missed my puter! All weekend end it was buried under crown molding strung all through the house, getting it primed and painted.
    Its tough being married to a work-aholic when the work is in the house!! I cant hide from him! *L*

    What lil snow and ice we ended up with , all melted yesterday. We really dodged the bullet with the snow storm. Southern and western KS have reports of roofs collapsed on many buildings and other heavy snow/ice damage. I guess the only way to look at it is when it happens this time of year, it wont stay long.

    KC, last Friday you asked about the winds. If you go to the WBC thread at March 24, 2009 at 5:35 am, there is a link to storm damage at our place. Its just a building, really not bothering Pat and I at all. Could have been so much worse. We’ve definitely lived through worse things.

    Gotta run, have a GREAT monday all!!!

  3. KC - Fresno, Ca. Says:

    Adam

    Great photos as usual. I am still waiting for my signed copy of your HOUSLEY PHOTOGRAPHY BOOK!!!!

  4. KC - Fresno, Ca. Says:

    Good morning everyone and Happy Monday again

    Got our “victory garden” planted over the weekend so that chore is done. Now we just have to wait patiently for harvest time.

    Patty – I did see your pictures of the damage to your place and you are right – it could have been a lot worse. However, I am looking forward to your pictures of all the hard work you are doing on the inside of your home.

    Sylvia – I forgot to tell you about our chives we planted last year. I assumed we lost them during the winter, but lo and behold, they all popped right back up when our weather warmed up. They are healthier now then they were last year.

    Susie – Welcome to our little slice of blog heaven. We are a fun group, so join in whenever you like. We are a small group from all over the world, and we love to digress. What state do you live in???

    Avi – have a fun and safe trip – take pictures for us – and keep in touch when you can.

  5. @Adam Housley

    Oh, you lucky fellow! That is a great place. I have some friends late of the L.A. area who were mad for polo and (I’m almost certain this is the place) Will Rogers’ was one of the places they got together. They also used to haul out to Palm Springs area for matches. Can one still bring a horse up to Will Rogers’ for the trail riding as well?

    I miss getting to ride. Few places here and little time for that any more.

    ***

    @All

    g’morning!

    Off-Topic: If it is playing anywhere near where you are, See this movie!

    http://www.brothersatwarmovie.com/

    It is only in about 25 theaters across the U.S. for now, but if it makes the financial cut, it may go into wide release, which would be a Very Good Thing(tm).

  6. LDG
    That film looks awesome. I never heard of it before.

  7. KC - Fresno, Ca. Says:

    LDG
    Good morning to you and thanks for the “trailer”. Will keep checking to see if it will be in our area. Looks like a very worthwhile movie to me. Hope we get to see it.

  8. KC,
    Our chives seem to come back every year. I guess they are hardy.

  9. Adam Housley Says:

    Sylvia-

    Not too crowded at all. LDG, yes, I believe you can still take horses up there, at least it seemed like it.

    ALSO….today LIVE……ADAM’S BULLPEN on foxnews.com the Strategy Room 2-3pm pacific. I WILL be awsering viewer e-mails on foxnews.com, so I will be looking for your guys comments!

    Adam

  10. *evil laugh*

    wonder if adam will answer all questions…hehehe

  11. Adam Housley Says:

    Patty!!!!!!

    Play nice, or you go into the Susan column.

    Adam

  12. Adam…seriously…why are you “burying yourself in work”?

  13. *laughing*

    Adam…i was just going to ask …for hubby…the beach picture, was it as “good” at it looked?
    *L*
    Dont see much of that during the winter in KS! He was envious!!

  14. Adam,
    I won’t be home 2-3 Pacific time (5-6) Eastern so you won’t have to worry about me asking any embarrassing questions. I’ll leave that to Patty and Susan.

  15. Patty,
    Are you over working today? We just came back from a walk. It is beautiful out…sunny and upper 50’s.

  16. Just made the mistake of looking at the stock market….OY VEY.

  17. Sylvia, Im at work till 4:30 central time.
    Its a pretty day here, windy as usual, sunny, but not very warm. guessing its not in the 50’s.

  18. Patty,
    Check your email…I think you’ll get a laugh.

  19. Adam, how did the stradegy room go? What was your topic for today?
    Our internet isnt near fast enough to allow me to join in.
    😦

  20. KC - Fresno, Ca. Says:

    Patty

    I have to share a chuckle with you regarding the strategy room. While Adam was talking with his two guests, his brother called him on his cell phone. Adam had to explain to him that he was on the air and would call him back in about 9 minutes. It was pretty funny because obviously his brother was not watching him.

  21. KC, are we sure that Arik didnt do it on purpose!?
    I’ll bet he has the same pia sense of humor his brother has!!! πŸ™‚

  22. Adam: I was home, but my internet was being such a pain and so slow there was no hope of me seeing you live. 😦

  23. KC - Fresno, Ca. Says:

    Patty
    That is very possible – didn’t sound like it tho – but maybe

    Hopefully, Adam will fill us in on this one – LOL

  24. Just got back a little while ago and wanted to know how the strategy room went. Did any of you embarrass Adam?

  25. I was a good girl. πŸ™‚
    If Adam shook his finger at you, you would be too!

  26. Patty,
    I thought you were fearless!!!

  27. I am more apt to be “mean” when face to face πŸ˜‰

  28. Patty,
    I bet there isn’t a mean bone in your body.

  29. shhh dont tell anyone!

  30. Sorry we missed you Adam– this would be North Carolina Barb, daughters Becky and Julia– and a family friend Pam-

    I met them today– aside from being genuinely nice people, they are all beautiful– a very enjoyable time–

    thanks Barb, Becky, Julia, and Pam– next time make it a full day with an overniter here at my house– so we can do some fun things!!!

    LOL to the Susan column– I think I am alone there!

    I love your pictures– funny thing is I just bought some plants which have purple flowers for the yard– thanks for taking a shot of the deer with the camera lens and not a rifle…. πŸ˜€

    the one picture of the right looks like my blue hibiscus– why do they call it blue when it is purple? hmmm!!!!

  31. KC—

    lol to your “victory garden.” Mine goes by “survival garden” and if what I plant survives, it becomes a “victory garden.” You too? πŸ˜€

  32. Good Morning All,
    So far the only things planted in our garden are radishes and the re-occuring chives. Too early here to plant most stuff. The deer can’t get to the veggies because they are planted inside the pool fence, but the rabbits, chipmunks, etc can have a buffet.
    Going to be 68 degrees here today but rain is expected.

  33. ‘morning.

    enjoy the warmth Sylvia, cause what is behind it, isnt warm!! Dang this weather bouncing back and forth is terrible.

  34. We’re having weird weather too. On Saturday we kept getting hail stones, they sunny and warm, then more hail, then sunny etc… So weird.

  35. that is weird Max! you get hail often there?

  36. FL Sunshine Says:

    How is everyone fairing up North? Wow!

  37. FL Sunshine Says:

    Adam – looks like a beautiful park!!

  38. Patty,
    I just heard on FNC that your governor ow back taxes due to mistakes. This came out during her hearings to be in Obama’s cabinet.
    Another tax dodger in the Obama administration. LOL

  39. FL Sunshine Says:

    Sylvia – isn’t it ironic how they don’t want to pay THEIR taxes but sure want to tax the heck out of us!

  40. FL…..I’d say it’s disgusting.

    How you doing?

  41. FL Sunshine Says:

    doing well – thanks! It’s been very dry here the past few months (as usual) and fire threats are high (and have had a few) but we have had some rain bands come across the state the last few days. πŸ™‚

  42. We’re suppose to get rain tonight and tomorrow. It’s been fairly pleasant for March. In upper 60’s today and suppose to go to 60’s again tomorrow.
    It just started raining now…light rain for now.

  43. susie, susie

    come out, come out, wherever you are~

    i left you a couple of posts on the border thread~ πŸ˜€

    thanks for the fun

  44. Hey to you Sunshine~

    xxxx

  45. and hey to you Adam!

  46. Patty and Sylvia—

    sooo sad your weather sucks– but be blessed you were not in North Dakota a few days ago… LOL

  47. Obama?

    I WOULD be so happy if that Pelosi aka Queen would just be adieu~
    She is the worse individual I would want to met as I would just slap her fake face-

    How much money does this lady have from serving as a sincere hypocrite towards really caring about this Nation?

    I just want to back hand her real bad! She is an older woman who somehow got to her very powerful position, which I wish someone would just yank it away,

    Her make-up is nothing but a rogue!

    She will get hers– not sure when– but it will happen!

    xxx

  48. so all of you presently present— don’t fret–

    You all are good but about 100 years down the road? Quien sabe?

    — so encourage all to keep the families down–

    Less supply=less demand~

    Not too hard on how to be frivolous!

    Water is in demand— electricity is in demand–

    Way tooooooooo many people on this small planet of ours!

    this is the time to be careful and conscious of our environment! πŸ˜€

    to save the future!

  49. Susan,
    Don’t worry about me adding to the population…..I’m too damn old…..but I wouldn’t mind having a grandchild!!!!

  50. Today is April Fools Day. Be careful……don’t get fooled!!!!

  51. ‘morning all.

    Yes Susan, the weather has sucked, and yes, we don’t have to look far to see others that are worse off.
    They actually had to do hay drops in western KS last weekend. There was no place for the cows to go, and no way to get food to them, so, they dropped the hay from helicopters. Approx 8 buildings, 4 of them schools, (that I have heard of) had the roofs cave in, the drifts were well over 6 ft on those roofs.

    North Dakota is far from out of the woods. So far the ice has been to their advantage. They are really in trouble when that mess decides to thaw.

    Sylvia, yep, I saw that about our Gov. doesnt surprise me a bit! Its almost comical anymore. The more people he appoints, the less deficit there will be! πŸ™‚

    I had F&F on very early this morning, they showed Ob talked at a podium with the Prime Minister. Geeze, his duh, duh, der, moments are really embarrasing! I just want to reach up and slap him to make the “record” continue to play!

    Hi ya Sunshine! Been a while!

  52. Patty,
    Did Obama forget to pack his teleprompter?

  53. It sure appeared that way Sylvia!

  54. KC - Fresno, Ca. Says:

    Max

    Are you anywhere near that protester mess??? They have been showing it all morning on the news. Over 4000 people protesting

  55. KC - Fresno, Ca. Says:

    Good morning everyone

    Weather is perfect here, but hear we are going to get 5 days of rain starting Monday – sure hope so – we need it desperately

  56. g’morning All

    Here’s a little breaking news for you, from The Japan Times, special for today…

    http://search.japantimes.co.jp/cgi-bin/nn20090401f1.html

    ((grin))

  57. KC - Fresno, Ca. Says:

    LDG
    That was a good one. I myself wear only Obsession to bed, so I guess I had better hide an almost empty bottle in the walls, in case I become famous one day (really laughing here)

  58. Patty: We hardly ever get hail.
    KC: No, other side of town. This side was really nice and peaceful since all the annoying people were over there πŸ˜€

  59. KC - Fresno, Ca. Says:

    Max
    Glad to hear you were nowhere near that mess. Looked pretty scary and crazy to me

  60. Max,
    How about an even trade….you come to the US and Obama stay in England?.

  61. Hey, I’m lik’in the way Sylvia is think’in!!!

  62. KC: Yeah, I would have gone to that area of town to get German food, I guess next week will have to do.
    Sylvia: Sounds good to me! A truely wonderful idea πŸ˜€

  63. Max,
    I’ll even through in Biden, Pelosi, Reid, and Frank….no extra charge. The whole group for you in exchange.

  64. Max Kon Says:

    Sylvia: Do you really think that’s a fair deal? At least include Dodd as well πŸ˜›

  65. Max,
    Didn’t mean to insult you…will throw in Dodd too!!!
    Anyone else I need to add to the package?

  66. On Fox they are telling how proud London is to have Ob there. So does that mean they WOULD keep him?

    Max…am I wrong? When people meet the Queen, are they supposed to touch her? I thought that was a major etiquette no-no.

  67. Hallo everyone. I hope Adam don’t block my comments. First let me introduce my self am #1 huge fan of Tamera AKA hope. trust me I have goggled a lot of her info and it lead to dating Adam housley fox news .Of course I remember seeing you and her in TMZ and I know you from fox news .I had a burning question as a fan .Am sorry its personal but it would mean a lot for my self and Tamera fans blog. Recently Tamera did an interview with essence magazine about her life and she mentioned something that was confusing to me and fans .is it true what she stated about her being single? I also visited ABC family blog on roommates the same question was asked again. But I still love you and I love the way you say Ur name when broadcasting Hollywood fit nation .iiiiiiiiiin Hollywood Adam housley fox news. Sorry bloggers pliz don’t say nasty comments about me i had to ask.

  68. hi adam, i posted a comment yesterday and it was blocked anyways i wanted to apologize for asking that very personal question .Can you state your blog rules to avoid this in the future.

  69. Good Morning All.
    Patty,
    I don’t think the Obama administration bothered to read up on protocal. They already have made some dumb mistakes and will continue to do so until they have someone notify them in advance of foreign protocal.
    Obama gave the Queen a two-handed handshake which I believe is a no-no.

  70. Max Kon Says:

    Sylvia: lol, what about the Clintons?

    Patty: I’m not sure really. I think you might be meant to kiss her hand.

  71. Max,
    Bill Clinton is good for some entertainment and he is now “harmless”.
    Hillary is another matter. I never trusted her and she isn’t as much fun as Bill.
    I’ll throw them both into the package…you drive a hard bargain.
    BTW…..Hillary is the only one in the Obama administration who is close to being a centrist. I thought I would never be able to say that Hillary is a moderate Democrat….turns out she is compared to the others.

  72. ‘morning all.

    Well, the snow we missed lastweekend……is here.
    We are burried this morning and its still coming.
    Hoping the temps will warm quickly, cause there is more coming saturday.

    I learned some of the protocal with the Queen on F&F this morning.
    Didnt have lots of time to watch, I got up a lil late.
    The part I did catch was funny, Brian said something about the ipod gift, and that is was a good thing they gave a USA made product, from China! *LOL*

  73. This should make you feel much better about our Gov! Yikes!
    Although I will say…she’s gonna fit in mighty fine with the rest of this cabinet! 😦

    http://cjonline.com/news/2009-04-01/gop_skeptical_of_sebelius_claim

  74. Adam Housley Says:

    WHEW…..now driving back to LA again! 4 straight weeks of driving to San Diego and border stories. I fall waaaaaaaay behind each time as you guys all know to well! I hope everyone is great and Susan….how could I ever be upset with you! πŸ™‚

    Adam

  75. Travel safe Adam!

    Please, Tell us more about the newly added medals to the winery’s cabinet!!!

  76. Adam–

    gracias πŸ˜‰

    and I can bet you are tired from driving– I was complaining to LDG and KC on the email side about how tired I was from driving and I am ONLY driving into Phoenix– it is not the drive but the traffic I can’t stand–

    I hope you get a few days of foot on the ground!!!! and probably some very needed rest!!!

    #1 fan– I didn’t know there were blog rules? πŸ˜€

  77. rules? oh crap, does that mean we have to start all over? *L*
    Susan and I are really going to be in a tizzy if thats the case! πŸ™‚

  78. Rules??? Nobody told me about rules.

  79. Patty,
    You got snow? It is 72 here but suppose to get nasty tomorrow. Next Monday it’s suppose to be high of 45…and it’s Opening Day for the Reds. Nothing like a baseball game when it’s 45 and windy. And did I mention there is a big Reds parade downtown prior to the game?
    Baseball season starts too early and lasts too long. Weather is too unpredictable in early April and in late Sept-early Oct.

  80. We had 6 inches of snow this morning, and its gone already! *L*
    Supposed to be 60 tomrrow and snow again saturday night.
    This is the craziest spring I remember!!

  81. Patty,
    Send an e-mail to Al Gore. He can explain your 6 inches of snow in April.

  82. Boy Sylvia is on a roll– she sure had some funny posts today– πŸ˜€

    Patty and KC– Let me know when the rules post~

    xxx

  83. Max–

    You too– Adam will probably have you write the rules–

  84. Can I be on the rules committee?

    And Good Morning to All.

  85. ‘morning everyone. Sun is shinning! YEAH!

  86. *clearing throat*
    Beware…Patty likes to break the rules. πŸ˜‰

  87. That’s what rules are for…to be broken!

  88. Max Kon Says:

    Patty: Anyone designing the rules will take that into consideration. For example: No one shall issue death threats (The opposite applies to Patty).

    See what I did there? πŸ˜›

  89. Max,
    No one shall go off topic…LOL

  90. KC - Fresno, Ca. Says:

    Good morning everyone and Happy Friday – YIPEE

    The first rule must be:
    WE MUST DIGRESS IMMEDIATELY ON ANY AND ALL TOPICS

  91. KC….I think we do that now!!!!
    Happy Friday to you too.

  92. KC - Fresno, Ca. Says:

    Sylvia
    That will be a easy rule never to break – LOL

  93. KC - Fresno, Ca. Says:

    Patty
    Glad to hear you have sun today. You really are having a crazy spring!!! From snow to sun then back and forth. Must drive you nuts

  94. Adam Housley Says:

    Have there ever been rules?? I am heading to nor cal for an amazing story that will air on Tuesday of next week. Keep your fingers crossed mother nature cooperates. In the meantime, when I got home yesterday from San Diego and some work in the office, I finally finished a video that I have been meaning to post for some time. Take a look at the new post!

    Adam

Leave a Reply

