Picture of the Week

We got away from this for a while, so now we are back to it. Every week and on no particular day, I will post a pic and you gotta figure, who, what, where, why, when and what story. Of course you can also post the normal conversations and stuff on this same thread. So….without further wait. HERE IT IS……YOU KNOW THE DRILL.

dsc_0998_2

182 Responses to “Picture of the Week”

  1. KC - Fresno, Ca. Says:

    It is the straw you use in your wooden crates when you pack your wine orders for shipment!!!

  2. As usual…I’m clueless.

    It looks like some broken wood mixed with straw.

  3. Hi KC.

  4. KC - Fresno, Ca. Says:

    Hi Sylvia
    I’m with you when it comes to this – Don’t have a clue with this stuff and I am the first to admit – I’m not the brightest bulb in the box!!!

  5. KC,

    Bright bulbs waste energy…..conservation is a good thing.

  6. KC - Fresno, Ca. Says:

    Sylvia
    Well, then I guess that is better than being one sandwich short of a picnic!!!

  7. KC,

    I agree.

  8. A POD!!!

    Adam, hubby says its a rusty stove pipe from the heaters that you use to keep the vines from being frozen at the vinyard!

    he’s pretty good at this, his guesses are as wild as some we’ve made! *LOL*

  9. adam is it out in the boonies like that one pic you had of the tank track.
    geeeze, i need a memory like susans!!!

    and since jen s isnt here……i gotta say it………..its on lake erie!!!!

    cheers! I’m off to do a few christmas cards šŸ˜‰

  10. well, it looks like my counter as i was wrapping gifts….stuff everywhere!

  11. Is it the firewood in the house you stayed at in Ireland?

  12. oh crap– Adam would put up a picture—

    my first guess as it has always been–

    Kuwait

    Adam’s Christmas tree?

  13. Cali’s stable?

  14. Eastern or Western Hemisphere?

  15. Susan…welcome back!!!!

  16. K2,

    I posted the Lasagna Recipe on the previous thread.

  17. Adam,

    Why has your blog on FNC been taken down? Are you redoing it or is over completely?

  18. KC ~ Your guess is close to what mine would be… I was going to say that the picture is from Adam’s family’s vineyard. Maybe a broken fence…
    I don’t know…I am not good at guessing these… the only one I was right on was the POD from Masada… many months ago!
    Hi Susan!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Patty ~ hilarious Lake Erie!

  19. Sylvia… Thank you.

  20. *sliding iiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiinnnnnnnnnnnnn*

    phew. brakes are definitely not going to work today! it was just a lil tricky getting out of our lane this am, but i made it. šŸ˜‰
    approx. 1/4 inch of ice on top of the snow from the other day. Hopefully it warms to almost 30 today like it is supposed to.
    our road crew guys were out all night. The front ends would drag them to the ditch going forward because of the heavy plows on the front. They had a hell of a time…..the trucks cant get any traction. Some of them actually backed their huge trucks about 20+ miles just to get the sand/salt down on the road.
    And then…there’s my job today. Ive had about a doz phone calls already of people telling me their road is slick. DUH!!!!! argh. Gotta love public service. ha

    Sounds like some of you are buried under lots of snow today!
    Stay safe !!!

  21. Patty,
    It’s 59 and raining. The temp is suppose to drop and get quite cold again. This is just a 1 day warm up.

    Stay safe. Are you wearing those yaktrax things?

  22. K2,
    Hope you like the lasagna.

  23. yep, i wore my trax to work.

  24. Just saw on the weather report that our temp of 59 right now will plummit and we will have a high of 38 tomorrow and in the 20’s Sunday….with a low of 10 on Sunday. This is insane!!!

  25. the view from my office door.

    h
    ttp://www.kodakgallery.com/ShareLanding.action?c=5i5islt.6nx4i61d&x=0&y=jzdczu&localeid=en_US

    link is disabled

  26. It is insane Sylvia. Wanna go south? *L*
    Our forecast sat night is -2, high on sunday to be 5. All while the wind blows 25+mph.yikes!
    I hope this gets it out of its system before so many families start traveling next week!!!
    Im thinking this weekend hot cider while wrapping presents is a good thing!

  27. KC - Fresno, Ca. Says:

    Good morning all and happy Friday

    Sure sorry to hear you guys are having such crappy weather. We are still patiently waiting for some rain – no luck yet. You all are welcome to come visit us – we have plenty of room!!!

    Becky – that was the only thing I could think of. Adam-winery-my favorite subject

    Susan – Adam sure knows how to get you back on this blog doesn’t he (laughing)- happy to see your posts.

  28. not sure that link worked.

  29. http:

    //www.kodakgallery.com/ShareLanding.action?c=5i5islt.6nx4i61d&x=0&y=jzdczu&localeid=en_US

  30. KC - Fresno, Ca. Says:

    Patty
    couldn’t get the first link to work so I will try the one you just posted.

    Sylvia
    I still get Adam’s on the scene blog at Fox News – so I don’t know where it went on your end

  31. Patty ~ the link worked!

  32. Patty
    That brings back memories from my days of growing up in Michigan. Walking in a parking lot that is totally iced over with car ruts and footprints in is not my favorite thing. I was always sure that I would slip and fall and hurt myself.

  33. I park as close the the buidling as possible, there is about 8-10 foot length that i walk. The guys know that if i pull up and its not “walkable”….i’ll go back home! *LOL*
    Just a bit spoiled šŸ˜‰
    I figure with a 100k spine…i get to be choosey!

  34. morning–

    yes, Adam knows how to get to me–

    I was under a lot of pressure so I am sorry I was sooooo abrasive… but I was so overwhelmed and it just seemed to be non-stop!!! Plus I am pissed off about having to do Christmas Eve for the ingrates as their excuse for these people who don’t want to have it at their house is: “I don’t feel like it” and it is not fair Ken’s sister gets stuck with the holidays all the time and me as well… Plus, I was taking my neighbor’s kids to school which was just supposed to be temporary and it turned out to be four and a half months… today was the last day as the Christmas break starts.. I just got sick of people using me and I blew up…. unfortunately I MADE you all my victims and I do apologize!!!!! And I had a bad back for about ten days and then the flu so I was rundown and needless to say an a**hole– sooooo sorry!

    back to the POD–

    Anything to do with the tsunami in Thailand?

    Adam– give us a clue!!!!

    xxxxxx

  35. POD

    anything to do with weapons?

  36. Oh and if anyone is in this area Christmas Day, come on over– Christmas Day is going to be fun here-

    It is Christmas Eve I am trying to get a good attitude about– grrrr! If there is something I can not stand are ingrates!!!! Ken has one niece who if she comes over and starts her chara, I am afraid I will go off on her– LOL

    But the house looks cool– very festive and colorful! Even the cats are nice enough not to knock the trees down as I have three up! šŸ˜€

  37. KC - Fresno, Ca. Says:

    SUSAN

    WELCOME HOME

  38. POD guess….. fireplace or firepit

  39. Susan: I keep trying to get out, but they keep pulling me back in.

  40. Adam Housley Says:

    Lets see…a clue…..well, since none of you have one. At any time for that matter! Susan..it will take me a few days to forgive by the way. Max is much nicer than I am. šŸ™‚

    Well I loved the smudge pot guess by Patty’s hubby…pretty darn good and it looks very close, but not right.

    It seems like you guys have hit a bit of a barrier.

  41. Hmmm….. smth brown šŸ˜€

  42. Adam,
    Did you just say we are all clueless all the time???? LOL

    I’m not even a blonde!!!!!!

  43. Our 65 degree weather yesterday has dropped to 28 this morning and is still going down. It will be a high of 22 tomorrow with a low of 7.

    I think Mother Nature is PMSing!!!!

  44. “Did you just say we are all clueless all the time????”

    ((nodnod))
    I haz teh dumb 2day.

    Hope All are well. Enjoy the POD!

  45. @Adam—

    Bilbe says to forgive– šŸ˜€

    Max– hugs-

    ice on the grass this morning- it must have been cold last night– I slept through it and slept in- yay!

    POD again

    anything to do with dynamite?

  46. POD…
    Is it part of the aftermath from the fires last month? The one in front looks like it had burned.

  47. Does the POD have anything to do with the vineyards?

    Nice clue you left us, ADAM!!!!!!! GRRR!

    OMG– TALK ABOUT FUNNY! My one cat was sitting in the kitchen sink– I think to look out the window —-

    have a good day @ all… off to spend more money!

  48. I tried enlarging the picture with no results– grrr! looks like straw, concrete and a bin of some sort behind the straw-

    fires is a good guess-

  49. Susan,
    Are you on a mission to save the economy?
    I’ve done my best to help Macys.

  50. adam! i’ll tell hubby!
    geeze, i hope he bought his own puter for Christmas, if he gets into the pod’s im not sharing this puter!!

    “barrier” hu?
    Wow……….. One of Chavez’s gates to the city? šŸ™‚

    I like the fire guess too.

  51. I did my share through Amazon!
    Milton bradley should love me by now! *L*

  52. POD…to me that edge looks more like a broken weld than a burn.

  53. Barrier huh? … part of the fence at the border?

    Becky and I were talking and maybe because it is Christmas and Hanukkah is it from Israel

  54. ah good thought barb!

  55. off subject…but wanted to share our forcast tonight and tomorrow….
    WINDS WILL COMBINE WITH THE VERY COLD
    TEMPS TO PRODUCE WIND CHILLS OF 15 TO 20 DEGREES BELOW ZERO.

    so, you in the warmer areas……enjoy! šŸ™‚

  56. Patty,

    Weather report here now says high of 22 and low 7 tomorrow; high of 18 and low 13 on Monday.

    I don’t know what the wind chill will be. I may not want to know the wind chill or I wouldn’t leave the house. The first day of winter is tomorrow I believe, so that means spring is on the way!!!!

  57. Could the POD be the debris that blew from Kansas to Ohio the last time we had gusty winds? Maybe I should look for Toto.

  58. *LOL* Sylvia!!!

  59. Sylvia… that is funny. Happy Hanukkah to you also.

  60. Adam Housley Says:

    OK……it is freaking cold here in nor cal. I do love to see the seasons change and enjoy the stunning beauty and clean air.

    HINT……two of you are onto something. But which ones?

  61. Sylvia–

    I don’t shop at Macy’s–

    First of all you have to have the Macy’s look- I have been shopping with my slippers on when I go to the stores… they are very comfortable and very warm… I wear my jeans and I never wear make-up! I look like crap– Macy’s would throw me out for vagrancy look! šŸ˜€ (you can always bring me in as your guest) hugs!

    And you are so funny!

    Adam–

    frigging cold here too– trying to keep my ferals warm!!! šŸ˜€

    I see the climate change and even when the climate changes, you always wonder what will be affected! šŸ˜€

    And I see Wendy Murphy, legal, now on Fox– I always was hoping she would switch over from CNN to Fox and now I see her… yay!

    And Glenn Beck is on Fox as in January… yay!

    Now if we could get Lou Dobbs and Anderson Cooper over to Fox, I would never watch CNN!!!

    (My Christmas wish list) šŸ˜€

    POD–

    Adam’s pit for a BBQ?

    (and we are all invited).

  62. POD—

    Barb got it??? Fire?

  63. and Adam?

    will you be the anchor guy now in New York since O’Reilly has been in DC lately… well, before he took his Christmas break?

    What is going on with FOX?

    I sure would love to have you as an anchor guy… Don’t forget to take all the calls and read your emails as anchor guy… Wink– me calling and emailing you!! (GRIN)

    xxxx

  64. Patty–

    your weather sucks—

    keep the animals warm as well as yourselves!

    Maybe think about AZ?

    besos

  65. Adam: I am very forgiving. It’s all like water off a duck’s back.
    The thing i dislike most though is when someone promises something, so i rely on them to bring it, and they don’t, so plans fall through.

  66. Good Morning from cold, windy Cincinnati. Wind chill is suppose to be ZERO today.
    We have an open house to attend this afternoon. Our friends’ daughter and son-in-law are visiting from England (Leceister…not sure of the spelling) and we haven’t seen them since their wedding a year ago. Their daughter is our daughter’s best friend from way back….kindergarten. Just wish it was a little warmer…..I hate going out in frigid weather.

  67. Susan,
    I don’t know about the Macy’s look…I always wear jeans…..no slippers though….
    I have to admit I always wear makeup….don’t want to scare anyone!!!

    Just heard the local weather…..MINUS TEN wind chill by tonight. UGH.

  68. Morning everyone!
    The weather is finally nice here! The sun finally came out…which I am thankful for!
    Susan ~ has the weather been nice for you?

    Okay, the POD… if my mom and I are the ones thinking correctly then I am going to go with Bethlehem for the Israel guess and AZ for the border guess!

  69. Adam Housley Says:

    Everyone-

    Not many guesses since I left my last hint. HMM….Also, Susan, you were partly right. I am headed to NY on the 30th and am anchoring for Hemmer, who is on a needed vacation. I am doing his two-hour slot on the 31st, 1st and 2nd. SO…..that means you guys have to watch and give me honest feedback.

    Adam

  70. Adam,

    Is Hemmer coming to Cincinnati to visit his relatives? He grew up here and got his start at the local station.
    He should bring you some Graeter’s ice cream, Esther Price candy, and Skyline chili. That’s our local favorites.

  71. “Honest” feedback from us adam?

    errrrrr ya ok.

    *wickedly laughing like the wicked witch*

    ahhhhhhh haaaahaahhaaaa

  72. @Adam Housley

    Hey now, nothing too bad about a New Year’s assignment in the Big Apple, and one where you get anchor time as well. Bravo!

    (Note to self: grab Hemmer’s 2 hour slot on FNC at least one of those days)

    ***
    re: POD

    Based on other’s hints and a bit of blue sky:
    I’ll go with AZ border stories… say the last time our good host was down there and saw the border running through tribal land… construction materials maybe?

  73. Adam ~ That’s cool that you are going to be filling in for Hemmerlicious (Janice Dean gave him that nickname…it fits!) šŸ™‚
    It will be fun to watch you those three days.
    Patty ~ LOL šŸ˜€

  74. Becky,

    Does Janice Dean have a nickname for Adam?

  75. Sylvia ~ I don’t know… I will have to find out!

  76. ‘morning all.
    what a cruddy day/weekend, going to be week.
    It wouldn’t take much for the wrong complaining phone call to put me over the edge today!!
    grrrrrrrrrr bahhhh humbug!
    Our home phone rang all weekend. Because people know that we both work for County and hubby drives the motorgrader. They are all pissed cause their roads are slick. duh! its covered with ice. Stay home! They seem to forget that every time Pat goes out, he puts his life at risk, and I would really like him to come back home eventually! He spent 4 hrs saturday working 5 miles of road, trying to get the milk truck into a dairy. That’s fine and well, until you sit back and think about how many rock miles we have in the county! argh!
    In-grateful people!
    ok, that’s my rant for today šŸ˜‰

  77. Patty ~ nice rant!

  78. Patty… how funny, reminds me of the days that I worked as a gate agent at the airport and we would have some weather “event” like fog or snow and people would want to know why the plane was late. DUH!!

  79. I love my job, until times like this.
    People forget that its not all about them. One commissioner had to actually take the school super out yesterday to prove to him that the busses had no business tyring to run this morning. geeeze. They finally cancelled school about 8 pm lastnight. Its like the street in front of his house in town is ok, so then all the rural roads should be too. Rock roads have a mind of their own when there is ice involved and there just isn’t anything you can do to help them. People just never cease to amaze me.

    **Adam…i saw where you are back in LA. I was in hopes you got to spend the “whole” holiday at home in Napa. God knows you deserve it!
    You do know that I was kidding on the “review” didn’t ya? Got one suggestion, wear the dark suit coats šŸ™‚
    (and for God’s sake and ours, don’t ever wear that angle stripped blue tie, with the diagonal stripped yellow shirt together like, crap, i forgot his name, the older guy…anyway…don’t do it! šŸ™‚ ) ha
    So what time of day is this 2 hr spot? remember, some of us aren’t home to see day time tv!

  80. Barb, yep, our daughter “loved” those days at the airport!

  81. KC - Fresno, Ca. Says:

    Good morning everyone

    Patty – loved your rant – we all need to do that once in a while to keep our sanity.
    American Newsroom in California is on every morning from 6:00am to 8:00am. Wonder if Megyn Kelly will be with Adam or if she is taking off also. Hemmer and Kelly are hosting the New Years Eve celebration at Times Square this year so that should be entertaining.

  82. morning to all—

    Happy Chritmas to all–

    @Adam-

    I WILL be watching you on those three days– do you want feedback on your ties as well? Please don’t wear anything that has a pink color look– I can’t stand the color pink in a tie… šŸ˜€

    Have fun and I bet you will get calls about you staying…. (Hemmer- you snooze, you lose…)

    And to all– have a great holiday!!!!

  83. Patty,

    Ranting is good for the body and mind. Releases all the negative energy and thoughts. That’s my excuse….or rationalization…..whichever!!!

  84. Patty,
    I don’t like striped ties with striped shirts either…too much going on…I like simple (yes, I know, I’m a simple person). Anyway, either the tie OR the shirt should be striped.

  85. šŸ™‚

    ah, its on right after i leave for work then. I’ll be able to watch the 1st and the 2nd.

  86. Adam,

    Warning…..

    If you disagree with Megyn Kelly she’ll throw her legal knowledge at you and steadfastly refuse to give in. She’s the only person I’ve ever seen stand up to O’Reilly and get the last word in.

  87. I love watching her do that to O’reilly!

  88. So do I.

  89. Watching fox and see steve centani out there in Hawaii with Obama… everyone at fox must envy him lol

  90. KC - Fresno, Ca. Says:

    Adam
    I am still on the packing boxes using straw material so how about the story you did on the California Avacado. These are the shipping crates they use to get the avacado’s ready for shipment. I know my eyes are very old, but if I stare at the picture long enough it looks like someone is standing behind the boxes.

  91. hu KC, you drinkin the vino again? *L*

  92. POD…an obsolete rail road track

  93. maybe scrap wood from the avacado farm?

  94. Morning all!

  95. ‘morning all

  96. This is cool.
    Horton KS is one of those “blink through” towns, if you blink, you will miss it!!!

    http
    ://cjonline.com/stories/122308/kan_370390919.shtml

  97. KC - Fresno, Ca. Says:

    Adam
    good report this morning and what a wonderful donation to the Phoenix police department. Hopefully, they will now be better equipped to fight the drug problems there.

  98. KC - Fresno, Ca. Says:

    Good morning everyone

    Patty
    LOL – I said it was my old eyes, not the vino. I should have looked again during dinner after a few glasses to see if that person is still there!!!!

    Max – I see we were both on the avacado page

  99. Patty ~ that’s a cool story!

  100. Adam Housley Says:

    MAN…you guys have enjoyed some holiday vino the last few hours! LOL
    OK…so no striped shirts and ties and no pink because Susan will leave again. WOW…I got to get myself together.

    By the way, Hemmer is a great guy and he has already offered to help.

    Adam

  101. Adam ~ No holiday vino enjoyed here yet! šŸ™‚ (still at work)
    That’s good Hemmer is going to help you out… he seems to be a great guy.
    So, can we get another hint on the picture??????? šŸ™‚

  102. Adam…no vino here.
    I dont drink šŸ™‚
    My mind is always nuts! Its from past vino…probably boonesfarm! *L*

  103. Did you guys start the party without me???
    We just got a gift of Harry and David fruit, cheese, candy and lemon cake. Should go well with some vino. Trouble is one glass and I get dizzy. Yeah, I know, I’m a cheap date!!!!

  104. Adam,

    Tell Hemmer to bring you some of those Cincinnati specialities….he gets back here so no excuse!!!!.

    I remember when he was the very young sports reporter for the local TV station here….I believe it was the ABC affiliate.

  105. woo hoo! its a balmy 33 degrees !!!
    now where’s the sun?

  106. Sylvia ~ I am the same way with a drink!

    Patty ~ It’s 33 degrees here too but, we have sun.

  107. KC - Fresno, Ca. Says:

    Patty

    Would love to send you some of our warmth and sun!!!!

  108. Its amazing what no sun does to a human, after so many days you cant hardly drag yourself around.
    Im not sure the last we saw it, was last week sometime.
    And more winter storm stuff forecasted. Hopefully it is getting all of it out of its system and from Jan to Mar we can be spared! Wishful thinking. I fell so sorry for those stuck in airports. But I guess its all in what you make of it. Attitude is everything šŸ˜‰

    We have a couple of the grandkids tonight, tomorrow and possibly Christmas day. Then the whole crowd is coming for all weekend. Dont know how much free time I might find. I might just blow up tho if they dont let me stop a bit to check in! haha. If i dont make it back.

    I wish all of you a peaceful holiday, however you spend the time. Merry Christmas to those that celebrate it. And Happy Hanukkah (sp?) to Sylvia and Avi.

  109. It’s 31 here…no sun. Occasional sleet.

    Tomorrow is suppose to be 54 and rain. Then back to the 30’s. it’s a weather yoyo.

  110. Thanks Patty. Merry Christmas to you and all the others here who celebrate it.

    Chanukah has many spellings….the one you used is one of them. I think translating from Hebrew to English leaves room for various spellings. Avi would probably be more knowledgeable about that than I am.

    And Happy Chanukah to Avi ……tonight is the 3rd night.

  111. Hubby just came in and said it is getting icy out….wish I had ordered those trax things you told us about. I am not very graceful on ice.

  112. I’m not even very graceful without ice!!!!

  113. Sylvia, its never too late šŸ˜‰

    Im not sure if walmart or one of those places carries them. Im still wearing mine!

  114. KC - Fresno, Ca. Says:

    Sylvia – you are sooo funny

    I also wish every one a Very Merry Christmas and also a Happy Chanukah

    Wonder if Adam and Tamera are going to spend Christmas with family before he heads to New York next week

  115. KC - Fresno, Ca. Says:

    Patty
    still waiting for a picture of those things – never know we may need them around here some year in the future

  116. KC…i think its the link at my post way up there…
    December 19, 2008 at 7:06 am

  117. if those in Cali needs those for ice……we are all in trouble! *L*

  118. KC - Fresno, Ca. Says:

    Happy Dance here
    Our gardner just brought us a good size package of homemade tamales and a beautiful desert. Guess what we are having for dinner tonight (yipeeee)

    Honey (KC’s hubby), I know you are in here all day reading all the comments from everyone, so I promise you, I will not eat a thing until you get home this evening. The package is really really warm sweetie, but I won’t open it and sample.

  119. KC,

    Enjoy your dinner.

    Patty is right…if you need those trax things to walk around in California then I will know the Ice Age has returned…..forget about global warming.

  120. Ice Age…I love that movie!!! šŸ˜‰

  121. Speaking of Ice Age, my neighbor sent me an e-mail saying it’s slippery out and driving is bad. I told her I was hibernating and reading until the big thaw. Fortunately it’s suppose to warm up tomorrow before Larry has to leave for work. He has a 45 minute drive in good weather with no traffic. I wouldn’t want him to have to deal with ice.

    Going to get some sleep here….been up since 5.

  122. @All

    Report from Far Asia:

    It is, in fact, beginning to look a lot like Christmas.
    ((grin))

    However you celebrate the mid-winter, may you and yours have a most wonderful time.

  123. Sylvia and Avi ~ Happy Hanukkah!
    And everyone else Merry Christmas… Happy Holidays!

  124. Good Morning and Merry Christmas, Happy Chanukah, and Happy Whatever You Celebrate.

    Our ice has turned to rain with the help of 50 degree temps this morning. It’s almost tropical here today. Dare I say spring is around the corner?
    I know, it’s a LARGE corner….but I’m thinking spring. Green grass, a lot of rain, and 50’s…..that’s my kind of winter (well, a little sun would make it better).
    Hope the arctic conditions have gone away for the rest of you living in the snow belt.

  125. Sylvia ~ I am with you on the Spring is around the corner! It warmed up here today but, I think it’s going to get colder later on this weekend.

  126. Nice try Sylvia, I think you are pushing spring a bit! *L*

    ‘morning all.

    2 news inches of snow over night…and burr still 18 here, 3 windchill. But improving, friday is to be 45.

  127. Patty,
    You can keep the snow…I prefer the rain we are having.
    I may need to build an ark if it doesn’t stop soon.

  128. Patty ~ That’s really cold! Although I would love to have a white Christmas I don’t think that will ever happen here in Charlotte.

  129. @ all-

    A very nice time for all~ in which ever way you decide to do it~ if at all!

    @LDG– I hear Japan is like in big time recession?

    @KC– My type of dinner………. I thought about you last night when I drank two bottles of wine……. all by my lonesome……… and I was behaving…….. I THINK??????? (I was doing self medication so I don’t go off on anyone tonight– Ken’s ingrate, selfish, worthless family) I was able to self med myself with all my anger and release it by saying– I don’t give a chara!!!!!!!!! šŸ˜€

    Bad hangover today— and I have to cook!!!!!

    Adam– Merry whatever!!!! And don’t forget my wine you are going to send me … for just because!

    xoxoxoxo

  130. Oh KC ~ how were the tamales?

  131. POD?

    hmmmm?

    My brain after a vino night?

  132. Susan,

    If I drank 2 bottles of wine I would be dead…..2 glasses and I’m blitzed….1 glass and I’m dizzy.

  133. Becky—

    thanks for the card!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I just checked my mail yesterday~ it had been about two days–

    xxxx

  134. Susan ~ I hope you get to feeling better later on today! šŸ™‚

    Adam ~ How about a holiday present for all of us… another clue on the POD?! šŸ™‚

  135. Susan ~ you are welcome!

  136. Susan,

    How can you survive your crowd if you’re “sick”? Maybe an excuse to cancel.

  137. Sylvia-

    Let science speak for itself– you said you would be dead after two bottles and I am alive after two bottles……… šŸ˜€ and ready to go………….

    And for the record… first glass, I am like getting a buzz and two bottles later, I know I have a buzz!!!!!!!!!

    I drink not often— but when there is a good reason, I will! Part of my disorder~ addictive personality….

    Now you know!

    xxxxxx

  138. Here’s a miracle story for the season!
    Chase’s dad works at one of our vendors, so we’ve watched this story from the start.
    They have so many things to be thankful for this Christmas, and many to come!
    We were surprised that the story went “national”.
    What an amazing young man!

    http:
    //sports.espn.go.com:80/espn/wire?section=trackandfield&id=3790290

  139. Susan, you are funny!

  140. KC - Fresno, Ca. Says:

    Good morning everyone and Happy Christmas Eve day. I keep checking the NORAD link to see where Santa is now. Last I checked he was headed to Russia. That is really a cool sight for kids who are waiting for santa to arrive at their homes.

    LDG – I guess it is Christmas Morning where you are now. To you, Princess Foxy and all of the mews – have a wonderful day.

    Becky and Sylvia – the tamales were GREAT – Last Christmas when the gardner delivered some to us – I had never had or tasted a tamale before. Of course, being a blonde, I thought they were like a burrito, so I started eating one to see what they tasted like. Thank God for hubby – once he stopped laughing at me trying to eat that thing, he informed me that I had to peel off the corn husk and then eat the insides. He is still laughing about that one year later. At least I remembered how to eat them last night.

    Susan – Love you – take 2 advil and I guarantee you will feel way better in about 1 hour. Trust me – lots of experience on that one!!!!

    Patty – ya having fun with the grandkids?????

  141. KC,
    I never had a tamale….I wouldn’t have known about the corn husk either.

  142. Patty had to work today ;-(

  143. Patty should have brought some Chrisitmas “spirit” to work. It seems to have helped Susan!!!

  144. Sylvia…ha, its not allowed on the property šŸ˜‰
    Darn rules, they always take all the fun out of things!

  145. Patty,

    Years ago when I was a social worker at the county hospital one of our secretaries was always in a happy mood. One day she let us is in on her secret to happiness.

    A bottle of spirits was in her desk drawer!!!

  146. A quick stop by to wish all a very Merry Christmas or Happy Chanukah.

    Enjoy, stay safe, and have FUN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  147. K2

    Merry Christmas to you and your family.

  148. You too K2!!!

    Sylvia..years ago, before i was here. They used to have the County Christmas Party here. Seems one night the guys got a little too spirited and went out and wrecked a county pickup. Needless to say, there have been no more county parties here.
    After we started… we would have a summer party at the pond. But now that the laws are changed and if something happens where alcohol is involved, it could fall back on the land owner, we’ve quit having them. The last pond party was Kat’s bday party she had.

  149. KC - Fresno, Ca. Says:

    Patty
    What!!! No egg nog at the office today???? BUMMER

    K2 – My wishes to you and yours for a Merry Christmas. Did you figure what vegetarian dishes to make for the son’s girlfriend???

    Sylvia – I don’t feel so bad now about not knowing how to eat a tamale.

  150. KC,

    I do go to Mexican restaurants but never ordered a tamale….what exactly is in it?

  151. Oh and we sit within city limits, city ordinance says no alcohol on public property. (but that could depend on what last name you have too!)

  152. KC..cute tamale story! Ive never had one either, but knew what they were. You and your hubby have such fun stories!

  153. Patty,

    You have very strict rules there. No alcohol on public property?????

    You must not have any professional sports teams there!!!!

  154. growing up…our town of 2200-2500 …had 5 liquor stores and 4 churches and 95% catholic! *L* Its strict for appearances only. Typical small town hypocrites.
    šŸ™‚ But I wouldn’t leave for anything. I love it here. When you need them, the hypo’s do what needs to be done… to help whoever needs it.

  155. KC - Fresno, Ca. Says:

    Sylvia
    Don’t have a clue what is in them and I probably do not want to know. I do know these were chicken tamales, not real spicy, and quite tasty. My hubby loves hot – so he used about 1/2 bottle of tabasco sauce on his. He only ate 5 of them so I must assume he really enjoyed them!!

    Any bloggers out there know what are in tamales??

  156. KC - Fresno, Ca. Says:

    Patty
    Are you in one of those states where you cannot buy alcohol on the weekends? I think I heard somewhere there are states like that and that there were states that are dry where you cannot buy alcohol anywhere or at anytime.

  157. Patty,

    Wow….that is small. We live in a “village” on the border of Cincy. It is mostly residential (except for 4 Jewish temples, a community center, and 1 commercial building which is used by some lab). We have our own police/fire, mayor, and council. There is also alot of green space, including a park. Deer are everywhere…..including our yard, eating whatever they want.
    Since we are a 5 minute drive to “civilization”…..10 minutes to Macy’s and Kroger’s…I feel like I live in the burbs with the ammenities of a city. I don’t know if I could get used to living in a small town.

  158. KC…we cant buy on Sunday.

  159. KC,

    We can’t buy alcohol on Sundays until after 1 PM. We have state liquor stores, some of which are inside many Krogers stores. The state stores are closed on Sundays, but you can buy wine and beer after 1.
    The original “blue laws forbade any alcohol selling on Sundays, but they lightened up in recent years.

  160. There are a few counties that are still “dry”. No alcohol at all in them.

    We are 30 miles from a walmart on either side of us. Thats the next towns similar to our size. We are atleast 75 miles from the state capital, Topeka. That would be the “city” to us.

  161. KC - Fresno, Ca. Says:

    Man, you guys are like in the “boonies” – Can’t imagine that living here where we do. I think, however, it would be mighty peaceful not to be in the center of all of the hub-bub. Think I just may be a bit jealous of your serene quietness. Of course, I love our weather compared to yours, so maybe that is the trade-off

  162. KC,
    Do you have any green space around your house? We are zoned 1 acre minimum for lots, and the park backs up to our subdivision. It is pretty quiet around here.

  163. KC - Fresno, Ca. Says:

    Sylvia
    yep – we have a front yard and a back yard (green space) – neighbors on both sides, behind us, and across the street. 1 acre minimum – unheard of – (laughing). Almost all neighborhood homes around here are on 60 x 100 foot lots. People everywhere!!!!! We do, however, have a school about 2 blocks from us and in nice weather, we take Izabella, (our daughter with 4 legs) over there and let her run around like a wild girl. That is about the closest thing we have to a park near us.

  164. KC,
    We have neighbors on both sides of us, across from us, and behind us , but there is a lot of green space. We have large side yards and front yard, and an extremely large back yard. So we see houses but we have enough distance that we have the feel of space and privacy. We are not in the boonies. But I have to admit you have the better weather.

  165. I have the peace and quiet of 70 acres….you have the weather.

  166. Have to make a run to the grocery store before they close. be back in a bit.

  167. KC - Fresno, Ca. Says:

    Santa Update
    Santa just left Japan a little bit ago – Wonder what LDG got in his stocking hung by the chimney with care.
    Hope it was not the infamous lump of coal (grinning)

  168. KC - Fresno, Ca. Says:

    Sylvia and Patty

    Both of your areas sound very peaceful. It has gotta be nice. Have always wanted to live on acreage, without everyone knowing your business, when you come and go, when you have company, etc. etc. After sooooo many years you just get use to it – I guess

  169. maybe santa left LDG a whole bunch of smiley faces!!! šŸ˜‰ šŸ™‚ šŸ™‚ šŸ™‚

  170. KC…just cause we live in the country…believe me, those whole town knows when we come and go and everything in between!!! I think i could hang new curtains and they would notice! ha ha

  171. KC - Fresno, Ca. Says:

    Hubby just called and they are closing the office for the day. He will be home in 18 minutes- yipee

    Wishing all of you a wonderful Christmas Eve and a very Merry Christmas.
    YOU TO ADAM

    Talk to you all Monday – stay safe

  172. Patty,

    I sent you a very funny video. I don’t think I can post it here.

  173. Sylvia..i’ll go take a look

  174. @KC

    It is indeed the morning of the 25th here. We did make nice for Christmas as Foxy (Mrs. LDG) is christianized enough to fully appreciate the day. We did do the stockings from the mantlepiece ((grin)): So besides the regular presents, Foxy got caramel chocolates; the fearsome feline foursome got kitty-toys; and I… heh, I guess I wasn’t good.

    Tamales… oh yum. I do rather miss those.

    Hehheh, I love the NORAD “briefing” on Santa-tracking… “Besides the northern radars which detect the sleigh on take-off, our satallites use infra-red imagers and that lets us track Rudolph’s nose so we can follow Santa as he goes all around the world…”

    @Susan

    Recession? Technically yes, but really naw, just the shadow of you yankees having made a mess of things. Has a terrible effect on the export-sector of the economy. I would not want to be a temp-staff worker right now though, as they are getting laid off. Otherwise things look pretty good here. Food and Fuel prices that went nuts the last year are back in normal ranges. We’ll get worried pretty fast though if exchange rates don’t get back into normal ranges and manufacturing doesn’t pick back up.

    meh, Things will be fine. Just takes a bit of time to get over the bump.

    @Patty

    Hehhehheh.

    Be well and safe All.

  175. Merry Christmas Day LDG…(that is so cool to think we can do that long before it is the day here!!! )

  176. @Patty

    Heh, hang around a week and I’ll tell you how next year looks before it gets to you. ((big grin))

    Merry Christmas

  177. LDG,

    How many hours ahead of eastern time are you?

    And Merry Christmas to you and your family.

  178. @Sylvia

    +14 hours as it is right now. less one when you go on Daylight Savings.

    Thank you; I’ll pass along the greetings. mid-festival that it may be, Happy Hanukkah, time of miracles.

  179. Adam Housley Says:

    EVERYONE-

    New post coming. The answer to the POD is……the border barrier being built near Sasabe Mexico. This area is southwest of Tucson.

    Adam

  180. Becky and I were so close on the POD

  181. Barb…looks to me like you win!!! šŸ˜‰

    Barb Says:
    December 20, 2008 at 12:28 pm
    Barrier huh? ā€¦ part of the fence at the border?

  182. @LDG–

    recession-

    glad to know you are not affected but not glad to know of those who are!

Leave a Reply

